4.5 star rating: Recommended 219 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 219 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Amazing! Our Guide, Mickey, was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Excellent tour, sites, and guides, very happy. Everything ran perfectly and we had a great time. The only thing worth noting when booking is that some temples are closed on the weekend which isn't mentioned in the advertisement.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very well organised with clear pick-up information. The tour gave us a great introduction and overview of Kyoto in the comfort of a modern and very clean coach. Our guide was friendly and well informed and explained each aspect of the tour fully with a very clear English accent. On the coach she was informative and included a few amusing stories. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Our guide, Chiko, was outstanding. She knew English well and was prepared with interesting facts and stories about the places we visited. The bus was comfortable and ontime. I am not crazy about the Handicraft Center's selection of crafts but it is an easy place for lunch. Don't miss Nara.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

First time booking a tour on Viator, and I must say it happened just like the description said. The actual tour started out from our hotel and was very pleasant...except for some Europeans who arrived late at every stop it was awesome...Yuki our guide did a fantastic job with tons of good information, her English was excellent...The Nara portion of the trip was super, probably my favorite part. I would highly recommend especially if on a tight time line.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The trip started with 3 very varied places of interest around Kyoto, all guided by very knowledgeable Suzuki-san. Lunch at the Handicraft centre followed, where souvenirs coud be purchased. There followed an hour's journey in the coach to Nara, where other temples and shrines were visited, including the immense Buddha. We were very glad to have chosen this tour, as we had limited tme in Kyoto, and would never have been able to get around so many sites. Very good day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Well organized trip, with pretty friendly tour guide. Pls bring your own drinks, as there is no drinks provided on the coach. And Japan is very very hot now!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Love Kyoto the best. Scenery, people, country. Deer were so cute:) Definitely recommend.]

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

An excellent tour. It was a perfect introduction to Kyoto & Nara.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The tour was very well planned, comprehensive and with very good guides. It is a great way to start the visit to Kyoto and get more familiarized with the city, its history and surroundings.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

We had a wonderful time on this trip and would definitely consider doing another tour soon.

Alana H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Get the best of both worlds Kyoto and Nara!!! A fantastic trip, my highlights were the Golden Palace in Kyoto and the Big Buddha in Nara. Just be mindful read the small print, if you book the trip for a Saturday you miss out on the Imperial Palace in Kyoto.

CORAZON D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Excellent. Our tour guide is very knowledgeable--we can't ask for more. I would highly recommend it to those who have very limited time and want to see popular places in Kyoto and Nara.

Kelly W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Lots of top sites covered in one day and an interesting, highly recommended day trip. Great tour guide with interesting stories along the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide Hiroko was excellent and the tour itself was always in time, included lots to see and I am very happy to visit all those places. The lunch in the handicraft center was brilliant, buffee style with delicious japanese food.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent and easy way to get the best of travel services

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip was well conducted and covered various points of interest. The tour guide was quite informative and I really enjoyed the sights on the tour. It was a wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour guide.

John P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was our first internet tour booking and I was apprehensive, but everything worked perfectly. The hotel pick up was fine, but not the weather. However it cleared as the day progressed and provided some interesting photos opportunities. Our tour guide "Miki" as in "Mickey Mouse" he jovially stated, was informative and humourous, but was also caring and was there to assist me on steep stairs I'm 78 and not as mobile these days. By the time we reached the Golden Pavilion in Nara the weather was clearing and a hazy sun played on this magnificent building, to the delight of the hundreds of photographers there, -many of them young students dressed in kimonos. I have visited many parts of the world, but Japan is very high on my "Must return" list and I would have no hesitation in booking the Viator Kyoto-Nara Tour again, -as well as looking at other Tours elsewhere in Japan.

tls242
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a great tour! My husband and I are very sceptical of organised tours, and usually just travel and do things ourselves. But we only had one day in Kyoto, and from our research we could see that the things we wanted to see were fairly spaced out around the town. Then we saw that viator did a tour to the three main things we wanted to see in kyoto PLUS nara as well! The guide was great! So informative! Knew everything! WE had enough time at all the places. Longer might have been nice - but only about 20 mins longer just so we were a little less rushed - but I would rather hurry along a little and see more than be bored. We stopped for lunch at the Handicraft centre. This place is great for souvenirs! And compared to tokyo prices quite good. Unfortunaley we only had an hour here which included our lunch eating time, so we were rushed. I recommend coming back to this place if you can as there are floors of cool things to buy to go through. If your after typical japanese souvenirs THIS IS THE PLACE! Luch was pretty good, buffet so you can fill up.Just dont expect 5 star food. Its really just a bit of this and a bit of that and pile it on your plate. But tasty none the less. The golden pavillion was amazing! and the budda at todajii was unbelievable! I highly recommend this trip! I have always checked out viators website before travelling for ideas, but this was the first time i have actually booked a tour with them. From now on i think i will book many more tours! Everything was seamless - from pickup to drop off!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip was well organized and professional.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A full day but it hit many key attractions.

Gayle D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Well worth seeing, just beautiful and both guides were very informative and helpful.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A very busy day, but well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Very informative! The tour guide was very friendly and professional.

From USD $ 121.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N110

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message