4.5 star rating: Recommended 211 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Juneau, Alaska
  • Duration:  4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 211 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We rate this trip full five stars +++. The weather conditions were perfect, crew with the boat were excellent. Couldn't have asked for more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour! We saw many whales, bald eagles, salmon, and seals. Ben and Captain Hook were awesome tour guides, very knowledgeable, and entertaining. I would definitely recommend this tour. I liked that we were on a smaller boat with only about 12 people. Intimate, personal, you didn't have to fight to see the whales...GREAT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was wonderful we saw several whales and the guides with very informative. It was worth every penny. Thank you for a great experience .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent bus drivers, very knowledgeable .wonderful stories from local people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were able to see whales, seals, and sea lions. We saw several whales even one that breeched about 100 yards from the ship. We also were able to get within 50 yards of 10-15 sea lions that were playing on a buoy.
This was the best excursion we had on the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great - finding whales is not the easiest, but our driver did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful excursion! We really enjoyed our tour and were very fortunate to see a pod of Orca swim close by our boat on several occasions. Earlier we also saw hump back whales and several bald eagles. Our tour guides, both young ladies, were very informative and friendly. The weather was exceptionally nice so it added to our experience. The visit to Mendenhall Glacier was cool (pardon the pun!), would have liked to have had more time to explore the area some more. We had our three sons with us, ages 22 ,19 and 16 - they all enjoyed the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, the guides on both the whale watch and glacier tour were fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you go to Juneau and so not take tour you are missing out. Everything was so wonderful and far above our expectations. The buss drivers, boat captain, naturalist were so polite and knowledgeable. This was one of our most enjoyable and memorable things we did on the whole trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything was absolutely PERFECT!! The pick up location was easily accessed in Juneau...very informative bus drivers full of interesting history...the Whale watch company, was amazing!! The 2 guides and captain of our boat were so very pleasant and informative..they served steaming hot coffee, hot cocoa and even salmon spread on bagels! We saw a lot of humpback whales in the area doing a 'special shallow feeding" so there were plenty of whales to be seen!! The bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier was great and informative about the areas of Juneau.. Mendenhall Glacier/Waterfall were beautiful..the only thing to disappoint was that we only had approx. 50-60 mins. at the Glacier park...some of our group (elderly etc) stayed on the first/shorter trail and visitors center...while 4 of us literally RAN down the trails in order to to get down to the waterfall and closer views of the glacier....it was well worth it as it is gorgeous all the way..even saw a huge pile of bear poop! LOL which only reinforced that yes, we are definitely out in the wilderness of Alaska!! I would definitely do this tour again, but instead of taking the tour bus back to down, I would stay at the Glacier/Waterfalls area much longer to explore it all and take public transportation back to town....Of course there is never a guarantee to see so many whales, I think we lucked out...definitely bundle up for this once in a lifetime adventure...We HIGHLY recommend this tour....worth every penny!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved this excursion. Saw a lot of humpback whales. Price was much less than if we went to same excursion thru Carnival. Bathroom on boat was nice. Salmon on bagel provided as a snack. When a humpback whale was a ways off, the boat slowly advanced that direction so we could get a better look. The Mendenhall Glacier Tour was nice too. Wished we had more than an hour there. 10 minute video inside building was very informative. It was windy and cold on whale-watching excursion. Make sure you have a hood on your jacket, and light gloves so you can still maneuver your cameras.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Mendenhall glacier tour was okay, but the whale-watching was more exciting. Staff were very friendly. They made effort to circle around. We saw whales and sea lions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

experienced guides were very knowledgeable..and fun..perfect weather...and alot of whales

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw so many whales, The guides gave us extra time just so we could see more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

any whale watching is probably judged by whether you see whales and the weather, which for us, worked out perfectly.
The two people on our boat were very informative and very concerned about our experience.

From USD $ 125.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3681PRTWHALE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message