Insider's Guide to Kuala Lumpur

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 345 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Gill R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An absolute must, Chi Ai was an excellent guide, giving an informed narrative on all we saw. Taking us to a Deer Park on route with lots of birds and animals. We fed the elephants with sugar cane and watched them have their bath in the river. So delightful! A long journey to get there but well worth it.

Kathryn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing experience and a lovely tour guide called Hai, who was very knowledgeable and was so helpful on the tour!
Definitely reccomend

Mrs Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fantastic, our guide (Ei) was really informative, he took us to quite a few extra places of interest and made the trip really wonderful, a great experience

Li Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour and the guide An (?) was excellent! We got to see and touch a series of animals, learn about the history of Malaysia, and enjoyed the afternoon bathing baby elephants. An was very active in getting front position at the queue. Thumbs up!

Rodney B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous ! We loved this. Superb. Our driver and guide were wonderful !

Karl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a fantastic trip, I would highly recommend to anyone with an interest in wildlife and culture. The trip was made even more enjoyable and interesting by our local guide "Ai" who was absolutely brilliant. I cannot heap enough praise on the trip and especially the guide, ask for him personally, his name again is Ai.

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Pick up on time, great guide who added to the experience. Extra visit to a small zoo was a bonus and also enjoyable. The elephant orphange was amazing and would recommend to anyone, we were given heaps of food to feed them and when the adults came down watched them being bathed in the river before being able to feed them as well. If you like elephants do this visit.

dogfreak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This tour was great. Thoroughly enjoyed the how informative the guide was. The deer sanctuary was good and got to handle a very large snake, but the highlight of the day was getting in the river with the baby elephant. It was fantastic. The only draw back was that the fridges had broken down at the sanctuary so limited cold drinks etc. otherwise very good.

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent guide and a great day out. Although it was not cheap it was worth every penny.

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Sonny was a fabulous tour guide! I loved the entire trip. Feeding the elephants, holding a python, and learning so much about Malaysia from Sonny was just amazing. This trip is worth every penny you spend!

Chris United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was fantastic! Bob (I) our local guide picked us up from our hotel and drove us to the sanctuary. Along the way he gave us lots of interesting facts about the elephants and the local culture. We stopped at a small private zoo where we were able to feed the deer and have a look around. Lunch was provided and it was good local food.
The Sanctuary was excellent. First we watched a film about the work they do, it was very dated and could do with an update but it showed us what was involved and why. We then went outside and met our sanctuary guided who took us to meet the young elephants who were in their pens. We fed them with monkey nuts and sugar cane. Then the larger elephants went to bathe as they had come back from the jungle, it was lovely to watch them lay down in the river and getting scrubber clean by their handlers. When they came out of the water we fed them and learned how old they were and why they were at the sanctuary.
For me by far the best part of the trip was getting in the river with the younger elephants and helping to bathe them. It's only for about 5 mins but they are fantastic animals and to be so close to them was a wonderful experience. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip.
Our personal guide Bob was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and he pointed out so many things on the trip to and from the sanctuary. He even stopped to show us the concrete sheds for the birds nest soup, really interesting.
For those of you who worry about the exploitation of the elephants, both me and my husband are avid animal lovers and would not support anything that exploits animals for others gains. We were impressed with the dedication of the people looking after the elephants and the whole purpose of the sanctuary. I would highly recommend this tour and our tour guide. Definitely one of the highlights of our visit to KL.

Josephine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing experience, Amazing tour guide! I highly recommend this trip with this company and guide (Lo)

Adam U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was AMAZING, a real once in a life time chance to get up close to these fantastic creatures. It's a worth while trip.

Dale M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Wow...what an experience it was to learn about and interact with these magnificent creatures. We had a wonderful time at the Sanctuary. It's not every day you get to wade into a river and give an elephant a bath...something that is unforgettable. Also included in the tour is a stop at Deer Park. We had a great time feeding the deer and seeing the other animals. Our tour guide was informative, friendly, and a helpful. This tour is well worth the cost.

ibrahim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful. The trip was made all the better by a wonderful guide- Shirley - she made the trip memorable. The children loved bathing the elephant and this one trip which should not be missed

Andy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Realy good day. The driver / guide and the rep at the sanctuary were fantastic, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Perhaps a few too many private tours there at the same time, but didn't spoil it at all. Will keep the memories for a long time to come.

Una H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was amazing. Well worth the money. The guide was friendly and made the extra effort to ensure I enjoyed the day. In addition to the elephants (by the way, the guide also made sure I was at the front of the line for everything) I was given a tour of a rubber plant, as well as an aboriginal village. If you're in KL, this is a must. It is without a doubt, the highlight of my trip to Malaysia.

Michelle L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a truely wonderful day we got to feed the elephants and see the large ones being washed in the river then at the end they take the babies in to be washed and you can get in with them wow that was fantastic it was a very special day I will never forget .

Heather S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

From the morning pick-up at our hotel by Che 'Ai till he returned us to the hotel late afternoon, everything was taken care of, such as, a convenient toilet stop, a more than adequate local lunch on site at the Elephant Orphanage, to the fresh fruit Che 'Ai purchased for us on the return trip. Che proved to be knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and depecated, adding to the wonderful experience of the day. At the Sanctuary we had a personal local guide, Azmieyra'z, who clearly loves her job and the elephants. The elephants, both big and small are absolutely beautiful, and appear to be very comfortable in their surroundings, and that includes being fed, patted and bathed by we tourists. The opportunity to interact with the elephants added a great dimension to the day. The whole day was amazing

Elena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a totally magic day! From the time we were picked up from the hotel to the time we were deposited back we felt safe, comfortable and cared for. Our lovely driver Ai made very sure we were looked after and our local guide at the sanctuary was passionate, knowledgeable and caring. It was clear that she loved the elephants and the work which is being done at the sanctuary. How anybody can think that in order to enjoy the experience one needs to ride the elephant is beyond me! Just being there was a privilege, elephants looked well cared for and were curious and mischievous. Wonderful experience that will stay with me for a long time. Thank you!

ILEANA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an interesting and unique experience for us, although the interaction with the elephants was limited, compared to previous years, due to new restrictions imposed by the sanctuary staff.

coloskier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Another fantastic Viatours tour. We were expecting a loaded bus, but every tour we took during the weekday was just us and the tour guide, Lo was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.

tina h r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The tour of the elephant sanctuary was fantastic. It was very informative and the tour guide that took us there Ai was great and went out of his way to show us different things along the way. He was very helpful and accommodating which made the tour so much more enjoyable. The guide at the sanctuary was also great and although not advertised if the conditions are right you are actually able to get into the river and bath the baby elepbhants. The experince was very rewarding and i would reccommend the tour to anyone.

Carly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

If you manage to get Lo as your tour guide - you are lucky! He is fantastic and ran a great day for us. The Elephant Sanctuary was great, we got to feed the elephants and you can bathe with them if you wish.

Definitely worth getting out of KL to visit the elephant sanctuary and deerland.

Lynda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was such a great day out and our tour guide was so excellent!

Viewing 2 of 14

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 170.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705KUL25

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message