• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 152 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Duration:  4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 152 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Saw 8 whales bubble feeding, and the guides were ecstatic for us. Appeared to be a water ballet by these magnificent creatures. Mendenhall glacier and the waterfall were breathtaking. Recommend this to all. My husband is on oxygen and was accommodated nicely by the staff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great excursion! Well organized. Saw whales and tear wild life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour saw lots of whales. Wish we could have gotten closed to the glacier, but it was a great deal for the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Awesome. Guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. We had a great time!!!! Also saw many whales breaching( is that the right word for jumping out of the water?)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful experience on this tour. We had guides, Mike and Kinzie, and captain Dennis I believe were there names. We were so fortunate to see a group of whales feeding as a group, which was an amazing sight! The tour was timely, efficient and well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour went quite soothly from `pickup to drop off. NO shortage of whale watching as we saw 3 pods ranging from 9 to three whales, that in itself an unusual event Boat crew was very knowledable and has a god supply of locally smoked salmon and crackers to munch on during our excursion.

Visiting the Glacier was also very interesting with spotting of a baby bub grazing in the woods and a more senior club moving in. Very nice park rangers that provided lots of insight.

Tour guide detailed all scenery and was insigntfull.

Great fun and highly reccomended.

Stuart K.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Ally and Shell did a wonderful job. This was my first experience whale watching and it was great. Watched Humpback Whales bubble netting. Ally was very informative about the Humpback Whales and what they were doing. Shell did a nice job keeping the boat as close to the whales as possible. It was an awesome experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpfull. The few tours I have been on that actually had free food and drink. Most tour gouge you with expensive food when then they have you that far from land. Saw lots of whales and it was fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We saw multiple bubble feedings and a breach up close and personal ... well worth the time and money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Thrilling!!!!! It was fabulous. Crew was great!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our captain knew exactly where to go to see humpback whales and we weren't disappointed. We also had delicious salmon snacks as well as beverages and local fudge served by a knowledgeable and very sweet young lady. The ship was clean and had paintings inside done by a local artist with interesting facts about sealife. We were very glad that our tour included admission to the Mendenhall Glacier visitor center but we needed about another hour to hike along the paths. The tour length was only dictated by the length of time our ship was in port - definitely not long enough for us to have more time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time on the whale watch and saw whales diving and waving their fin. No breaching, but we got great videos of the whale within 100-200 ft. away. Also trip to Mendenhall was good but not enough time spent there since our ship was only in port until 4:00 pm....but tour got us back to the ship on time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We saw 10-12 Humpback whales bubble feeding. They did this 20 or so times. Just incredible !!! Our guide said that they only see this feeding once or twice a year. We were all tingly as we left the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour! We saw 12-15 whales and some were REALLY close! My wife was startled when one surfaced right beside the boat. We actually saw a breach like the one in the picture! It doesn't happen every trip so they can't promise a "flying whale" but we got lucky. I got some great pics but missed the breach. We also saw a couple of pectoral fin "slaps." These guys knew where to go and did it well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I was impressed with the knowledge, courtesy and professionalism of the crew, Micheal, Fisher and Dennis the Captain. While respecting the whales, we were close enough to see interesting behaviour such as feeding and breaching. There was no tour guide for the galcier but the hike to Golden Nugget Falls was easy and well worthwhile. The rate the glaciers are retreating prevents contact with the face which is alarming in itself. I am very glad to have brought my children to Juneau and reccommend this tour.

Special Offer

From USD $ 125.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3681PRTWHALE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message