4.5 star rating: Recommended 41 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 41 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Being foodies the nishiki portion was something we did on our own earlier in the day so we didn't get much out of that other than our guide Hero who was beyond cute! Sake tour, killer! Cooking class, teacher was great but very beginner. Stars are for the guide/teachers only.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The fish markets were very interesting and our guide was very informative. The sake museum was closed unfortunately, but we did get to taste sake. The dinner was fun to make and lovely to eat in traditional Japanese house. I thought $145 for two people was a little expensive for this afternoon tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really had a great time on the tour. The highlight was the cooking class at the end - the hostesses were fun and the food was really good! The tour group was nice and small which made it east to get around in the food market and easier to hear the tour guide. The only two downsides were the following: it was hard to find the meeting space and there was A LOT of walking (getting to the Sake museum and the cooking place). I think if you included a picture map of the meeting place it would help. It might also help to plan a coffee/tea stop on the way to the Sake museum. I know it takes up valuable time, but it would have been a nice break. I might also include an additional bit of money for buying more of the odd things in the market to try. We had a few items, but would have liked to have included more.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

You can't compare the experience of going through this wonderful market with a knowledgeable guide that can answer your every question. The cooking class was very enjoyable, and we have been using the skills we acquired there ever since we got home!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

I know a bit bout cooking and would have liked a more complex menu but members of put group were novices. Still I found the tour most rewarding And picked up many handy tips. Our guide was wonderful and the chef delightful. Very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

There are three aspects to this tour. First we had a guide who was very nice and spoke pretty good English, who took us through the market and the sake tasting. The cooking instructor spoke excellent English and did a great job of explaining the importance and significance of the cooking process.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was a fun and interesting way to experience a part of Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great tour although would have liked to have finished a little earlier than the 6.30pm as we had to go out to dinner. Would also have liked to have had the taxi ordered to enable us to get back to our hotel from the home where we did our cooking class.
But the cooking class excellent and very detailed, and the vist to the market so very interesting and a chance to ask about the many foods on sale.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Tour guide and cooking demonstrator where great. The market tour was very interesting. Cooking class was well organised and food was nice

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

was a great . the ladies that do cooking class were gorgeous. bit of walking , so if you do this, try not to walk all morning like we did.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Good tour although a bit pricey for what you get. I enjoyed doing something unusual in Kyoto. I was the only guest so...'private tour'! The Nishiki Market was very interesting. It was nice to have someone able to tell me about the different foods found there. I imagined buying a beautiful bit of fish for our sushi but most Japanese can't afford the fish on a regular basis. We purchased a bit of fish paste and fried tofu for our dinner. The sake museum was okay. 3 tiny sips of sake isn't exactly a 'tasting' but the difference in qualitiy is quite clear. Hold out for the 3rd sip (the best quality) as I didn't see it offered to others who came after us. The tour guide's office is just around the corner and that's where the cooking class was. Not the best sushi because of the ingredients but I was able to come home, buy some tuna and make professional looking sushi on my own.

Anna K
Sweden

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

I really recommend this tour, especially the tour of the food market were we learned alot about different Japaneese food. The cooking class was fun and interesting as well.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a 50/50 experience but overall pretty good Really more of a 3+ star experience. It consisted of a tour of the markets, sake tasting and a class where you learned to make a sushi roll. The guide and cooking teacher were very pleasant and they made the experience worthwhile. English skills were good but not fluent.

Tours--
Pros: Very pleasant and outgoing guide.
Cons: Not what I really expected. The description led me to believe that we would select ingredients for the cooking class. Not really. So the experience was a lot more watching than shopping someone else buy items that -- in the end -- where not really what was used anyway in the class.

Sake tasting:
Kind of fun. Not too educational, but a historic building. Not an operational brewery.

Cooking class:
This was fun, but again, a lot of watching with a few moment of participation. The teacher was extremely nice and this was the highlight of the tour. Watched her demonstrate how to make dashi and rice. Helped cut ingredients for Miso and sushi. Rolled and cut sushi (egg and veg).

Again, a good way to spend a rainy afternoon, but not a must do.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

You need to understand that there is a 90 minute tour through the market before the cooking class. Also, the tour was not particularly enlightening, just shopping for a few ingredients. Tour guide did not know answers to most of our questions. The cooking class by Mieko was wonderful, however, and more than made up for the boring tour part. !

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour is not value for money and is pretty much a first timers tour in Japan. The Japanese staff involved were very good however the content is very basic and on our tour, one of the key elements of the tour was unavailable with no addition or replacement.

The item missing on our tour was the sake tasting. The venue was closed on the day of our tour so we just had a quick look and kept moving. Sake tasting tour is one of the three main elements in the tour name so we were disappointed that it was possible, even though we chose from dates available on the website, not dates we requested.

The cost was 150 per person as well which is expensive considering its a walking tour with little overheads.

Of course we made the most of it and we still had a good time but as a professional tour, it dropped short.

Lulu W
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

The tour itself was great -- but it was a bit of a logistical nightmare since our guide did not wait for us in the area that was clearly specified on our instructions. We arrived a good 15 minutes early and were waiting exactly where we were told, which was down a set of stairs and out of sight from the street level. Our guide waited at the top of the stairs instead, and when the other four people in our group arrived they left without us (presumably they arrived shortly after she did, otherwise they too would have gone down the stairs to wait).

Our guide did not bother to look around before departing on the tour (if they had, we would have been very easy to spot!) and did not try to ring us. When we still didn't see our guide five minutes past our meeting time, we walked back up to the street level and to look around but by then the group had already left. Finally, 30 minutes and several expensive international roaming calls later, we tracked down our guide, who admitted that she was in error.

Again, this is not to discount the wonderful tour and activity -- which we thoroughly enjoyed. If I were to rate that alone, I'd give it 4-5 stars. Nevertheless, we were not happy about being told to arrive in a very precise location, doing exactly what we were told, and then being left behind when the guide decided to meet in a different location -- hence my low rating.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

From USD $ 94.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5163KYO_COOK

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message