4.5 star rating: Recommended 217 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Istanbul, Turkey
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Istanbul Shore Excursion: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 217 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The whole trip was an excellent experience. Our guide (Tibet) was outstanding in that she imparted enough information regarding the outstanding sites Blue Mosque, Sophia Agia, Topkapi Palace, Cistern etc then permitted the group of 8 people to explore for themselves.
Lunch was very good with selection as main course in a local restuarant with atmosphere and good ambience.
In conclusion, thoroughly recommended and outstanding value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was excellent in providing very useful but not overwhelming information and was not pushy at all. Unlike other tours, people were forced to watch carpet weaving and selling, we were not.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing! the tour guide was exceptional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tibet our guide for the day met us at the port and along with three other travellers received a first class service. Tibet was very knowledgeable and catered for our requests with no fuss and tailored the itinary to avoid long queues. The lunch provided was a welcome due to the heat and was a very nice meal in a restaurant we would never have stumbled across. In summary, a great day in Istanbul at a good rate. Will use viator again, trustworthy and reliable.

Kind Regards,

Lee and Joanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time and our tour guide was excellent; felt we got to see many interesting things in Istanbul. This was our first experience with Viator, and we will look forward to working with you again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Small group of 7. Excellent guide. Great price. Prompt pick-up. Very nice lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awesome. I highly recommend it. I have to say tho that the lunch was OK but not amazing (as I was hoping for). Nevertheless awesome tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Ottimo tour, ottima guida, pranzo discreto, peccato la mezzora persa per visitare fabbrica tappeti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour with a small group with a very knowledgeable tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very competent tour guide - small tour group made this well worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Good Tour and Great Guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic tour. No time wasted in lines. Tour guide knew everything about Istanbul. Loved the underground , Roman , water cystern.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide met us promptly in front of the port entry with excellent signage. He was very engaging and suggested, unless we wanted to see the market at peak time, on a 90+ degree day we could reverse things and go early, this is what makes a small group tour great! Democracy ruled and we all thanked him for this wonderful suggestion, which by the way he taught us how to read the numbers on the shops, to find our way through what only can be described as an over powering experience. Great "first of the sales day deals", or at least we felt so! Then on to the Blue Mosque. His presentation and tour was very in depth, reverent and provided us with the overall experience and allowed us to enjoy the beauty of this wonderful religious sight. Unfortunately, due to our ship's arrival we were not able to the Hoagie Sofia. So he did give us the story out side in the open air mall with the surrounding historical buildings about the much older mosque and the sister mosque within sight. To make up for the Sofia, we went to the Roman under ground cisterns. While there he gave us a complete detail of the history of water's importance to the city and how it was protected and cleaned. What a great surprise, many have not seen on the beaten path. We learned later that the visit to the rug factory is part of the Government's Tourism mandate that all registered and licensed tours visit one of the major Turkish industries; leather, rugs etc. Based upon the fact that Turkey is not yet in the EU and there is no 17% VMAT or 21% VMAT like in Spain, Italy or Greece-if you wish to purchase regional specialty, do it now before the prices become like the rest of the EU, outrageous. If you did not buy, there was no pressure and the hospitality was warm and air conditioned. This experience assisted making up our mind on returning to Turkey for a land tour, hopefully prior to their entry into the EU. Highly recommend, read the days the big mosques are closed, very upfront about that.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great one day sightseeing tour!! It was cheaper than our cruise tours and we also saw way more! We were late coming in to port and called neon tours they came to get us and took us to the tour. The guide gave the others free time and caught us to speed. She was super nice and knowledgable with extremely good english. We also had to very small children with us and everyone was so helpful and patient. We have toured many countries and this was by far one of the best guides we have been on. Book it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and myself very much enjoyed our trip exploring Istanbul,so much to see, the guide was very good, although our name on a board would have been good, if I had not checked our paper work, would not have know it was Nero Tours I was to look out for, another part of the booked group also did not find him and the tour started half an hour late, because they like us did not see a name displayed, it helps a lot when they use that means to find you. Lunch was very good and the tour although late was excellent.so we would use Viator again that's for sure. Wonderful City indeed,needed more time.Maybe next time. Enjoy.

From USD $ 81.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3795PRTIST01

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message