• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 274 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 274 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was the highlight of one week in Japan. Excellent value. The guide spoke fluent iEnglish and had full mastery of her topics. There is no way to add anything to the photos and descriptions from others. One thing to keep in mind about these kinds of tours: everything is rushed. It is always hurry up and wait. That is the problem with herding 30 cats. If you have a problem with that, then you may want to organize private tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very nice tour - in august this tour is very hot but making several stops using a new air conditioning bus it really help really a lot! Luca Milano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The main advantage of this tour is that it provided us with an opportunity to view a number of the major sites in the same day and then allow us the ability to leisurely view other points of interest during our four days in Kyoto. Our first guide was very informative and funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My grandson and his friend had an excellent tour in English. Unfortunately, my wife and I were not able to take the tour because I was admitted to the hospital that day and stayed 10 days. Viator was kind enough to refund two tickets and promptly credited my card. The guide was excellent and had the timing perfect for each visit on the tour. I will always recommend Viator for tours in any country it provides them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Kyoto totally rocks and is definitely a must see. With 17 UNESCO World Heritage sites, doing a full day tour in the summer (and it is boiling hot, typically over 30 degrees Celsius) is physically taxing. By afternoon most of the people in my tour group had lost the will to live. I strongly suggest doing two half day tours on separate days. Top of the list are Nijo Castle which recaptures the story of Shogun and the subsequent loss of power to the Japanese Emperor, the Golden Pavilion whose stunning beauty will mesmerise you and Eikan-do for its beautiful grounds.
Our tour guide was perfect: friendly, knowledgeable, had great command of English and had a good sense of humour. The tour bus departed on time, was clean, climate controlled and comfortable. Buffet lunch was just ok, but could have been better given how amazing Japanese food can be.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The staff on the phone at Viator were unaware that the ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto was previously called the ANA Hotel Kyoto, causing confusion re pick-up location. However, much more organised on a local level and we were even able to add a guest on the day of the trip with no fuss at all. The tour guide was excellent, both knowledgeable and entertaining. If you are short on time to see everything, this is a great choice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great and very informative tour, we kept a very tight schedule and had plenty of free time at each stop. A good way to see some incredible sites in a very historic city. We could not have seen this many sites by ourselves. Absolutely recommend this to anyone visiting Kyoto.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Just perfect

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Kyoto has a lot of very interesting and beautiful places to see. This full day tour may not cover all of them but it includes most of the must-see places. Lunch is included which is just ok. Our tour guide for the afternoon tour, Yuki, was very knowledgeable and fluent in English. My only complaint is that we were all in a rush especially the morning tour, and it seemed that we didn't have enough time to take in the beauty of the places we've been to. One family who was part of our tour group was left behind in the Golden Pavilion and had to take the taxi to rejoin the group in the Imperial Palace. The pacing of the afternoon tour was better, we even had time to buy some souvenirs in the shops near the Kyomizu Temple.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Absolutely perfect if you only have a short time in Kyoto; I just had one full day and this tour took me to six places, all of them fantastic and worth seeing. It felt like I'd managed to see a decent amount of Kyoto even though I just stopped over there. The lunch was fantastic too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The tour was well organized and the tour guide shared with us her knowledge of the places we were visiting. If there was anything to complain about, it's the lack of time but that was provided and simply mulling about is not a good idea as we'll miss the bus. Was it worth it? Yes, the value was worth it and I would recommend the full day understanding Kyoto's culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great tour was able to see all the sites with time in the evening to go to Gion corner. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. I recommend this tour to anyone wishing to get away for the just a weekend and see Kyoto. Had a wonderful time!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Japan. Well organised, guide spoke clear fluent english and provided a great range of information about each place and we spent enough time at each location. Fantastic value for money!

Carolyn M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

An excellent way to get an overview of Kyoto. Visited several of the major sites with well informed guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very well organized tour. I was taken care of from pick up to drop off. The time spent in each of the 6 locations was long enough to enjoy them. Both of the tour guides were enthusiastic, and very entertaining to listen. Would do it again anytime...

From USD $ 123.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N100

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message