4.5 star rating: Recommended 214 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Duration:  4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 214 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! The boat was great, and not too crowded. We had excellent naturalists who were able to answer all our questions about whales and other wildlife. We were lucky enough to see orcas and see humpback whales doing bubble-net feeding, neither of which are common. While we were out we also saw a lot of bald eagles (which are common) and on the way back saw a huge group of sea lions basking on rocks. The snack was small but tasty; you wouldn't want to plan to make lunch out of it. We did the tour that had whale watching first and Mendenhall second, and we'd recommend that, because they allot an hour at Mendenhall and that feels a little short. We ended up staying past the allotted time, which we checked with the vendor about; they said it was no problem but we would miss their bus back to town and be on our own for getting back. We caught a cab back to the cruise terminal (about $35 plus tip). There is also a regular bus that loops back and forth from Mendenhall to town for about $10/person each way. There is plenty to do and see at Mendenhall, and if you have the time it's well worth it to slow down and check out some of the hikes and walks. Just don't miss your cruise!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw both orchas and humpback pods of whales, eagles, and sea lions, The tour guides were wonderful and filed us in on local items. The Mendenhall glacier center was informative. I got to touch a piece of the glacier they had brought into the visitor's center that day. Took lots of pictures and had a wonderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We rate this trip full five stars +++. The weather conditions were perfect, crew with the boat were excellent. Couldn't have asked for more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour! We saw many whales, bald eagles, salmon, and seals. Ben and Captain Hook were awesome tour guides, very knowledgeable, and entertaining. I would definitely recommend this tour. I liked that we were on a smaller boat with only about 12 people. Intimate, personal, you didn't have to fight to see the whales...GREAT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was wonderful we saw several whales and the guides with very informative. It was worth every penny. Thank you for a great experience .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent bus drivers, very knowledgeable .wonderful stories from local people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were able to see whales, seals, and sea lions. We saw several whales even one that breeched about 100 yards from the ship. We also were able to get within 50 yards of 10-15 sea lions that were playing on a buoy.
This was the best excursion we had on the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great - finding whales is not the easiest, but our driver did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful excursion! We really enjoyed our tour and were very fortunate to see a pod of Orca swim close by our boat on several occasions. Earlier we also saw hump back whales and several bald eagles. Our tour guides, both young ladies, were very informative and friendly. The weather was exceptionally nice so it added to our experience. The visit to Mendenhall Glacier was cool (pardon the pun!), would have liked to have had more time to explore the area some more. We had our three sons with us, ages 22 ,19 and 16 - they all enjoyed the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, the guides on both the whale watch and glacier tour were fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you go to Juneau and so not take tour you are missing out. Everything was so wonderful and far above our expectations. The buss drivers, boat captain, naturalist were so polite and knowledgeable. This was one of our most enjoyable and memorable things we did on the whole trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything was absolutely PERFECT!! The pick up location was easily accessed in Juneau...very informative bus drivers full of interesting history...the Whale watch company, was amazing!! The 2 guides and captain of our boat were so very pleasant and informative..they served steaming hot coffee, hot cocoa and even salmon spread on bagels! We saw a lot of humpback whales in the area doing a 'special shallow feeding" so there were plenty of whales to be seen!! The bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier was great and informative about the areas of Juneau.. Mendenhall Glacier/Waterfall were beautiful..the only thing to disappoint was that we only had approx. 50-60 mins. at the Glacier park...some of our group (elderly etc) stayed on the first/shorter trail and visitors center...while 4 of us literally RAN down the trails in order to to get down to the waterfall and closer views of the glacier....it was well worth it as it is gorgeous all the way..even saw a huge pile of bear poop! LOL which only reinforced that yes, we are definitely out in the wilderness of Alaska!! I would definitely do this tour again, but instead of taking the tour bus back to down, I would stay at the Glacier/Waterfalls area much longer to explore it all and take public transportation back to town....Of course there is never a guarantee to see so many whales, I think we lucked out...definitely bundle up for this once in a lifetime adventure...We HIGHLY recommend this tour....worth every penny!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved this excursion. Saw a lot of humpback whales. Price was much less than if we went to same excursion thru Carnival. Bathroom on boat was nice. Salmon on bagel provided as a snack. When a humpback whale was a ways off, the boat slowly advanced that direction so we could get a better look. The Mendenhall Glacier Tour was nice too. Wished we had more than an hour there. 10 minute video inside building was very informative. It was windy and cold on whale-watching excursion. Make sure you have a hood on your jacket, and light gloves so you can still maneuver your cameras.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Mendenhall glacier tour was okay, but the whale-watching was more exciting. Staff were very friendly. They made effort to circle around. We saw whales and sea lions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

experienced guides were very knowledgeable..and fun..perfect weather...and alot of whales

From USD $ 125.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3681PRTWHALE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message