4.5 star rating: Recommended 202 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Duration:  4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 202 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, the guides on both the whale watch and glacier tour were fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you go to Juneau and so not take tour you are missing out. Everything was so wonderful and far above our expectations. The buss drivers, boat captain, naturalist were so polite and knowledgeable. This was one of our most enjoyable and memorable things we did on the whole trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything was absolutely PERFECT!! The pick up location was easily accessed in Juneau...very informative bus drivers full of interesting history...the Whale watch company, was amazing!! The 2 guides and captain of our boat were so very pleasant and informative..they served steaming hot coffee, hot cocoa and even salmon spread on bagels! We saw a lot of humpback whales in the area doing a 'special shallow feeding" so there were plenty of whales to be seen!! The bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier was great and informative about the areas of Juneau.. Mendenhall Glacier/Waterfall were beautiful..the only thing to disappoint was that we only had approx. 50-60 mins. at the Glacier park...some of our group (elderly etc) stayed on the first/shorter trail and visitors center...while 4 of us literally RAN down the trails in order to to get down to the waterfall and closer views of the glacier....it was well worth it as it is gorgeous all the way..even saw a huge pile of bear poop! LOL which only reinforced that yes, we are definitely out in the wilderness of Alaska!! I would definitely do this tour again, but instead of taking the tour bus back to down, I would stay at the Glacier/Waterfalls area much longer to explore it all and take public transportation back to town....Of course there is never a guarantee to see so many whales, I think we lucked out...definitely bundle up for this once in a lifetime adventure...We HIGHLY recommend this tour....worth every penny!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved this excursion. Saw a lot of humpback whales. Price was much less than if we went to same excursion thru Carnival. Bathroom on boat was nice. Salmon on bagel provided as a snack. When a humpback whale was a ways off, the boat slowly advanced that direction so we could get a better look. The Mendenhall Glacier Tour was nice too. Wished we had more than an hour there. 10 minute video inside building was very informative. It was windy and cold on whale-watching excursion. Make sure you have a hood on your jacket, and light gloves so you can still maneuver your cameras.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Mendenhall glacier tour was okay, but the whale-watching was more exciting. Staff were very friendly. They made effort to circle around. We saw whales and sea lions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

experienced guides were very knowledgeable..and fun..perfect weather...and alot of whales

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw so many whales, The guides gave us extra time just so we could see more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

any whale watching is probably judged by whether you see whales and the weather, which for us, worked out perfectly.
The two people on our boat were very informative and very concerned about our experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful experience. Saw a lot of whales, some seals, and several bald eagles. The crew were knowledgable and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This excursion was GREAT. The whale watching adventure with Captain Darren and naturalists Mike and Cinnamon exceeded expectations. We were forewarned that conditions may be a little choppy but that concern was soon forgotten when we the whales. Heaps of photo opportunites, then on the way back to base Darren spotted a pair of orcas that "checked us out" according to Mike and Cinnamon, who were just excited as we were when both orcas passed under our boat. The boat crew were very friendly and informative, we were picked up at the dock and dropped back there after the Mendenhall Glacier tour. All in all the excursion was great value when you compare what the cruise ship was offering. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Well organized with small number of sightseers . Jetboat to see the whales safe and not overcrowded so good visibility to see the whales. Very knowledgeable guide. Driver to the to Glacier informed us of the history of the area and was very friendly and helpful.I would recommend this tour as a privately booked excursion from a cruise ship as it is very reasonably priced and well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Truly GREAT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a fun boat ride and driver knew exactly where to take us. He also yelled when he knew the whales tail would come up for our picture taking, just loved it. So exciting to see that many around us. Mendenhall Glacier was beautiful and loved the waterfall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Captain Ken and Katie were wonderful, knowledgeable and friendly. Made us feel welcome right away and went out of their way to make sure we had the best tour possible. Definite recommend for an excursion in Juneau :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We went on the Red Dolphin and Mike and Shell were amazing. We saw a young whale breaching several times and the trip was fantastic, even Mike and Shell were taking photos - so I know we were lucky to see this. Would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to see whales in the wild, doing what whales do!

A

Special Offer
$125.00 Save $25.00

From USD $ 100.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3681PRTWHALE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message