Viewing All 51 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The tour was great. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. She explained all about the different foods in the market. The cooking lesson was fun and interesting. Overall a great way to start my stay in Kyoto.

Ruth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was simply amazing! We were lead though the amazing Nishiki market, past fugu restaurants and all sorts of delicacies from different stalls with a commentary that highlighted cultural traditions and gave cooking tips, whilst naturally sampling everything along the way! We then went to a boutique sake museum/former mechant house and sampled delicious sake after a quick tour of the building where insight was shed into the procedure involved in sake manufacture! And then we went to the cooking school and made an amazing meal which left my boyfriend and i feeling quite chuffed! And we even got a certificate! Everyone was so friendly and informative and the tour was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Christine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

I can't speak highly enough about this wonderful tour. My guide was excellent, full of knowledge and tips about the market, its wares and history. The sake museum was closed for a public holiday, but I was presented with a bottle of sake and a short history of its manufacture. Then we went to the hands on cookery school, where we prepared, cooked and ate a very tasty Japanese meal. I would recommend this to people of all ages.

Janet J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We had a great time shopping in the Nishiki Food Market. There is an array of food the likes of which I have never seen before! The cooking class was great and our sushi even turned out delicious. I would definitely recommend this tour.

PETER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Highly recommended for anyone wishing to experience Japanese culture, as opposed to just seeing it. Heaps of fun!

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Well considered tour and activities. Very knowledgeable and personable guides and instructors made for a great day. Really nice people who were great fun to be with.

Nancy S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Fantastic! I loved this tour the most. Both tour guides were very knowledgable and allowed us to ask lots of questions. They were very accommodating.

Marisa V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very interesting tour and a great cooking course. The staff are lovely. Definitly a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Carolyn G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I was the only one on this tour so I had a very personalised tour. The tour guide was very interested to make sure she meet my expectations and interests. I got more information than I expected. The cooking class was great as I learnt some handy tips that you can't get from a book. To finish off with the meal in a tradition setting was great

jim

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We really liked this personal tour through the food shopping street and then a short tour of a family sake brewery. The walk from the market to the brewery and then the house for the meal preparation was long. I would recommend this tour to someone not familiar with Japanese food or cooking styles.

kauaijess2

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Being foodies the nishiki portion was something we did on our own earlier in the day so we didn't get much out of that other than our guide Hero who was beyond cute! Sake tour, killer! Cooking class, teacher was great but very beginner. Stars are for the guide/teachers only.

Collie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The fish markets were very interesting and our guide was very informative. The sake museum was closed unfortunately, but we did get to taste sake. The dinner was fun to make and lovely to eat in traditional Japanese house. I thought $145 for two people was a little expensive for this afternoon tour.

LINDA W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really had a great time on the tour. The highlight was the cooking class at the end - the hostesses were fun and the food was really good! The tour group was nice and small which made it east to get around in the food market and easier to hear the tour guide. The only two downsides were the following: it was hard to find the meeting space and there was A LOT of walking (getting to the Sake museum and the cooking place). I think if you included a picture map of the meeting place it would help. It might also help to plan a coffee/tea stop on the way to the Sake museum. I know it takes up valuable time, but it would have been a nice break. I might also include an additional bit of money for buying more of the odd things in the market to try. We had a few items, but would have liked to have included more.

Rudy F. G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

You can't compare the experience of going through this wonderful market with a knowledgeable guide that can answer your every question. The cooking class was very enjoyable, and we have been using the skills we acquired there ever since we got home!

Ms J Henderson H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

I know a bit bout cooking and would have liked a more complex menu but members of put group were novices. Still I found the tour most rewarding And picked up many handy tips. Our guide was wonderful and the chef delightful. Very enjoyable.

Jessica S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

There are three aspects to this tour. First we had a guide who was very nice and spoke pretty good English, who took us through the market and the sake tasting. The cooking instructor spoke excellent English and did a great job of explaining the importance and significance of the cooking process.

Stephen H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was a fun and interesting way to experience a part of Kyoto.

Barbara P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great tour although would have liked to have finished a little earlier than the 6.30pm as we had to go out to dinner. Would also have liked to have had the taxi ordered to enable us to get back to our hotel from the home where we did our cooking class.
But the cooking class excellent and very detailed, and the vist to the market so very interesting and a chance to ask about the many foods on sale.

Vivian V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Tour guide and cooking demonstrator where great. The market tour was very interesting. Cooking class was well organised and food was nice

Karley M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

was a great . the ladies that do cooking class were gorgeous. bit of walking , so if you do this, try not to walk all morning like we did.

Jen H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Good tour although a bit pricey for what you get. I enjoyed doing something unusual in Kyoto. I was the only guest so...'private tour'! The Nishiki Market was very interesting. It was nice to have someone able to tell me about the different foods found there. I imagined buying a beautiful bit of fish for our sushi but most Japanese can't afford the fish on a regular basis. We purchased a bit of fish paste and fried tofu for our dinner. The sake museum was okay. 3 tiny sips of sake isn't exactly a 'tasting' but the difference in qualitiy is quite clear. Hold out for the 3rd sip (the best quality) as I didn't see it offered to others who came after us. The tour guide's office is just around the corner and that's where the cooking class was. Not the best sushi because of the ingredients but I was able to come home, buy some tuna and make professional looking sushi on my own.

Anna K Sweden

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

I really recommend this tour, especially the tour of the food market were we learned alot about different Japaneese food. The cooking class was fun and interesting as well.

James S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a 50/50 experience but overall pretty good Really more of a 3+ star experience. It consisted of a tour of the markets, sake tasting and a class where you learned to make a sushi roll. The guide and cooking teacher were very pleasant and they made the experience worthwhile. English skills were good but not fluent.

Tours--
Pros: Very pleasant and outgoing guide.
Cons: Not what I really expected. The description led me to believe that we would select ingredients for the cooking class. Not really. So the experience was a lot more watching than shopping someone else buy items that -- in the end -- where not really what was used anyway in the class.

Sake tasting:
Kind of fun. Not too educational, but a historic building. Not an operational brewery.

Cooking class:
This was fun, but again, a lot of watching with a few moment of participation. The teacher was extremely nice and this was the highlight of the tour. Watched her demonstrate how to make dashi and rice. Helped cut ingredients for Miso and sushi. Rolled and cut sushi (egg and veg).

Again, a good way to spend a rainy afternoon, but not a must do.

Christine H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

You need to understand that there is a 90 minute tour through the market before the cooking class. Also, the tour was not particularly enlightening, just shopping for a few ingredients. Tour guide did not know answers to most of our questions. The cooking class by Mieko was wonderful, however, and more than made up for the boring tour part. !

Patrick A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour is not value for money and is pretty much a first timers tour in Japan. The Japanese staff involved were very good however the content is very basic and on our tour, one of the key elements of the tour was unavailable with no addition or replacement.

The item missing on our tour was the sake tasting. The venue was closed on the day of our tour so we just had a quick look and kept moving. Sake tasting tour is one of the three main elements in the tour name so we were disappointed that it was possible, even though we chose from dates available on the website, not dates we requested.

The cost was 150 per person as well which is expensive considering its a walking tour with little overheads.

Of course we made the most of it and we still had a good time but as a professional tour, it dropped short.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 102.12

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5163KYO_COOK

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message