4 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Easy way to experience some local sights. Our guide was great, a little had to hear in crowded areas unfortunately. Worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent guide, very informative and pleasant

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and added great value to the tour. However the tour was a bit rushed, and it might have been better if we had a little more time to take it all in. Overall though, I would recommend this tour as a good taster of these sights. The Golden Pavilion was absolutely spectacular!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were late for our tour (15mins), but there was an attendant patiently waiting for us at the hotel. He provided a taxi for us to catch up with the group but we had to pay for the taxi fee. Our tour guide was informative and had good English. Overall tour was a great experience, we saw Nijo Castle and the Golden Pavilion.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Good fun!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Tour was good although the golden pavilion site was mobbed with thousands of tourists. Tour guide was very good and was entertaining as well as informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour! Wonderful tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good tour but you may be over all the palaces, shrines and temples by the end of it.
If you looked at other temples, in other cities, you could probably miss this tour. Otherwise, it will open your eyes to the history of Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The Kyoto tour was very good. We enjoyed the palace, pavilion and castle. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and personable. The bus ride was comfortable and clean. Worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Great overview of Kyoto. Group was little large, otherwise highly recommended. Very knowledgeable tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Saw the major sites on 1/2 a day which was great but as can be expected felt very rushed. For those who takes this tour be aware - this tour concludes at 12:00 at the lunch restaurant for the full day tour. They do shuttle the half day participants back to the Kyoto station but you only arrive back at the station after 13:00. We had another tour scheduled to depart at 14:00 so our planned relaxed lunch turned into a rushed lunch at a fast food vendor.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic short tour of Kyoto. Really enjoyed the golden pavilion and nightingale floor.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Very good except we wanted to see the Imperial Palace.
Ralph.

Audy L
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The tour covers the must see places. Convenient. Tour guide's English is not very good though. Would be more informative if she speaks better English

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excellent Tour and guide was very good! Would do again-- JB Sunrise Tours through Viator was most worthwhile. Would recommend.

M. B
Russian Federation

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent, notwithstanding the pouring rain.
Only one thing, the meeting point: I was waiting outside the designated hotel, while the girl was waiting for me in the lobby... I was about to leave when she finally ran out and located me.
And one more thing: why do you promise "Imperial Palace" as this actually never happens.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

A very interesting morning spent in Kyoto - we got to see lots and thankfully the weather was good. Our tour guide was friendly and spoke excellent English.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It is a great morning trip for a reasonable price if you are only in Kyoto for a day it so. It is difficult up get around without a tour bus around Kyoto

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Imperial Palace was closed and was replaced by a tour to a shrine, Honganji West. English speaking tour guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Good tour. Guide was very good. Bus was comfortable and on time and had convenient hotel pickup. Golden Pavilion was impressive but very crowded. Nijo Castle and the Imperial Palace were also very interesting and less crowded.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The tour guide was very good -- knew a ton about the sites and spoke excellent English. It was a little packed in terms of sites, but I didn't mind the short stops as it was only a half-day tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

The trip was well organized and without unnecessary delays. The only disadvantage was no drop-off service. The trip ended in the middle of nowhere and we had to organize our trip back to the hotel ourselves. The "handcraft center" is a simple shop.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

Splendid!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

This was a very good beginning tour. The guide was very funny and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The guide was very informative. It would have been nice to stay a little longer at each destination. The stop at Imperial Palace was disappointing as far to short, and didn't really see anything.

From USD $ 53.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N270

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message