• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 253 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 253 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

It was so good however I think I just looked at the tip of the iceberg. Also I was by myself during the trip and got terribly lost at the shrine, I CANNOT thank the tour guide and bus for waiting for me. I was in a panic mode.

Margaret M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Very happy with our comprehensive full day tour of Kyoto. The guide was excellent and the pace was just right, allowing us the opportunity to see the major sights in one hit with a break over lunch and spare time at the Handicrafts centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The tour was great and well arranged, the guide talked to much, he went on and on about suicides and being saved from bombing when the tourist wanted to see Kyoto. In both trips, this one and the one to Nara, the service of Viator from website to the lady who met us at the hotel were superb. I will use Viator in Barcelona in early April. Keep it up.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We had an excellent guide! He was very knowledgeable and thorough on the history of Kyoto, the shrines and temples; and he gave some really interesting facts that I'm still bringing up to family and friends since I've been back home. The food at the handicraft center was surprisingly good and we went a few blocks down and grabbed coffee at a coffee shop. Please make sure you go to that coffee shop, I can't remember the name, it was something simple like "the coffee market". I just remember it had the word "coffee" in the title and it was English. The owner was so kind and we had the best coffee and scones there. The tour itself was excellent. We didn't have much time to spend in Kyoto and we didn't want to waste time getting lost trying to hop around from one sight to the other. I really liked that we didn't feel rushed when we went to the different sites. We were given time to take photos and you really learn a lot. On the days that we went sightseeing on our own we definitely felt like we didn't really get a chance to understand the history of it so in the end we wasted more time there walking around aimlessly. I definitely recommend doing this tour if you want to hit all the important places of Kyoto. The only thing extra we did in Kyoto was visit the Fushimi Inari shrine and the Nikishi Market, and we did both of those the next day early in the morning before our next Viator tour "Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine. It couldn't have worked out better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This is my first experience with Viator. I will definately use them again. I was impressed with the timelyness adn knowledge of the staff! Well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Very well run full-day tour of Kyoto. Saw all that we expected to see in the very limited time that we had. The time allowed during each stop seemed right almost always. Lunch provided was ok. We were fortunate to do this tour during peak change in the color of the leaves in the gardens visited, which turned a very good day into a spectacular day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

great service

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

It is the best way to see many beautiful places in one day. I wish there was a tour that ended after lunch. we wanted to explore on our own after that great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This trip was a fabulous way to see many attractions in a short period of time. The afternoon trip visited sites that were especially beautiful. We never would have been able to see so much of Kyoto had we not taken this day trip. Our guides were courteous, the bus was comfortable, and we had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Yuki is great! She was knowledgeable and humorous and a great communicator. Just the right number of sites -3 in the morning and 3 in the afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very nice overview of Kyoto. The morning was jam-packed and very tight on schedule. Rushed right through the Golden Pavillion. Buffet lunch was decent and had plenty of free time afterwards to browse the many floors of gift shops at the craft center. After lunch we were on a different bus with a different tour guide. This is dependent on with afternoon tour you chose. Much more relaxed with free time to take pictures and explore.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

As the different historical sites in Kyoto are not within walking distance of each other, unless you're a confident cyclist, a full day organised tour is a good idea. The guide we had was excellent. She spoke English well, was helpful and knowledgeable about the different sites. The Japanese-Chinese buffet lunch was nice and a quick visit of Kyoto handicraft centre allowed us to purchase some different souvenirs in one place albeit a little pricey. Ninjo Castle and Kiyomizu temples are definite must-sees.

Nancy S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I enjoyed the trip very much. My only criticism is that I would have liked there to be more opportunities to ask questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The temples and shrines were so ornate and beautiful and the guide was very good and infomative. I learned a lot about Buddhism and Japan. It was a great way to see a lot in a short amount of time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We had 2 different guides for morning and afternoon tour - both excellent knowledge and good sense of humour. Full day perhaps a little too much, 6 temples and shrines to see one after the other is a lot! However, the visits are short and sharp and we were still listening to her stories at 5pm as our guide was so interesting.

From USD $ 122.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N100

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message