4.5 star rating: Recommended 214 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Duration:  4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 214 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour everything went our way, the weather was beautiful, the whales were on form and had a lovely walk to the waterfalls at the Glacier.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the trip. It was our favorite. We saw many whales and thought we were going to get to walk on the glacier. We saw some salmon, a mother bear and 3 cubs. The cubs climbed a tree

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was raining as we all stood on deck watching at least 6 whales bubble-met feeding! A rare sight indeed. The captain seemed to know exactly where to go for maximum viewing. After we returned to the dock, a bus was waiting to take us to the Mendenhall Glacier which was awesome. All in all a great day despite the rain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent excursions on both water and land. The hot chocolate on the whale watching boat was a nice touch too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

this excursion was the highlight of our cruise. Lots of humpback whales and dolphins. Mendenhall Glacier was flooding which was a disappointment but no ones fault. significant savings were had versus booking this excursion with the cruise lines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great we were lucky to see about 10 whales bubble net fishing but we were disappointed when we started back to the dock we could have stayed out there for a couple of hours just watching them. Then we went to see seals and then off to the Glacier. On the plus side seeing the Mendenhall Glacier and "a porcupine up a tree" around the site was great. The commentary by the staff aboard the ship was great, the staff very friendly and helpful .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING tour!! Saw many humpback whales right away and even saw them feeding!! Great once-in-a-lifetime experience. Guide was great and very knowledgeable. It was great to have time on our own at the glacier. The trail to Nugget Falls was closed :( due to flooding but the view was spectacular. Highly suggest going whale watching first and then the glaciers after because of dense fog in the morning. The tour before us couldn't see the glacier in the morning and there was less whale activity in the afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whale watching guides were excellent with Dolphin Jet Tours. There about 20 people on the boat which made for an enjoyable viewing experience. We saw 3 Orca's and the humpback whales were "bubble feeding" meaning that ~10 whales are feeding in the same spot. Were able to see 2 groups of whales during the outing. Highly recommend with great service. Tour was on time for all stops and provided helpful information along the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whale watching portion of our tour was phenomenal!! There were 6-7 whales and our captain and tour guide were great. We saw what I believe they called a bubble feeding, it was awesome. At the Mendenhall Glacier we had rain and it was not the best day to view the glacier but would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Alaska.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

FAbulous!! They were very informative, professional and the trip was wonderful! The boat was fast to get us to the place where the whales were (1/2 hour) and right away we starting seeing whales "bubbling". Spectacular!! The only negative~ it ended too fast :( I should have booked a longer tour!
p.s. They also provided binoculars!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful experience to see so many whales so close to our boat. I highly recommend this tour. The naturalist on board our boat seemed to be the most excited of all of us.

From USD $ 125.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3681PRTWHALE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message