4.5 star rating: Recommended 989 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Krakow, Poland
  • Duration:  5 - 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 989 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing experience. Our tour guide was very well-versed in the history of the site and it was incredibly moving. Please take the time to visit this site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It exceeded our expectations and was very moving. You can't take such a tour and not be effected by it. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable and I'm glad we took the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

harrowing experience - very involved tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were picked up at the Radisson Blu hotel and taken a short way over to the bus park (in front of the Sheraton) to get on the bus for Auschwitz. The Sheraton isn't that far from the Radisson Blu so you could walk down there and enjoy the river and castle views while you wait for all the other passgengers to arrive for the tour. Its about an hour and ten minutes from Krakow to the Museum. When you arrive you will have a few minutes for restrooms (small charge to use-1 zloty I believe) and food or book purchases in the small stores (they do sell rain ponchos if the weather is bad). Your tour group will then be given headphones so you can hear your guide and you will begin the walking tour. The tour guide we had at the museum was Michael and he was excellent and we can't speak highly enough about his knowledge and how he talked through such a difficult topic. Becuase of the huge volume of people and the smaller size of the first camp, the tour is rather fast paced and its hard to get a few minutes to dwell on the enormity of what happened and to connect with the many faces and stories you will enounter. After your tour of the first camp is complete the bus takes you to the second camp which is much much larger and provides the opportunity to see the buildings without the long lines of people in front of you and following you. While a very somber day it is a tour that everyone should take.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great service and wonderful tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a trip I'd like to recommend to everybody. It's a very powerful experience to hear all those stories right there on the spot. Hard, almost unbearable at times. The tour was well organized, staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everything went as planned. Plus you have a chance to see the beautiful Polish countryside on your 1,5 bus trip to the site and back.

Petra J
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, guide was passionate about what she was doing and very knowledgable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

After some initial confusion about buses and an enforced change of group and return bus we very much enjoyed the trip. Our Guide Michael was excellent hitting just the right note for the tour, not over emotional yet totally respectful. His contribution was immense and gave great clarity.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent tour with a super guide. The subject is obviously difficult to handle, and we were somewhat reticent to go in the first place. But, from a historical and humanitarian perspective, we felt we wanted to be informed. The organization was great, bus comfortable and information outstanding.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great. Our tour guide did a wonderful job conveying the proper attitude while still being informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing! Even better than I thought it would be, so so interesting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The local tour guide was incredible, it is well worth going on this tour. A tour that should not be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An emotional but must-experience day. The guide was fabulous, providing a lot of the history, facts and also very pertinent personal stories. I was engaged the whole day. While this is billed as a half day tour, plan for it to take most of the day; my pickup was at 8:15 AM and we returned at 4PM. There is quite a bit of walking but doable for anyone in reasonable shape.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide at both Auschwitz and Birkenau was superb. She was very knowledgeable and covered as much as she could in the time that we had with the size group we had. This is obviously a very moving experience but definitely something that should be on your must-do list.

FYI, if you sign up for hotel pickup be prepared as they will pick you up at your hotel but they don't return you to your hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Auschwitz and BVirkenau was an amazing tour. The guides that we had during the day had a wealth of knowledge about the whole tour and was very informative. Would highly recommend doing the tour and using viator. EXCELLENT!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Well organised tour with a very good guide.Hard to use words to describe this experience but we have paid our respects to so many people lost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I was very impressed by visiting Aushwitz-Birkenau. The guide was so sincere and gentle. It was very nice to see him. The tour attendant lady was also very nice and charming.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had originally planned to go to Auschvitz independently, but were really glad we changed our minds. This was a great trip, well organised and the guides were very knowledgeable and passionate about their jobs and furthermore we avoided a very lengthy queue to obtain tickets, as we were met by our guide and swept straight through to begin the tour! Our guide at Aushwitz was called Ilana? and she was extremely passionate and well informed and very willing to answer everyone's questions. I can highly recommend Viator and will definately use them again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour itself was wonderful. The guide at the museum (Marta) was excellent. It is difficult to go without lunch but I understand the reason. However, this is the second time a few French-speaking people caused difficulties. The French-speaking tour finished 30 minutes after the scheduled time of departure so people from the English-speaking and Spanish-speaking groups had to sit on the bus and wait for these inconsiderate people. We had a similar experience in Budapest. I would suggest changing the estimated time of completion so other people can plan accordingly. I almost had problems arriving at the airport in time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We would highly recommend this tour. This tour was the main reason for visiting Krakow and we were not disappointed. The tour company picked us up at our hotel promptly. The transfer to the main meeting sight for the larger bus was smooth, and on time. The larger bus was very comfortable and were able to see a documentary on Auschwitz-Birkenau on the way to the site. We had a quick bathroom break before the tour began, and each of were given a headset to clearly hear the tour guide during the entire tour. Our guide was excellent and provided many details of the various buildings and history of the camps. We would definately recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a trip that we both have wanted to make for many years although it is /was a deeply private and emotional experience we are both very glad to have done this tour we were picked up outside the Raddison Blu hotel at 0830 am this was the closest hotel pick up point to our own hotel which was in the old town but this wasn't a problem as krakow is a pretty easy city to navigate so we had no problems in this aspect the tour chaperon delivered us safely to Auschwitz before handing us over to our guide who looked after us brilliantly and who gave us a very good historical lesson throughout the day on all that had occurred in both the camps Auschwitz -Berkanau with the use of headphones and receiver units we heard everything very well and came away from our trip with a richer understanding and a deep respect for the millions who suffered at the hands of the Nazi's 10/10 a very emotional yet rewarding trip we highly recommend .

From USD $ 40.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2145IT3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message