4.5 star rating: Recommended 39 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 39 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The tour was great. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. She explained all about the different foods in the market. The cooking lesson was fun and interesting. Overall a great way to start my stay in Kyoto.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was simply amazing! We were lead though the amazing Nishiki market, past fugu restaurants and all sorts of delicacies from different stalls with a commentary that highlighted cultural traditions and gave cooking tips, whilst naturally sampling everything along the way! We then went to a boutique sake museum/former mechant house and sampled delicious sake after a quick tour of the building where insight was shed into the procedure involved in sake manufacture! And then we went to the cooking school and made an amazing meal which left my boyfriend and i feeling quite chuffed! And we even got a certificate! Everyone was so friendly and informative and the tour was definitely a highlight of our trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

I can't speak highly enough about this wonderful tour. My guide was excellent, full of knowledge and tips about the market, its wares and history. The sake museum was closed for a public holiday, but I was presented with a bottle of sake and a short history of its manufacture. Then we went to the hands on cookery school, where we prepared, cooked and ate a very tasty Japanese meal. I would recommend this to people of all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We had a great time shopping in the Nishiki Food Market. There is an array of food the likes of which I have never seen before! The cooking class was great and our sushi even turned out delicious. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Highly recommended for anyone wishing to experience Japanese culture, as opposed to just seeing it. Heaps of fun!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Well considered tour and activities. Very knowledgeable and personable guides and instructors made for a great day. Really nice people who were great fun to be with.

Nancy S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Fantastic! I loved this tour the most. Both tour guides were very knowledgable and allowed us to ask lots of questions. They were very accommodating.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very interesting tour and a great cooking course. The staff are lovely. Definitly a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Carolyn G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I was the only one on this tour so I had a very personalised tour. The tour guide was very interested to make sure she meet my expectations and interests. I got more information than I expected. The cooking class was great as I learnt some handy tips that you can't get from a book. To finish off with the meal in a tradition setting was great

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The fish markets were very interesting and our guide was very informative. The sake museum was closed unfortunately, but we did get to taste sake. The dinner was fun to make and lovely to eat in traditional Japanese house. I thought $145 for two people was a little expensive for this afternoon tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really had a great time on the tour. The highlight was the cooking class at the end - the hostesses were fun and the food was really good! The tour group was nice and small which made it east to get around in the food market and easier to hear the tour guide. The only two downsides were the following: it was hard to find the meeting space and there was A LOT of walking (getting to the Sake museum and the cooking place). I think if you included a picture map of the meeting place it would help. It might also help to plan a coffee/tea stop on the way to the Sake museum. I know it takes up valuable time, but it would have been a nice break. I might also include an additional bit of money for buying more of the odd things in the market to try. We had a few items, but would have liked to have included more.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

You can't compare the experience of going through this wonderful market with a knowledgeable guide that can answer your every question. The cooking class was very enjoyable, and we have been using the skills we acquired there ever since we got home!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

I know a bit bout cooking and would have liked a more complex menu but members of put group were novices. Still I found the tour most rewarding And picked up many handy tips. Our guide was wonderful and the chef delightful. Very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

There are three aspects to this tour. First we had a guide who was very nice and spoke pretty good English, who took us through the market and the sake tasting. The cooking instructor spoke excellent English and did a great job of explaining the importance and significance of the cooking process.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was a fun and interesting way to experience a part of Kyoto.

From USD $ 97.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5163KYO_COOK

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message