4.5 star rating: Recommended 39 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Afternoon Tour - Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Temple. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 39 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

This twelve day tour was well worth the price. The shrines and temples we visited were absolutely beautiful! The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

It's fantastic, you can take this tour if you have sometime off in Kyoto and want to discover some of their beauties. I highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Guide excellent.speaks good English and very helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good afternoon tour. Would recommend if you had limited time in Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Afternoon tour was a pleasant experience except it rained. I recommend umbrellas are provided by tour operators.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Since we came from Osaka in the morning, the pacing, timing and length of the afternoon tour was just right. The best place for me was Sanjusangendo, which unfortunately did not allow photos. I only wished that our tour guide that afternoon spoke clearer English or had a tone of voice that was not too high pitched.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This is a tour to three of the most wellknown shrines and temples in Kyoto. The way of this tour I would consider to be very ‘japanese’: travelling around in a bus, short stops and sightseeing, then the next bus trip. Explanations to every sight a given in the bus. If you want to enjoy this you will have to like this kind of express tourism. Besides that there were no problems. The organization was very good, one should only take care about the pick-up since if you do not care your pick-up point may be set to Kyoto main. With an (english) phone call that was easily solved. For a trip of four hours the price was ok, but as said: you have to like this.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Nice

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The sights visited were impressive and the guide informative and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The three sites are historical and terrific in the evening with maples trees, but the time staying in Kiyomizu Temple was too short. The tourist guide was responsible and humurous with a high standard of spoken English.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

I took this tour as I only had a few days and wanted to make the most of the day I arrived in Kyoto so, I booked the tour. The tour guide was great and informative and I met some cool people too. I would love to have had a little longer at Sanjusangendo (such an interesting place) but I understand it's a tour and there are time restrictions, especially as a lot of the temples/shrines close between 4-5pm. Overall, I would definitely recommend it!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Although I felt a bit rushed, the convenience of being taken to each destination with an air-conditioned coach made it all worth while. The tour guide was informative and it made the experience more memorable by providing the historical significance of each destination.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Experience was amazing! The scenery at Kiyomizu Temple was just breath taking. Sadly, we ran out of time to properly experience everything to its full potential.

Marilou V
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

We only had a day to spend in Kyoto, and this tour allowed us to see the highlights of the city in a short time span. We specially liked the Kiyomizu Temple with its quaint street shops and fantastic view. The Heian Shrine was also captivating for its gardens, which we learned from our lively tour guide was also the setting for Memoirs of a Geisha. But I would have to say that what made this tour really special was the extra mile our tour guide took to make our sightseeing memorable. Our party had wanted to see the Gion district after the tour had ended, and had asked him to drop us off somewhere near the area. Not only did he do that, he also personally went with us to show us the side streets and points of interests in the area. In this case, what made the difference from numerous other tours is his personal touch and his generosity with his time. Thanks!!

From USD $ 53.30

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N280

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message