Viewing All 127 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sarah N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic short tour of Kyoto. Really enjoyed the golden pavilion and nightingale floor.

r_l_ross

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Very good except we wanted to see the Imperial Palace.
Ralph.

Audy L Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The tour covers the must see places. Convenient. Tour guide's English is not very good though. Would be more informative if she speaks better English

K K C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excellent Tour and guide was very good! Would do again-- JB Sunrise Tours through Viator was most worthwhile. Would recommend.

M. B Russian Federation

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent, notwithstanding the pouring rain.
Only one thing, the meeting point: I was waiting outside the designated hotel, while the girl was waiting for me in the lobby... I was about to leave when she finally ran out and located me.
And one more thing: why do you promise "Imperial Palace" as this actually never happens.

Johanna D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

A very interesting morning spent in Kyoto - we got to see lots and thankfully the weather was good. Our tour guide was friendly and spoke excellent English.

Risa M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It is a great morning trip for a reasonable price if you are only in Kyoto for a day it so. It is difficult up get around without a tour bus around Kyoto

Charles Y. N Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Imperial Palace was closed and was replaced by a tour to a shrine, Honganji West. English speaking tour guide was excellent.

Patrick C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Good tour. Guide was very good. Bus was comfortable and on time and had convenient hotel pickup. Golden Pavilion was impressive but very crowded. Nijo Castle and the Imperial Palace were also very interesting and less crowded.

Jeff S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The tour guide was very good -- knew a ton about the sites and spoke excellent English. It was a little packed in terms of sites, but I didn't mind the short stops as it was only a half-day tour.

Lidia R Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

The trip was well organized and without unnecessary delays. The only disadvantage was no drop-off service. The trip ended in the middle of nowhere and we had to organize our trip back to the hotel ourselves. The "handcraft center" is a simple shop.

Caroline L France

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

Splendid!

Scott S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

This was a very good beginning tour. The guide was very funny and helpful.

Ann-Maree F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The guide was very informative. It would have been nice to stay a little longer at each destination. The stop at Imperial Palace was disappointing as far to short, and didn't really see anything.

Alexander L USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

This tour turned out even better than I thought it would be. The guide was very eloquent and had a great sense of humor and I felt that I learned a lot about Japan and the places I was seeing that I would have never known about otherwise, considering I don't speak Japanese. It really helped me appreciate what I was seeing and feel fortunate to be in such an amazing country. Totally worth it! I will always book tours with Viator every time I travel from now on.

Monica P Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Nijo Castle was the highlight. While the grounds of the Imperial Palace were interesting, and probably difficult to do except with a tour group, the level of regimentation necessary to gain access to the palace was excessive.

Sharon B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Great way to get in some of the highlights of Kyoto especially when you first arrive. Efficient and knowledgeable guide who did a good job of hustling the large group through. Be aware that the Imperial Palace is from the outside only. Not for the tourist who wants to leisurely savor each and every site.

Nicole V

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Only booked this tour to see the Imperial Palace, and the tour company did not mention that it was closed that day until after we arrived. Our tour guide was nice but it was very difficult to understand her, and I felt like we could have had the same experience by ourselves- without the inconvenience of waiting for a large group. The tour was well organized, the staff was very nice, and the bus was comfortable.

Marie Annabelle M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Great choice of attractions, but tour was too rushed and had too many people. Good tour guide and convenient meeting area.

Brandon T

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It was okay. Nothing special. Our guide was hard to understand and she should have worn a microphone so everyone could hear her.

Sean K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Difficult to hear guide. Worth tour just to access imperial palace
otherwise give a miss.

Claire R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

There were too many people in our group I think, as we couldn't hear our guide's commentary for most of the day. We were a bit rushed at Nijo Castle and the Golden Pavilion, which were both well worth visiting. The Imperial Palace was okay, but not worth all of the fuss - but if you want to go and see it, you have to be in a group, so this tour's a good way to do it.

Fay P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Was very crowded in the hotel to check in which we didn't find out for quite a while that we had to that and that was inside the hotel foyer we had to go.

Other wise the tour guide was great and the tour was well worth it! Learnt lots of interesting things, and saw a lot of beautiful architecture.

Danielle E

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Our guide was fantastic, but everything was rushed. I didn't feel like I had time to appreciate everything. We would also stop just to take photograph at specific picturesque locations at the sites, but otherwise we were discouraged from taking photos because we were in such a rush, which was very frustrating for me as a photographer. Furthermore, the sites were jam packed with people. Of course, that's not to the fault of Sunrise Tours, but it was still a downer.

Overall, I enjoyed the tour very much, and would recommend it especially because it's hard to go see the imperial palace any other way but I take note that you may not have as much time as you thought you would to enjoy the sites, and they will likely be very busy but that would be true regardless of whether you go on the tour or not.

chickenfriedsteak

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We were very lucky to get into this tour at the last minute. The guide was very happy and helpful and the three sites were very interesting. However we wished we had a little more tim

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 58.22

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N270

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message