Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Marjolaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tout était parfait. L'accueil était chaleureux et les cours bien préparés. À faire absolument !

Janet F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very interesting way to be involved in the culture, shopping, cooking and sampling the local food and drink. Hiro and Mieko, our guides were great.

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

You can learn a lot from a country from it's food and from this point of view, this tour is a window into Japanese culture that would be hard to look through in any other way. The first part ofthe tour in the Nishiki Food Market provided an eye openning expereince to the diversity of Japanese food, not only for the beginner, but for the more experienced foodie. There was plenty of time to check out all of the stalls, and the guide for this part of the tour was extremely knowledgeable and could talk about all of the types of foods in any detail that you would like. Absolutely incredible variety, with plenty of opportunities to taste great food, including extreme food tasting for the adventuresome!

The second part of the tour involved a visit to a saki brewery followed by an introduction to sake with tastings. I wasn't sure waht to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The cooking part of the tour was expertly done and I won't tell you what we cooked and ate as i don't want to spoil it for you, but just to say, that I learned so much and had a great time. There were some in the group who were not so experienced cooks, but there was no pressure and everyone really enjoyed it. A wonderful way to spend an afternoon with insights into Japan that would be otherwise hard to come by.

Melanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Was an awesome afternoon. We were the only people on the tour!!! We got to see what we wanted and learnt so much about Japanese culture, food, drink and how to cook it. To top it off once we had done our cooking we had dinner with our teachers. We felt part of the family. We would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to experience a little of the culture once you have seen all the sights!

viktoria s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Nishiki market is great fun, tour guides are very well prepared and really caring. Recommended to everybody.

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The tour was great. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. She explained all about the different foods in the market. The cooking lesson was fun and interesting. Overall a great way to start my stay in Kyoto.

Ruth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was simply amazing! We were lead though the amazing Nishiki market, past fugu restaurants and all sorts of delicacies from different stalls with a commentary that highlighted cultural traditions and gave cooking tips, whilst naturally sampling everything along the way! We then went to a boutique sake museum/former mechant house and sampled delicious sake after a quick tour of the building where insight was shed into the procedure involved in sake manufacture! And then we went to the cooking school and made an amazing meal which left my boyfriend and i feeling quite chuffed! And we even got a certificate! Everyone was so friendly and informative and the tour was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Christine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

I can't speak highly enough about this wonderful tour. My guide was excellent, full of knowledge and tips about the market, its wares and history. The sake museum was closed for a public holiday, but I was presented with a bottle of sake and a short history of its manufacture. Then we went to the hands on cookery school, where we prepared, cooked and ate a very tasty Japanese meal. I would recommend this to people of all ages.

Janet J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We had a great time shopping in the Nishiki Food Market. There is an array of food the likes of which I have never seen before! The cooking class was great and our sushi even turned out delicious. I would definitely recommend this tour.

PETER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Highly recommended for anyone wishing to experience Japanese culture, as opposed to just seeing it. Heaps of fun!

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Well considered tour and activities. Very knowledgeable and personable guides and instructors made for a great day. Really nice people who were great fun to be with.

Nancy S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Fantastic! I loved this tour the most. Both tour guides were very knowledgable and allowed us to ask lots of questions. They were very accommodating.

Marisa V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very interesting tour and a great cooking course. The staff are lovely. Definitly a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Carolyn G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I was the only one on this tour so I had a very personalised tour. The tour guide was very interested to make sure she meet my expectations and interests. I got more information than I expected. The cooking class was great as I learnt some handy tips that you can't get from a book. To finish off with the meal in a tradition setting was great

Rhiannon M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good tour of market. Would need to spend more time three to really immerse yourself in it, but you can always go back. The cooking class was more of a cooking demonstration, but it was still informative and fun. A good introduction to Kyoto.

jim

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We really liked this personal tour through the food shopping street and then a short tour of a family sake brewery. The walk from the market to the brewery and then the house for the meal preparation was long. I would recommend this tour to someone not familiar with Japanese food or cooking styles.

kauaijess2

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Being foodies the nishiki portion was something we did on our own earlier in the day so we didn't get much out of that other than our guide Hero who was beyond cute! Sake tour, killer! Cooking class, teacher was great but very beginner. Stars are for the guide/teachers only.

Collie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The fish markets were very interesting and our guide was very informative. The sake museum was closed unfortunately, but we did get to taste sake. The dinner was fun to make and lovely to eat in traditional Japanese house. I thought $145 for two people was a little expensive for this afternoon tour.

LINDA W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really had a great time on the tour. The highlight was the cooking class at the end - the hostesses were fun and the food was really good! The tour group was nice and small which made it east to get around in the food market and easier to hear the tour guide. The only two downsides were the following: it was hard to find the meeting space and there was A LOT of walking (getting to the Sake museum and the cooking place). I think if you included a picture map of the meeting place it would help. It might also help to plan a coffee/tea stop on the way to the Sake museum. I know it takes up valuable time, but it would have been a nice break. I might also include an additional bit of money for buying more of the odd things in the market to try. We had a few items, but would have liked to have included more.

Rudy F. G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

You can't compare the experience of going through this wonderful market with a knowledgeable guide that can answer your every question. The cooking class was very enjoyable, and we have been using the skills we acquired there ever since we got home!

Ms J Henderson H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

I know a bit bout cooking and would have liked a more complex menu but members of put group were novices. Still I found the tour most rewarding And picked up many handy tips. Our guide was wonderful and the chef delightful. Very enjoyable.

Jessica S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

There are three aspects to this tour. First we had a guide who was very nice and spoke pretty good English, who took us through the market and the sake tasting. The cooking instructor spoke excellent English and did a great job of explaining the importance and significance of the cooking process.

Stephen H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was a fun and interesting way to experience a part of Kyoto.

Barbara P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great tour although would have liked to have finished a little earlier than the 6.30pm as we had to go out to dinner. Would also have liked to have had the taxi ordered to enable us to get back to our hotel from the home where we did our cooking class.
But the cooking class excellent and very detailed, and the vist to the market so very interesting and a chance to ask about the many foods on sale.

Vivian V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Tour guide and cooking demonstrator where great. The market tour was very interesting. Cooking class was well organised and food was nice

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 119.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5163KYO_COOK

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message