• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 315 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 315 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We were picked up at our hotel right on time. We were the only people on the tour so we had a wonderful time with our tour leader (sorry, forgot his name) who could not do enough to make sure we had a wonderful experience. Feeding the deer and looking at the other animals in the private zoo was fun but the elephant sanctuary was great. The video shown to visitors showing the plight of these wonderful animals is very moving. Getting close and hand feeding the elephants is an amazing experience and watching the older elephants have their play time in the river was great fun. I went in the river with the young elephant and it was fantastic to be able to help bath it. I don't know who got the wettest - the elephans of the visitors! all in all a terrific experience, highly recommended and many thanks to our tour guide for making our day so memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We were not able to get near the Elephant due to flooding. It rained a lot weeks before our arrival in Kuala Lumpur but we have a good time touring the outskirts of the city. Our guide was so nice to compensate what we miss in the Elephant Sanctuary by stopping on some interesting veiw points and one of those point was with the local monkeys. We have a good pics of them. Nexr rime we plan to ask for Devva as our guide. He sure knows how to make a trip interesting. Thank you,
Nerissa and John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Private Tour guide was fantastic. Told me so much, paid for everything. He made the trip worth it.
Elephant sanctuary does not let you ride on the elephants anymore which is a let down. But the forest fruits and "packed lunch" which was street food were superb!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The elephant sanctuary was fun, but the best part of the trip was our tour guide, who made sure we had everything we needed to really enjoy our day. He also gave us so much information on Malaysia we really felt we knew the place. Fantastic service, first class. Thank you !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Hi all,

I was very impressed with the tour, and especially the friendly tour guide Ei. He showed me many places and did not hesitate to tell the truth. Since the tour can be weather dependence, Ei was fun and honest

It was beyond awesome. I would strongly recommended to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had a wonderful day. Our tour guide Ai was friendly and entertaining. He gave us lots of local information and made our day special. The elephants were beautiful. We got to swim with them which was the highlight of our tour. Our guide made the drive and other stops enjoyable. This tour is a must.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was amazing ! Our tour guide was just a pleasure to be with and so full of knowledge. It took us about and hour and a half to get there, but he showed us many sights along the way with well informed commentary. We stopped at Deerland and had a great time feeding the deer. They were so gorgeous. As were the other animals there, well maybe for me not so much the snakes, but my daughter didn't mind stroking them. I took photos, from a distance. When we got to the Elephant Sanctuary, we were shown a very informative video on how these people actually move these elephants out of the jungle. We then walked through lovely landscaped gardens to the restaurant where our guide provided lunch for us before we strolled down to see the baby elephants. They do a wonderful job with these baby elephants. One little one had no tail because a tiger had bitten it off ! Another one had no foot because it developed gangrene out in the jungle. The sad part was that because of these injuries the herd leaves them behind to fend for themselves. They then brought in quite a few very very large elephants. They were gorgeous and you could literally stand eye to eye with them. Well maybe eye to knee with them, they were so big. All in all, it was such a great day and these people should be commended for the work they do. You can just tell how much they love these animals. I would honestly recommend this tour to people of all ages. I also would recommend Viator, as I have had transfers overseas with them plus day trips in Rome and Paris a couple of years ago.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was an interesting day although I was surprised that there were so many people feeding and riding the elephants given the price - I had the impression it would be rather more exclusive. However the day was absolutely made by our guide Che Ai who was delightful. He was informative about the sanctuary but also answered all questions about language, road signs, education, health care, taxation and anything else we asked about Malaysia. He has a wonderful sense of humour and introduced us to some new experiences - stopping at roadside stalls so we could sample some new fruits. Especially durian! We felt that we were in ver safe hands - he is an asset to you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great driver/guide. He went the extra yards for us. He had fantastic knowledge of the area and made additional stops according to what we wanted. Would do it any time again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

great driver and a wonderful experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I could go again ! Wunderful experience.Worthwhile the long trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent the best part of your trip..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Loved this tour, had fun swimming with the baby elephant and great to be able to ride bareback. Our guide was great, funny and very informative, found him to be a very genuine person, unfortunately can't remember his name

Note from Viator: This review is based on a previous tour itinerary. Unfortunately, activities with the elephants are no longer offered due to Malaysian animal safety laws.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Amazing experience! 100% recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent personal guide who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and really looked after us. Plenty of contact with the elephants and we were impressed with the way the sanctuary was run, the rangers quite obviously had great affection for the elephants. A wonderful day which we will always remember. A privilege.

From USD $ 162.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 2+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705KUL25

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message