4 star rating: Recommended 233 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 233 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A good day out with a fun and friendly guide. Lots to see and a lovely lunch, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We enjoyed the tour and it was worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Before we left for Malaysia, I got a message from Viator that our Malacca tour was cancelled and that I should get in touch with the local tour agency in KL which I promptly did. There was no problem with the local tour agency and the person i talked to , Ms. Diana, assured me that our Malacca tour was confirmed on the date that we booked. There must be a confusion somewhere which gave us a little worry. But all things went well.
The tour itself was also a good one. But may i suggest that lunch should have been a Portuguese meal instead of a Chinese one since we were in a former Portuguese territory.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Pickup at the hotel was at the prescribed time. It was easy 2 hour ride to and from Malacca. The driver was very easy going and informative providing interesting information along the way to the destination and at the destination. The little gift market at our first stop was nice and not overcrowded being a weekday. We then had a casual walk up a hill to the historical fort built at the top of the hill.
Because we needed to be back at our hotel by a certain time we had to forgo the walk through china town although we did have time to visit one of the oldest Mosque and chinese temple that is of significance to the Malay people.

The highlights of the trip was the lunch which consisted of unique I guess chinese malaccan style of cooking which was excellent. The restaurant was in a very old and historical building down one of the many very narrow streets very close to the "china town" area. A must do when you go there is the ride on the revolving sky tower which gives 360 panoramic views of the town. Although this was not on the itinerary the driver will gladly take you there time permitting.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

A most enjoyable trip we had been to Malaysia before but never to malacca. The tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly as were the other six people on the tour. The inclusive meal was very good .

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I was ill in KL so my sister had to go by herself. Other two people who booked were also ill, so she was all alone. It was fine, the guide was most informative and didn't skimp anything. He even took her to see someone's kitchen garden in a village on the way back as they had discussed agriculture and self sufficiency! Only let down was the lunch. Usual restaurant was closed, substitute not wonderful for food or ambience. It was huge and full of tourists but no-one spoke to her except the waiter. Something smaller and friendlier would have been appreciated. Overall, the trip was fine, and I was sorry to miss it. The company rang me that night to offer to take me the next day, but alas we were leaving early for Heathrow. Kind thought, though.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Pleasant trip overall and very nice tour guide who was very helpful. Catering in the Malacca restaurant was good as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Value for money, great tour guide and a great restaurant for lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Great tour, a must do when in KL. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour in more pleasant.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Enjoyed this trip very much. Great tour guide. Great conversations enroute to Melaka.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Worth the drive to see Malacca and all it has to offer

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

A thoroughly enjoyable tour. All the sights on the itinerary were well chosen and the lunch was terrific. However, buy your fruit from the service centre on the way to Malacca rather than the tourist stop on the way back - much cheaper.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Day trip to the historical city was excellent. Our guide was well conversent with the history and very friendly. Included lunch was very good. The trip was good value for money.

Rhonda O
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This was an excellent trip with an informative guide, if you are interested in the historical value I would highly recommend, a lovely lunch provided at one of the local restaurants and a walking tour of malacca, very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

I appreciated the information provided by the guide throughout the day, and particularly on the bus journey to Melaka - it was a very useful summary of the history of Malaysia and its cultural and industrial development. The tour included a good opportunity to walk around some historical parts of Melaka - it was not just a series of bus-stops for photo opportunities. Good value, and strongly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

A very interesting tour of this city which has known many influences. If you stay in Kuala Lumpur where I was staying 10 days, you should visit this place to have another vision of Malaisia. The guide was very competent and give us many relevant information concerning the monuments, museums, temples, craft shop and malaisian village. You will never be bored by this visit !

Maree T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

There is a lot of time on the road to get to Malacca. So if the driver is not entertaining and informative it is just a long drive. Our driver was good and' knew his stuff'. Lunch was great. Malacca interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful day at Mallaca, our driver was fantastic, explaining many things,taking us to some great sites to see. He was also very caring about us in the heat. Only thing we thought was not good was the lunch(it was horrible) I felt sorry for the driver as we had a bus of mixed religions and he had to drop us of at various restaurants. I think it would be better for the passengers to choose their own place to eat. Definately would recommend the trip.
Ken and Gwen, Wentworth Falls Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We had a lovely day out, enjoyed walking around Malacca and having a local lunch! Would recommend to others.

Jordan
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

My driver/guide, Lo, arrived on time and was great from the get-go. He was personable, friendly and full of information. I like to learn about the countries in which I travel and he made the drive pass easily as he answered my questions about a wide range of aspects of life and history in Malaysia.
Once we got to Melaka he guided us well, pointed out historical and contemporary items of interest and kept us on schedule while allowing the flexibility to pursue our differing interests.
Melaka itself is an interesting town with a lot of history and a rich collection of museums all clustered together and accessible for a single MR5 ticket. The colourful streets and the stories behind the various colonial influences make for an interesting day with something for everyone.
I heartily recommend this tour as a great way to spend a day, see more than just shops and city and get a taste of Malaysia, historical and modern.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great day. Tour guide full of lots of information and not just about malacca. Definitely recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Good, but there were some stops in the way that were not necessary.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Very interesting guide and commentary.
Good food and restaurant for lunch and comfortable transport.....unfortunately the weather was very hot and humid so the walking tour through the city was very taxing.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Driver was on time for pick up and was very informative of the parts of Malacca. Lunch was very nice and enough time was given for sight seeing. Very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We had a great day out. Rabib was very knowledgable, and very thoughtful as I was feeling rather unwell and he was very considerate and looked after me. Very much appreciated. Malacca was a very interesting place just full of history.

Special Offer
$93.58 Save $8.97

From USD $ 84.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705KUL21

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message