4.5 star rating: Recommended 205 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Duration:  4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 205 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whale watching portion of our tour was phenomenal!! There were 6-7 whales and our captain and tour guide were great. We saw what I believe they called a bubble feeding, it was awesome. At the Mendenhall Glacier we had rain and it was not the best day to view the glacier but would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Alaska.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

FAbulous!! They were very informative, professional and the trip was wonderful! The boat was fast to get us to the place where the whales were (1/2 hour) and right away we starting seeing whales "bubbling". Spectacular!! The only negative~ it ended too fast :( I should have booked a longer tour!
p.s. They also provided binoculars!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful experience to see so many whales so close to our boat. I highly recommend this tour. The naturalist on board our boat seemed to be the most excited of all of us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! The boat was great, and not too crowded. We had excellent naturalists who were able to answer all our questions about whales and other wildlife. We were lucky enough to see orcas and see humpback whales doing bubble-net feeding, neither of which are common. While we were out we also saw a lot of bald eagles (which are common) and on the way back saw a huge group of sea lions basking on rocks. The snack was small but tasty; you wouldn't want to plan to make lunch out of it. We did the tour that had whale watching first and Mendenhall second, and we'd recommend that, because they allot an hour at Mendenhall and that feels a little short. We ended up staying past the allotted time, which we checked with the vendor about; they said it was no problem but we would miss their bus back to town and be on our own for getting back. We caught a cab back to the cruise terminal (about $35 plus tip). There is also a regular bus that loops back and forth from Mendenhall to town for about $10/person each way. There is plenty to do and see at Mendenhall, and if you have the time it's well worth it to slow down and check out some of the hikes and walks. Just don't miss your cruise!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw both orchas and humpback pods of whales, eagles, and sea lions, The tour guides were wonderful and filed us in on local items. The Mendenhall glacier center was informative. I got to touch a piece of the glacier they had brought into the visitor's center that day. Took lots of pictures and had a wonderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We rate this trip full five stars +++. The weather conditions were perfect, crew with the boat were excellent. Couldn't have asked for more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour! We saw many whales, bald eagles, salmon, and seals. Ben and Captain Hook were awesome tour guides, very knowledgeable, and entertaining. I would definitely recommend this tour. I liked that we were on a smaller boat with only about 12 people. Intimate, personal, you didn't have to fight to see the whales...GREAT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was wonderful we saw several whales and the guides with very informative. It was worth every penny. Thank you for a great experience .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent bus drivers, very knowledgeable .wonderful stories from local people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were able to see whales, seals, and sea lions. We saw several whales even one that breeched about 100 yards from the ship. We also were able to get within 50 yards of 10-15 sea lions that were playing on a buoy.
This was the best excursion we had on the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great - finding whales is not the easiest, but our driver did it.

Special Offer
$125.00 Save $25.00

From USD $ 100.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3681PRTWHALE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message