• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 24 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 24 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

GUOJUN
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I just saw a few animals in Pilanesberg safari.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The nature safari itself was worthwhile, but not in a league with Kruger. Sun City was was OK - glad to have done it so we know what it is.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The nature safari itself was worthwhile, but not in a league with Kruger. Sun City was was OK - glad to have done it so we know what it is.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

the safari was great...though prob would have been better if we had arrived earlier, started off at 7am so was almost 10am by time we got there. Sun city was a waste though so we cut it short and asked our guide to take us to the Lion park we had passed on the way so got to pet the lion cubs.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

This tour is Half good, half bad. In the morning you have the chance to experience the Pilanesberg reserve, which is really special. We could see a lot of animals and the reserve itself is very beautiful. Just be patient with the restaurant in the Pilanesberg Center : they usually won't have what you want to eat or drink and the food is quite bad. I was Lucky and my order was ok, but my friends fish and chip was terrible.
The second part of the tour is a waste of time (and Money) because this tour is not cheap. When we arrived at SUN CITY we found out that we could only see the external part of the resort and the access to most of the attractions were private to the resort guests. The only thing we could see was a big Garden in the golf course and the backyard of the Valley of Waves. We we're very disappointed. Besides, what we saw was an oldfashioned resort made in the 90's and that nowadays looks like my grandmother's house. It is not Worth going. Try only the first part of the package.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The view of flora and fauna in Pilanesberg was nice. Sun City was fun, but make sure the waiters don't overcharge you. We had a big problem with Mark's behavior as a tour guide. He was frequently checking his mobile phone, including texting while driving. If you like roller coasters, you might like Mark's driving with swerving, dangerous lane changes, and following cars too closely.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

This is basically a taxi trip out to the nature reserve and sun city. Quite expensive for what it is... I was given a 6am pick-up time but was not collected until 7.30 - not even an apology. Almost no commentary. The nature reserve is pleasant; sun city is a waste of time! If you have a different opportunity of seeing animals, best to do that instead of this trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

The tour guide spoke to me only when he felt like it and I was on a private tour. I had to pay double the price because they didn't find a group to add me too which was rediculous. The guide in the park was great and I saw a number of animals including a black rhino, one elephant, giraphs, kudu, wart hogs and many birds. The bad part of the trip was sun city. I am not a gambler and so I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do for the second half of the day. I decided to pay an extra 100 Rand to go into the beach. The trip price did not even include the beach entrance or lunch or any other stops for shopping or water. I didn't know that I should have brought my bathing suit, towel etc so I had to sit in the sun on my coat at the beach.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

I have travelled around the world, bt this tour was the worst tour ever. highly priced for the services delivered. the tour guide and the driver were highly rude and very unfriendly. we got late by half an hour and the tour guide started shouting. on the way he did not even say a word. did not tell us anything about the city. i would not recommend this to anyone. bad bad bad.

From USD $ 189.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2382SJ7

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message