4.5 star rating: Recommended 196 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Istanbul, Turkey
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Istanbul Shore Excursion: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 196 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic tour. No time wasted in lines. Tour guide knew everything about Istanbul. Loved the underground , Roman , water cystern.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide met us promptly in front of the port entry with excellent signage. He was very engaging and suggested, unless we wanted to see the market at peak time, on a 90+ degree day we could reverse things and go early, this is what makes a small group tour great! Democracy ruled and we all thanked him for this wonderful suggestion, which by the way he taught us how to read the numbers on the shops, to find our way through what only can be described as an over powering experience. Great "first of the sales day deals", or at least we felt so! Then on to the Blue Mosque. His presentation and tour was very in depth, reverent and provided us with the overall experience and allowed us to enjoy the beauty of this wonderful religious sight. Unfortunately, due to our ship's arrival we were not able to the Hoagie Sofia. So he did give us the story out side in the open air mall with the surrounding historical buildings about the much older mosque and the sister mosque within sight. To make up for the Sofia, we went to the Roman under ground cisterns. While there he gave us a complete detail of the history of water's importance to the city and how it was protected and cleaned. What a great surprise, many have not seen on the beaten path. We learned later that the visit to the rug factory is part of the Government's Tourism mandate that all registered and licensed tours visit one of the major Turkish industries; leather, rugs etc. Based upon the fact that Turkey is not yet in the EU and there is no 17% VMAT or 21% VMAT like in Spain, Italy or Greece-if you wish to purchase regional specialty, do it now before the prices become like the rest of the EU, outrageous. If you did not buy, there was no pressure and the hospitality was warm and air conditioned. This experience assisted making up our mind on returning to Turkey for a land tour, hopefully prior to their entry into the EU. Highly recommend, read the days the big mosques are closed, very upfront about that.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great one day sightseeing tour!! It was cheaper than our cruise tours and we also saw way more! We were late coming in to port and called neon tours they came to get us and took us to the tour. The guide gave the others free time and caught us to speed. She was super nice and knowledgable with extremely good english. We also had to very small children with us and everyone was so helpful and patient. We have toured many countries and this was by far one of the best guides we have been on. Book it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and myself very much enjoyed our trip exploring Istanbul,so much to see, the guide was very good, although our name on a board would have been good, if I had not checked our paper work, would not have know it was Nero Tours I was to look out for, another part of the booked group also did not find him and the tour started half an hour late, because they like us did not see a name displayed, it helps a lot when they use that means to find you. Lunch was very good and the tour although late was excellent.so we would use Viator again that's for sure. Wonderful City indeed,needed more time.Maybe next time. Enjoy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We would highly recommend this tour to everyone. The van used to transport our small group of 13 was perfect to negotiate the busy streets. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and gave us a comprehensive visit to the main sights in Istanbul. It was very reasonably priced compared to the ship excursion. We will definitely use Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a wonderful trip to Istanbul, very good guide, spoke very good English. I highly recommend Viator, we had a group of 9, seating comfortably in an air conditioned van, and visited all the major attractions of this amazing city. Our guide made this trip so memorable for us, thank you Omar!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

istanbul excursion was excellent, tour guide very efficient and knowledgeable and we got back to our boat on time. Lunch was absolutely divine. The only downside to thiis tour was the carpet demonstration, too much time spent at the shop.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very profesional , friendly and know how to arrange the time of the tour.Also very eazy to understean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

the tour was everything we had hoped for! Guide very knowledgeable and polite. We were able to visit the places of interest that we planned and be back at the ship in good time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Istanbul is a fabulous city. Our tour guide was exceptional in describing the sights. A lot of walking but well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was such an amazing sightseeing tour to see the Mosque, Sofia and the Bazar Market, was I little of what Stanbul can offer. I do recommend this tour to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent tour and guide, Omar. Exhausting with lots of fast paced walking.

Peter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent tour, Omar the guide very knowledgeable. First off a visit to Grand Bazaar beat the crowds. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia incredible and not to be missed. good lunch and well organised. Very busy city!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Everything was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great tour and tour guide, saw everything we wanted to in Istanbul with enough time to get back to the boat and missed the crowded cruise tours.

From USD $ 81.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3795PRTIST01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message