4.5 star rating: Recommended 127 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kusadasi, Turkey
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 127 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW!!! The highlight of our cruise. Turkey was amazing. I can not say enough of how wonderful this country is. Our tour guide, Gokce Tascilar, was fantastic. She was able to talk clearly and knew the history of Turkey and the areas we saw. She was fun with a great sense of humor. There is a ton of walking so be prepared. I wore nice, well supported sandles without any problem. Our first stop was the Blessed Mary's last known house. What a holy place. We arrived at Mary's house right ahead of a couple large tour buses, so were weren't over crowed when we went through. It was shady and peaceful. I'd love to go back there to admire the entire place with more time. Our next stop was down the hill to Ephesus. Be cautious of the main walking path through Ephesus. The marble walkways becomes very slick and slippery...so walk with caution. It gets hot! so try to wear a hat and have at least one bottle of water per person (2 if you like or need lots of water). The stories and history of Ephesus were enchanting and keep you interested in the entire trip. Onto St. John's cathedral which was good...but after the long walk through Ephesus we were already exhausted...The cathedral is set upon a hill with amazing views. That in itself was worth it. Our lunch was at the Turkish Rug place...the food was good and refreshing. The tour of how silk was made was really fun and seeing these rugs being woven was interesting too. The sales pitch to buy a rug wasn't too bad unless you showed interest...then they drag you away to a private room to sell you your rug. Make sure, if you are interested in purchasing a rug, to negotiate the price. I believe our rug started at $5k and we got it down to $2,800. So, do not be afraid to walk away. They want to make a deal. They want to make you happy. I recommend doing a bit of research before going to see what fair prices are on rugs. But make sure you compare of materials of the rugs like silk, wool or wool/cotton. I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grand, a very nice experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was waiting for us as we left the ship. She is proud of her country, she was informative and very patient with people who came back late from photo or shopping time. The lunch at 2 pm is far too late in the day after all the walking at ephesus. This is a good tour that covers many locations. We were returned on time to the ship with no stress.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Enjoyed the excursion and tour guide was very knowledgeable about the facts regarding this site. He was prompt to meet us and introduce himself along with providing us details about the excursion. The entire excursion was very well organized in regards to information and time. I would always consider future excursions with Viator as the value was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice tour, a littel pricey but the tour gudie was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was excellent! The guide was great, very knowledgeable and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We loved our tour. We had a guide who was very passionate about her subject matter and her country. We enjoyed the small group. Lunch was good and tasty. The rug presentation was impressive and not high-pressured.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic! From the moment we were greeted at the port of Kusadasi until the time we returned to port was magical. The trip to the Mary House, Ephesus, a turkish lunch and seeing how they make handmade rugs was incredible. Turkey was my favorite port on the cruise. This tour is a must on any vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our expert guide, Filis provided much info about this archeological site. With her description, you were able to envision life in Ephesus eons ago.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgable. As well worth it..very professional...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Loved this tour. We had only 12 people, this tours from the ship had 40. Ruins at Ephesus are amazing. In better condition than Roman ruins anywhere in Italy. Guide was on time, knowledgeable and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was Great until the rains came in! The guide was very nice and waiting. He spoke English very well and he was very informative! The van was very nice and the overhead electronic map cool too

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was excellent. I would recommend for everyone going to Kusadasi to enjoy. The tour guide was very informed and was able to answer all question. Loved the lunch and the Turkish rug demo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We covered all of the important sites - Ephesus, Basilica of St. John, House of Virgin Mary and had a good lunch at a government carpet cooperative. We certainly saw all we could fit in. The guide was prompt, extremely well-informed and communicative, and adjusted the tour to suit our preferences. No pressure to purchase, and back to the cruise ship in plenty of time. A bonus was that there were only 3 of us on the tour. Excellent value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great guide, very knowledgeable and personable.
With only two other couples it was like a private tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent guide, very knowledgeable. This is a fantastic place to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Murat was brilliant.We only had 4 people on this tour and it was excellent.
We were met off the ship right by the port entrance exactly on time and visited 3 different sights during this 6 hour trip.Murat was very knowledgable and entertaining.Lunch which was included was delicious and the compulsory carpet weaving demo and sales pitch wasn't too pushy.Very good value for money compared to the overpriced cruise excursions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a highly enjoyable tour. We were met at the port with one other couple. The ship had a comparable tour but with 30+ people. Our tour guide was funny and knowledgeable of the area. The lunch was great and refreshing. The carpet demonstration was also very informative, Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone traveling to this area. Would also definitely use Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great! Tour guide was friendly, courteous and well informed. Sites visited were fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very knowledgeable tour guide but it was very hot on that day and there is a lot of climbing and walking involved. After the tour there was still enough time for shopping at the harbor before we had to return to the ship.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Everything was as promised. Met promptly, mini-bus clean. Entire itinerary was covered, with good info from Turkish guide. Only thing to change was weather! Too darned hot!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Murat (our guide) was there to greet us immediately when we disembarked the ship. He was extremely knowledgable and full of information. This was a great tour and a great time had by all. I strongly recommend the small group tour as this was only my family and one other couple, which was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a marvelous experience! Our first time with Viator, but certainly not our last. We were met aws soon as we got off the ship right outside the gate by a genuinely enthusiastic you lady who escorted the four of us to a brand new 10 passenger van, and we were the only passengers! I new that we had paid less than half of what the cruise hip had asked for the same tour and I was, to say the least, surprised at the level of service for so little.
Our tour guide thoughtfully took in in the reverse direction of what those from the ship took, so on our first stop we had the smaller crowds and quiet that was much appreciated and made the visit to "Mary's house" that much more meaningful.
Our tour guide was always engaged with us, asking if we had questions or if we had any other places nearby that we wished to see.
Our travel agent was unsure of Viator because she had not had any experience with them. We have assured her that they are, at least in our minds, thoughtful and selective in choosing their tour operators in the various countries we visited.
D. Norman
Reno, NV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was well organized. We came with a cruise ship and the guide was waiting at the Pier as appointed.
We got good information about the country and then to the sides wie visited.
The lunch in a nice garden was really good.
We were a little surprised that we should also visit a carpet manufactury. This was one reason that wie choosed this tour because we are not interessed in carpets.
However, it was interesting and we have not been forced to buy one:-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was jam packed full of great things! We had a great guide who had knowledge and a great way of teaching about each site that allowed us to really understand the history and significance of every stop. The only thing that we could have skipped was the unexpected stop at the leather store and fashion show that we were all led to. I would have rather spent more time at the other stops. Since we were the only ones on this tour that were part of a cruise, and needed to be back to the ship on time, our reliable guide arranged a ride back for us and we made it in plenty of time to board the ship, just as Viator promised!

From USD $ 80.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3795PRTADBKUS02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message