5 star rating: Highly Recommended 327 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 327 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Realy good day. The driver / guide and the rep at the sanctuary were fantastic, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Perhaps a few too many private tours there at the same time, but didn't spoil it at all. Will keep the memories for a long time to come.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was amazing. Well worth the money. The guide was friendly and made the extra effort to ensure I enjoyed the day. In addition to the elephants (by the way, the guide also made sure I was at the front of the line for everything) I was given a tour of a rubber plant, as well as an aboriginal village. If you're in KL, this is a must. It is without a doubt, the highlight of my trip to Malaysia.

Michelle L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a truely wonderful day we got to feed the elephants and see the large ones being washed in the river then at the end they take the babies in to be washed and you can get in with them wow that was fantastic it was a very special day I will never forget .

Heather S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

From the morning pick-up at our hotel by Che 'Ai till he returned us to the hotel late afternoon, everything was taken care of, such as, a convenient toilet stop, a more than adequate local lunch on site at the Elephant Orphanage, to the fresh fruit Che 'Ai purchased for us on the return trip. Che proved to be knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and depecated, adding to the wonderful experience of the day. At the Sanctuary we had a personal local guide, Azmieyra'z, who clearly loves her job and the elephants. The elephants, both big and small are absolutely beautiful, and appear to be very comfortable in their surroundings, and that includes being fed, patted and bathed by we tourists. The opportunity to interact with the elephants added a great dimension to the day. The whole day was amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a totally magic day! From the time we were picked up from the hotel to the time we were deposited back we felt safe, comfortable and cared for. Our lovely driver Ai made very sure we were looked after and our local guide at the sanctuary was passionate, knowledgeable and caring. It was clear that she loved the elephants and the work which is being done at the sanctuary. How anybody can think that in order to enjoy the experience one needs to ride the elephant is beyond me! Just being there was a privilege, elephants looked well cared for and were curious and mischievous. Wonderful experience that will stay with me for a long time. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an interesting and unique experience for us, although the interaction with the elephants was limited, compared to previous years, due to new restrictions imposed by the sanctuary staff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Another fantastic Viatours tour. We were expecting a loaded bus, but every tour we took during the weekday was just us and the tour guide, Lo was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The tour of the elephant sanctuary was fantastic. It was very informative and the tour guide that took us there Ai was great and went out of his way to show us different things along the way. He was very helpful and accommodating which made the tour so much more enjoyable. The guide at the sanctuary was also great and although not advertised if the conditions are right you are actually able to get into the river and bath the baby elepbhants. The experince was very rewarding and i would reccommend the tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

If you manage to get Lo as your tour guide - you are lucky! He is fantastic and ran a great day for us. The Elephant Sanctuary was great, we got to feed the elephants and you can bathe with them if you wish.

Definitely worth getting out of KL to visit the elephant sanctuary and deerland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was such a great day out and our tour guide was so excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We were picked up at our hotel right on time. We were the only people on the tour so we had a wonderful time with our tour leader (sorry, forgot his name) who could not do enough to make sure we had a wonderful experience. Feeding the deer and looking at the other animals in the private zoo was fun but the elephant sanctuary was great. The video shown to visitors showing the plight of these wonderful animals is very moving. Getting close and hand feeding the elephants is an amazing experience and watching the older elephants have their play time in the river was great fun. I went in the river with the young elephant and it was fantastic to be able to help bath it. I don't know who got the wettest - the elephans of the visitors! all in all a terrific experience, highly recommended and many thanks to our tour guide for making our day so memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We were not able to get near the Elephant due to flooding. It rained a lot weeks before our arrival in Kuala Lumpur but we have a good time touring the outskirts of the city. Our guide was so nice to compensate what we miss in the Elephant Sanctuary by stopping on some interesting veiw points and one of those point was with the local monkeys. We have a good pics of them. Nexr rime we plan to ask for Devva as our guide. He sure knows how to make a trip interesting. Thank you,
Nerissa and John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Private Tour guide was fantastic. Told me so much, paid for everything. He made the trip worth it.
Elephant sanctuary does not let you ride on the elephants anymore which is a let down. But the forest fruits and "packed lunch" which was street food were superb!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The elephant sanctuary was fun, but the best part of the trip was our tour guide, who made sure we had everything we needed to really enjoy our day. He also gave us so much information on Malaysia we really felt we knew the place. Fantastic service, first class. Thank you !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Hi all,

I was very impressed with the tour, and especially the friendly tour guide Ei. He showed me many places and did not hesitate to tell the truth. Since the tour can be weather dependence, Ei was fun and honest

It was beyond awesome. I would strongly recommended to anyone.

From USD $ 162.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 2+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705KUL25

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message