4 star rating: Recommended 43 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Koh Samui, Thailand
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Koh Samui Round Island Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The tour started on time and our guide put in 100% to satisfy our needs and to make sure we enjoyed our tour around Samui. He does enjoy his job. Thanks and we will use your tour service in the future.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Not much really to see on the Island. 4 hours is plenty. But you can not go all that way and not see anything

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

My husband and I completed this tour on our second day in KS. It was a great way to see the Island and get our bearings. We loved Nathon and all it had to offer. Would I do it with this company again....probably not. I found the Tour Guide was not informative enough. He really only answered questions when we asked and did not offer much additional information. He advised it was our lucky day as we were the only ones on the tour and usually there are more people who ask too many questions??? At our last stop (Nathon) he asked us how long we will be so I asked him how long have we got? He advised to be back within the hour and earlier will be better. Needless to say we spent the entire hour there. We were then dropped back to our Hotel which was ealier than scheduled. Overall ok but not great.

Lina K
Papua New Guinea

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Half day tour. Most of it was travelling with maybe about ten to fifteen minutes in each place. It could be improved by the tourist staying in the locations a lot longer. Not a bad tour but it has room to improve. If you want a quick tour then this is great for that plus we only had four people in the tour which was really good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Then this can hardly be called a tour... Its merely a transport which brings you to a certain point and give you certain time to stay there. Barely ANY information was given and I mean it. In the end the 'guide' said he is still studying english, as if we didn't realize that before.... Do realize this is not a tour and do not expect to hear any information.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Unfortunately the guide did not speak very good english, although obviously much better than my Thai!!! She did not give much information about each place, and after a very quick comment left us to it. We were just dumped in a car park in Nathon for 45 mins at the end of the tour before return to our hotel which was not what was expected. Was not one of the best Viator Tours I went on during my holiday.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Had to call as we had not been picked up, finally an hour after pick up time a ride in back of a ute arrived. Where he took us to a safari camp for elephant riding, monkey show and fish spa. this is not stated was very disappointed. This tour was not guided as stated but rest of tour was in a van.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

This was a good introduction to the island of Koh Samui and covered most of the major sights and tourist areas. The guide was also very friendly and good fun. Having said that he didn't actually tell us much background to the island itself.

More disturbingly, the tour includes visits to a monkey and an elephant show, both of which involved animals that were chained up and didn't look particularly well looked after. I really don't want to think about the "training" that they have to go through to get them to do the tricks that they do. Personal choice whether you want to watch and support this sort of thing I guess, but I must admit I probably wouldn't have gone on the tour if I knew it included this. Strange how Viator don't mention it on the tour highlights ??

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Pick up was on time, but trip was lacking in information as to where we were on the island during the tour. We were told when we arrived somewhere the exact location but in-between we did not know where we were. No maps were supplied to follow the route. We were taken to an elephant and monkey show which was not on the itinerary and which we did not want to see. This wasted at least 1 hour when we could have been shown some other places of interest on the Island. Overall I would say you need to make customers more aware of where they are on the Island, as you say on your information "overview and orientation".

Simon G
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

It was nice to tour around the Island our first day there to get our bearings. The guide was absolutely lovely, but his English was limited. We appreciate that he is learning the language, but your itinerary does state 'English speaking guide'.

Tony C
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Can't for the life of me see how this tour is do highly rated. It promises a 5 hour tour of the island whilst taking in a few of the main attractions. Instead you're taken to their HQ where they kept us for over 2 hours showing us circus sideshows whilst badgering for tips.

Malcolm P
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Tour was disappointing, Guides did not tell us anything about the local history or give us a run down each time we visited an attraction - so we learnt little about Koh Samui.
Day hot, no refreshments offered and got dropped off to have lunch around 2pm in the day to be back at the van at 3pm.
Guide fell asleep in the van all in all a disappointing day.
M and M Price

Angie
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

DISGRACEFUL...so appalled by what we saw we walked off the tour before we even got started. Got picked up in some battered up old open top Jeep thing, then taken to the rendezvous point where we were told we would be getting Elephant trekking, Elephant show and a Monkey show, we explained that this wasn't our tour but were told it was for free. The holding area had a baby elephant tied up in a pen no bigger than my living room just pacing left to right (horrible to see) you could see the "show" area for the elephants with goal posts so we refused to watch. The Monkey show followed so we gave that a try, absolutely abominable, the animal handlers / presenter were all smoking right next to these animals and in front of everyone this part is listed by viator as as "see the elephants and monkeys demonstrate their daily work", when did Elephants play football or hoopla, or even worse when did Monkeys in the jungle play Basketball, crawl like a soldier or ride a tricycle. We left the so called show (Circus) half way through with my wife in tears, no idea where we were but were so outraged we told the staff and went. Viator should be ashamed at being associated with such a disgraceful place.

From USD $ 30.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685SMU02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message