4.5 star rating: Recommended 292 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 292 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour! We definitely packed it in going all over the city; there is absolutely no way we could have done this all on our own. In addition, our tour leader, Hiromi, was great! She was very knowledgeable and friendly, and she had great anecdotes along the way to keep things interesting. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Kyoto brobably the most interesting Japanise city.Full of history.The city is a must to see.
If you lucky you can see geishas too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This tour is really well-organized. I really enjoyed every trip with Viator. Moreover, the lunch was fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour guide, easy to find location for the bus. Good information explained at each of the four sites we visited as well as a good lunch served. Not enough time allowed at the last stop (shopping district) because the tour had one family that needed to get back to the train depot earlier than the tour was scheduled. This small group had traveled from another city for this tour...through a travel company arrangement. Made our last stop more than an hour shorter than we had been told at the out-set. Then no time for the rest of the 35-40 folks on the tour to visit the small shops as had been "promised" near the last site. We never did find a way to get back to that area, but did "manage" to buy plenty of Japanese gifts.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

a very good, compact daily tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful tour. Suzuki is a knowledgable and good tour leader. I would recommend this tour to anyone coming to Kyoto.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Exellent tour guide. Good tour. Highlyrecomended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent tour, lunch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful sights, wish we had more time shopping!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was terrific, and the guide was outstanding. The balance of travel time to sight-seeing time was terrific.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was the highlight of one week in Japan. Excellent value. The guide spoke fluent iEnglish and had full mastery of her topics. There is no way to add anything to the photos and descriptions from others. One thing to keep in mind about these kinds of tours: everything is rushed. It is always hurry up and wait. That is the problem with herding 30 cats. If you have a problem with that, then you may want to organize private tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very nice tour - in august this tour is very hot but making several stops using a new air conditioning bus it really help really a lot! Luca Milano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The main advantage of this tour is that it provided us with an opportunity to view a number of the major sites in the same day and then allow us the ability to leisurely view other points of interest during our four days in Kyoto. Our first guide was very informative and funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My grandson and his friend had an excellent tour in English. Unfortunately, my wife and I were not able to take the tour because I was admitted to the hospital that day and stayed 10 days. Viator was kind enough to refund two tickets and promptly credited my card. The guide was excellent and had the timing perfect for each visit on the tour. I will always recommend Viator for tours in any country it provides them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Kyoto totally rocks and is definitely a must see. With 17 UNESCO World Heritage sites, doing a full day tour in the summer (and it is boiling hot, typically over 30 degrees Celsius) is physically taxing. By afternoon most of the people in my tour group had lost the will to live. I strongly suggest doing two half day tours on separate days. Top of the list are Nijo Castle which recaptures the story of Shogun and the subsequent loss of power to the Japanese Emperor, the Golden Pavilion whose stunning beauty will mesmerise you and Eikan-do for its beautiful grounds.
Our tour guide was perfect: friendly, knowledgeable, had great command of English and had a good sense of humour. The tour bus departed on time, was clean, climate controlled and comfortable. Buffet lunch was just ok, but could have been better given how amazing Japanese food can be.

From USD $ 107.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N100

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message