4.5 star rating: Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Istanbul, Turkey
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

THE TOUR GUIDE WAS EXCELLENT

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour wasn't 15hours, it was more like 18. The guide we got in Gallipoli was a world of knowledge. The bus seats are very small so hard on the knees if you are over 5'5.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

While the tour was great and the guide was very knowledgable I think the title and additional cost of the tour was wrongly advertised. A small group tour to me is no more than 12 people however we were on tour with nearly 40 people. It was really disappointing as we were expecting the small group tour to be quite intimate and have more access to the guide however as it was so large I didn't feel we got the same experience. If I had know it would be such a large group I would have booked the normal tour. If I have any family and friends thinking of doing this tour I wouldn't recommend it as the normal tour would suffice.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a really fantastic day. Long, as everyone else said. Take your own snacks and water.

Our guide really knew what he was talking about but at times I found him hard to understand.

Definitely recommended if you're a kiwi or an aussie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing trip, worth every cent. Something every Aussie should do, very informative guide, long day but worth it !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing guide, so much knowledge. A moving experience. Long day but well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing guide, so much knowledge. A moving experience. Long day but well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The day was very good! The guide was knowledgeable and thorough and very interesting! Very full one day trip. Extremely worthwhile

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

What an amazing day. Very long but completely worthwhile. Informative experienced guide who took us to so many pivotal places in our history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed Gallipoli and will recommend this tour highly, extremely moving experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Be prepared for a very long day however this tour is well worth it. Pickup from your Hotel at 6 am and drop off back to your hotel close to midnight. About 5 hours drive to Gallipoli and then another 5 hours back to your hotel in Istanbul. A few things in regards to Neon of which we were not happy about. As we booked this tour with Neon we expected a Neon Tour Bus to pick us up. However, the Tour group that took us was Hassle Free Tours. The guide (Munt) did not speak to us much at all on the 5 hour journey to Gallipoli only to tell us when it was time to have a break and what time to be back on the bus. When we finally arrived in Gallipoli another Tour Guide (Murat) took over and then it started to get a lot better from there. We had lunch (which was okay) before we set off on our tour around Gallipoli. Murat was excellent, spoke very good English, had a great sense of humour and his knowledge on the history of Gallipoli is very extensive. He gave us a great insight and an unbiased account of the strategies they used and how these soldiers suffered through this sad time. We started from the beginning right to the end and took in all the important landmarks. About 6pm we headed back to Istanbul - quite exhausted - and arrived back at our Hotel around midnight. The drivers both ways were excellent. However just a heads up that the food in these road side services doesn't look too appetising and if you have a sensitive tummy you are better off bringing some of your own snacks (we had bananas etc). Well worth it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The tour of Gallipoli itself was extremely good, but the whole day was spoilt by the lack of communication regarding the transport from Istanbul to Gallipoli and return. We were part of a very full tour, and without exception every person was disappointed in the confusion caused by the lack of advice that was forthcoming on the outward and return journeys. Otherwise this would have been a very very good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was great. The bus ride was quite long and our bus had problems with the airconditioning, but apart from that it was comfortable and enjoyable. The tour of Gallipoli itself was informative and interesting, the guide was very knowledgeable and his information was interesting to listen to. We had a couple of waits, one at the lunch break and one after the tour, while we were waiting for other people who were meeting us from another tour, and this was a little annoying. All in all the tour was good though and I would recommend it to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The most amazing tour we did on our 4 week holiday!!! The drive to and from Istanbul is long, but comfortable and you can nap :) The tour itself was amazing - a must do for any Kiwi's or Aussie's. Once you start the tour there aren't alot of toilet stops so pace drinking your water! Also bring snacks for the drive there and home. Such a beautiful place to visit would go back in a heart beat!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Although its a long drive it is worth every minute! Our good was wonderful and so knowledgable and adapted the tour to how we liked it and what we wanted to see. Sends goosebumps down your spine being there. A must do trip, loved it!!!

From USD $ 162.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3795IST11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message