4.5 star rating: Recommended 126 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Grand Full-Day Tour including Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jonathan C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Very informative guide and driver, took us to all the sites and we did see a lot. Lunch was ours to chose Ie; any type of food, we chose Chinese, so were taken to a Chinese restaurant for a good lunch. The tour was not rushed and we were given time to see what we wanted.

Qayyum N
Pakistan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

This is a great way to see the city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The guide was excellent very informative, could have done without the batik factory stop , the food was abismal really inedible ! We saw all that we wanted, can't fault the guide but trip was well overpriced.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour overall was good but compared to other tours the guide wasn't as involved, we had to ask alot rather than a conversation whilst travelling between each place, we understand its a different style of tour but did let it down a bit. The tour its self covers the main things in KL and is worth doing to get about to them all.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

We got to see the sights but without much information from the drivet. For the price I expected a driver and a guide . Hard for one person to drive and answer questions or give a commentary. Lunch just ok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It's little expensive. Tour was good but the lunch was really not good. They picked us from airport and dropped too (off-course for an extra charges).

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We saw a lot of the city during this tour, however, I have the following issues to raise :
It would have been better if our guide had shown us a map before we left and outlined the day's tour sites. He was quite irritated by me asking where we were in relation to the centre of K.L.
All comments throughout the day were addressed to my husband, "Sir,. . . " - very poor manners. All comments about each place we visited were repeated two to three times. I found that, if I asked questions, he answered them quickly but then addressed his next comments to my husband.
As we were going to do the Melaka tour the next day and our guide had taken clients there the previous day, I asked him about what sights/sites we might visit. He told me he wouldn't tell me and that I would have to wait as the guide might show us different places to him. Again, unfriendly and rude - I was just making conversation on what I thought might be a 'neutral' topic that wouldn't cause offence.
As this was a private tour, it was very expensive. It was a long and trying day which could have been so much more enjoyable for both of us with the right guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The Positives:
We covered more key places to visit in KL in one day than we would've, on our own.
Lunch at the Old Chinese Restaurant was also lovely (a place we would've never discovered on our own) and we really enjoyed the ambiance, wonderful customer service and delicious Asian cuisine.
We really appreciated having someone who in the car could educate us on Malaysia and answer 98% of the questions we had on the history of the country, cultures, government and people. We learnt a lot during that time.

The Negatives:
Our guide Mr Singh indicated that his role was to take us to the entrace of each place and brief us only in the car but not guide us through the King's Palace or any monument/ building. We were suprised and disappointed as we understood the reviews on Viator indicated this a worthwhile private, guided tour to book. We ended up listening to other tour guides guiding their groups. wherever we could. We never made it anywhere near the Petronas Towers. We'd gotten much closer driving past from the hotel. Apparently a visit that close wasn't covered in the tour. When he said that our last stop was coming up and I asked him what happened to the National Museum visit, he said the museum was closed for rennovations for two months and no one could visit. I called the museum myself the following day as I struggled to believe this and in summary: we went on our own the following day.
I would recommend the tour but a different tour guide for sure.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Good overall tour of the city; especially if you are on limited time. Did not go to the top of the towers; assumed we would. get your tickets for the top of the towers early.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Guide was really relaxed and came across a bit unprofessional he was more like a hired driver for the day, but it all worked out fine. lunch was great just don't order any drinks, because thats how they make there money (4 cokes = $25 nz) just drink the free water. you get to take in a lot of the city, and over all it was good value for the money we paid.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

The tour was good, recommended if you do not have a lot of time and want to see the most important sites, if not, just catch the monorail and walk / explore yourself. We were not lucky with the weather because it rained all day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Interesting tour. However, it could have been more centered around the city centre instead of visiting outside museum or factory outlets.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The tour was fine, but the guide was simply a driver and did not offer much of any commentary around KL. He was a very pleasant fellow and we enjoyed being with him the entire day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Pickup and the driver were both pleasant but the let-downs on this rather expensive tour were Kuala Lumpur (which has very little to shout about) and the lunch. The less said about the latter, the better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Tour was interesting but not as immersive as it looks... We didn't get to go into most places, just driving around looking at them, but did get to see the city and learn about it's history. Lunch was local and facilities were definitely lacking for a western traveler... The best part was the caves / temple complex on the outskirts of town, really neat to see, but the stairs up and back were a killer. :)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Below average experience overall. I visited all of the sites, but the guide was of low quality. He was at times difficult to follow and rambled a lot. He continually was trying to shorten the tour by trying to convince me to drop some of the stops or cut short my self-tour of the sites. The lunch was of average quality and was Chinese food, not Malay.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

I sent my parents on this tour because we have previously been to all the attarctions and also because of the reviews.
My parents came back from what was meant to be an all day tour at approx 3.00pm. They beleive that the tour opperator was not really interested in taking them as they where the only customers on the tour that day. Needless to say I would not recomend this tour to any one else

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

We had a single driver who thought it was a half day tour - he took us straight to the Batu caves and was more interetsed in dropping us off after lunch . We made him wait until we visitied a Isslamic arts museum then were happy to be dropped off early

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

We were a little disappointed in this tour. Our guide was very nice but we felt he was a little too forthcoming with his political opinions. He also did not offer much guidance on places to go and left it up to us to decide. The day also finished much earlier than we expected. However it was still an interesting day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

A good way to see the city if you aren't there for very long - really disappointed we didn't get to see the Twin Towers as well - that would have made it something special. Our guide was friendly and helpful.

Atif K
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

This was the first (of many I've taken now!) Viator tour that I wasn't satisfied with, but this is likely because the "real" tour guide wasn't available so they had to quickly scramble to find a substitute. It was just me and the guide, and I was taken to places and left there to explore on my own. For the price I paid for a single person personalized "guided" tour, I was extremely disappointed. A hop-on hop-off would have done the exact same job for a fraction of the cost.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I don't normally write reviews, but I feel this past tour deserves a response. First off the best thing about the private tour was the driver was knowledgeable about Malaysia and more or less friendly during the tour. He was able to answer most questions my wife and I had about Malaysia. Things to improve on were that when we arrived at a site we were given basic information about the site and then we were left to explore the site on our own for a specific time limit. The guide did not accompany us through any tour sites so we did not have a chance to ask questions as we experienced the site. The guide did not appear to have any desire to accompany us either. For the cost and the idea of promoting this as a private tour, I thought this was strange. Also even though the tour said it included the entrance fees we still ended up paying entrance fees to some sites and we were never reimbursed for the fees. The only time we were escorted through any facility was when the driver appeared to be getting a commission for taking us to a specific store on his list of things to go. Although my wife and I did buy items at some of the stores because we like the products, shopping was not our main focus for taking this tour and we stated that at the beginning of the tour. Our focus of taking this tour was to learn first hand about Malaysia. As for the restaurant we went to for lunch, the guide was more interested in pleasing his own personal tastes rather than to ask ours.

Darren O
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I thought this would have been a better tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, however he came in one car and we were the only people on the tour. Whilst the personal tour was good, I would have preferred to be part of a larger tour. The car also wasn't very nice, and was old.

Marco K
Switzerland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

It was the same if we had taken a Taxi driver and told him to drive us from one point to another. I had seen better City Tours.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2011

Not a good experience. The guide was not able to walk much and the car smelled like smoke. He complained a lot and was also not ver informative. He seemed like he was ready to quit.

From USD $ 166.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705KUL20P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message