4.5 star rating: Recommended 27 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Izmir, Turkey
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Day Trip to Pergamum and Asklepion from Izmir. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 27 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

The touring experience was fantastic thanks to our guide. She was great and I loved Aesclepius as well as Pergamum. It was the best tour of all!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was conducted as promised although I was the only one in the tour group.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The online booking procedure was straightforward and easy. Viator sent us several emails reminding us to print off the vouchers etc. This was a nice touch. Our guide was late - Izmir traffic problem. We travelled in a small bus which was good - it meant that we could drive to the site rather than take the gondola. Both sites were visited - plenty of time to wander after an explanation. We asked to stop at the basilica which we did. More historical information about it would have been appreciated. Long day but a very good one.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent archeological sites. Informative and impressive. Guide was very knowledgable but drove the vehicle "vigorously".

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The driver and guide were very good, excellent information and very good with our 4 year old daughter, thank you

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

If you are staying in Izmir without a rental car and want to see these two amazing (worth seeing) historic ruins, a tour is the easiest way by far. Trains and buses make these spots difficult to reach. However for visiting Ephesus, taking the train yourself is simple.

As feedback I think this tour can be much improved, like by having drawings and maps to go along with the history lecture. It is challenging to "use your imagination" while walking around and listening to stories about people and buildings. The tour guide could easily create a one page guide to the history of the area with dates, names, and events that we can read in the van on the way up.

While the lunch spot was terrific, we never did stop at the museum as the tour itinerary listed (not a huge deal but it was not mentioned to us).

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

Great guide! My wife and I were the only people on the tour. Our only complaint is that the car was very small and minimally air conditioned if at all on a hot September day. Lunch was good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

I must admit that I was a little disappointed (and a bit concerned) when a black Renault with 2 men in it (without any obvious form of ID) showed up to take me on the "tour" I had booked on to. The voucher I received said that I would be in an air conditioned coach, so I guess I just assumed that I would be touring the sites with a group. The tour guide went to sleep for most of the trip to the site, so I was left wondering if I was actually being transported to an unpleasant situation rather than the tour I had been promised! He turned our to be a good tour guide with a great knowledge of the sites, so my day turned our great - although at times I did feel like I was being rushed along a little bit. I guess, as a single female traveler, it would have been much more comforting if I were notified that I was the only person on the tour, and that it was not a coach, but a car that would be picking me up. The guides should also be required to show their Professional Tour Guide ID, without being asked to.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Tour does not normally include Museum - if you want to go, bring a copy of the Viator itinerary! Guide did not emphasize medical context after I specifically requested this at the beginning of the tour. Nobody else was scheduled on this day, so it was a private tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2010

I was the only one on this tour. The guide was knowledgeable but was always in a rush to get back to the car and do his paperwork. I had a lot of free time. Also, we went to Acropolis and Asklepion but did not go to the Bergama museum, and no explanation was given.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2008

We were two of us in a nice and clean car. Didn't book a private car, though. A speedy driver, Guide could have been more efficient. It was OK. Organization n time, clean car, lunch very poor with crowds of tourists in Pergamon.

John B
South Africa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2008

We were pleased to have seen the sights but thought that our guide could have gone into much more detail. We also expected to go to the Pergamum museum, but this was not included in the tour. In fact, whereas the tour should have been a full day, the two main sites were almost rushed through. Then we were given lunch, after which four of us--there were eight people in total on the tour--were put in a taxi with no air-conditioning, three people squashed in the backseat, and driven back to Izmir. It was a very hot day. It appeared that the tour leader still had to get the other people in the group to Troy.

From USD $ 95.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3795IZM04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message