4.5 star rating: Recommended 337 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 337 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Kyoto is a wonderful place with many interesting sites. The Golden Pavilion is spectacular. All sites are well worth visiting. The tour guides were very nice, professional and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with excellent and humorous tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guides and destinations. Convenient pick up and drop off locations. Very informative and the provided lunch was great. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great! We saw 6 temples in total and they were beautiful. We also got to see a lot of Kyoto on the way to each temple. Our two tour guides were very friendly, knowledgeable and great to have showing us around. All in all a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour with great guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, totally worth the money. One thing only - it gets a little tiring by the end of the day, but it is worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and knowledgeable guides. If you want to see some of the most famous sights in Kyoto in an efficient and stress free way, then this is the tour to go on!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Friendly tour guide, it was great to find out all the information about each location from an expert!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our third Viator tour on this trip. We were picked up in Kyoto at the hotel we stayed at (New Miyako); again, very convenient. Our tour guide, Yoshi, was the best of the trip...very knowledegable and funny. Niho Castle was the highlight of the tour and it worth the trip--awesome. Heian Shrine was next and was a very spiritual place, again, worth the visit. From there, we visited the Golden Pavilion and got some great pics and good luck charms. We stopped for lunch at a restaurant (part of the tour) and had a great traditional lunch, shabu-shabu style. After this, we got back on the bus but were again plagued by the bus' inadequate AC, as it got hot and humid outside. The entire tour group resorted to opening the windows and braving the stickiness rather than the oven it had become inside. Our next stop was the imperial palace replica. It was immense and provided stunning pics and memories. Kiyomizu temple was out last stop. The shopping on the road up to the temple was another major attraction, here. At the conclusion of the tour, we were returned to our hotel at approx. 5pm, so we still had time to walk around Kyoto! Don't miss this one--imo its a good investment in time and money for what you get--experience this important area's major sites, explained by an expert, eat great local food, excellent shopping opportunities, and convenient pickup/drop-off. We'll do this one again, someday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Probably our favorite tour of our trip. Saw a heap of fantastic scenes from around Kyoto with a really well informed guides. The swcond half of the day we had to practically take at a run but that was only because there is so much crammed into the day. Definitely worth it if you have a spare day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good customer service (matched lowest available price) as well as knowledgeable tour guides and good selection of sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nice tour, I will never forget it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed the tour of Kyoto. The tour guides were infomative and covered all the highlights of Kyoto. On the whole I had fantastic time especially because the one day tour was compact for the limited time I had in Kyoto. Please thank tour guide Izumi. P.S. Lunch at the restaurant great too..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is great for the highlights of Kyoto. Our afternoon tour guide (male) was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I felt bad for the tour guides because the day was hot and this makes for sleepy, slightly cranky tourists. But they did a great job. Very informTive, patient and professional . I particularly liked that a ten minute grace period the bus left rather than wait for inconsiderate participants.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized. Recommended if you have only one day in Kyoto.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

As with everything in Japan, this tour was run super efficiently - it is a bit of a whistle stop tour, seeing 6 places in a day, but as Kyoto is quite spread out there's no way we could have seen half as much in our own.
The tour guides were funny and made it enjoyable - recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Beautiful setting and lovely tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was well organised and the guide was extremely helpful, We learned more than we thought we would . Also the weather was perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We are a family with 2 young children 11 and 9. The tour started with a complimentary pickup at a nearby hotel and was very well organised. Of course each attraction was packed with other tour groups, but we still had clear directions and precise times to meet our schedule and to make sure that we saw all the sites. With so many places to visit and busy traffic, time at each spot is limited. The good thing about Kyoto is that if you want to go back the next day and have a really good look at one or two of the attractions it can be easily done as they are relatively close. The included lunch was good, the kids had a different menu more suited to them. We would thoroughly recommend this tour. The guides, drivers and buses are excellent. We are so glad that we chose this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great way to immerse into a new city - a guided tour. It is rushed, in, out, rush. To be expected. Good day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, all of it is worth it. The last area visited for the Kiyomizu temple was amazing and the tour guide was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

One of the best guided tour I ever had. The tour guide was very helpful and took effort to explain the history and culture of the site we visit. Didn't have the opportunity to thank him. His name is Mihara (sorry if I got the spelling wrong). I would recommend anyone to take this guided tour if it is the first time to Kyoto.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

this is probably the 3rd time i've done this tour in the last 15 years. I absolutely love it! We used to do lunch at the handicraft center but that changed after the earthquake so Lunch time without the shopping time was a bit of a let down, but the lunch itself was delicious. Guides were knowledgable and well spoken.

From USD $ 111.46

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N100

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message