4.5 star rating: Recommended 168 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 168 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The trip was great. Everything was on time, well organized, informative, and we got to see a good variety of different things. There was even a wonderful free lunch thrown in that we weren't expecting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We arrived at the peak of the cherry blossom season, which was beautiful. It was also the busiest season of the year. There were 3 busloads on our tour and there were other tour operators behind us with busloads. Our guide had the first bus, so we got there first, but he had to move fast so that the busloads behind us didn't over-run us. The photo opportunities were great, with the impressive temples and structures. The cherry blossoms put icing on the cake, but also brought the big crowd of tourists. The guide's English was fairly good. All of the guides we had in our tours in China, Korea and Japan had a good command of English words, but they had trouble pronouncing them and putting them into understandable sentences. One on one, there was no problem, but in a crowd of people, moving fast, you miss a lot. The Kyoto tour was great but the Nara tour was even better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Kyoto and Nara are beautiful places, worth a visit. Nara , a peaceful park full of Deers and lovely gardens too. Lunch was also well served and delicious. We even had enough time to have a coffee and sweets. Well organised and excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Our guide for our trip to Nara was fantastic. If you happen to get Mickey ( as he says, like Mickey Mouse ) you are in for the most informative and entertaining afternoon. He knows his stuff and is very enthusiastic about his country. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We went on the tour in september. There are several stops in the tour. The golden pavillion, imperial palace, nijo castle, nara. You get just enough time at each spot. All interesting in different ways. The tour guide was very nice and always gave clear directions and good explanations on each attraction.
There is no way you could do so much in such a short period of time without doing a tour such as this. Highly recommend if you are short in time in beautiful kyoto.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Amazing! Our Guide, Mickey, was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Excellent tour, sites, and guides, very happy. Everything ran perfectly and we had a great time. The only thing worth noting when booking is that some temples are closed on the weekend which isn't mentioned in the advertisement.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very well organised with clear pick-up information. The tour gave us a great introduction and overview of Kyoto in the comfort of a modern and very clean coach. Our guide was friendly and well informed and explained each aspect of the tour fully with a very clear English accent. On the coach she was informative and included a few amusing stories. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Our guide, Chiko, was outstanding. She knew English well and was prepared with interesting facts and stories about the places we visited. The bus was comfortable and ontime. I am not crazy about the Handicraft Center's selection of crafts but it is an easy place for lunch. Don't miss Nara.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

First time booking a tour on Viator, and I must say it happened just like the description said. The actual tour started out from our hotel and was very pleasant...except for some Europeans who arrived late at every stop it was awesome...Yuki our guide did a fantastic job with tons of good information, her English was excellent...The Nara portion of the trip was super, probably my favorite part. I would highly recommend especially if on a tight time line.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The trip started with 3 very varied places of interest around Kyoto, all guided by very knowledgeable Suzuki-san. Lunch at the Handicraft centre followed, where souvenirs coud be purchased. There followed an hour's journey in the coach to Nara, where other temples and shrines were visited, including the immense Buddha. We were very glad to have chosen this tour, as we had limited tme in Kyoto, and would never have been able to get around so many sites. Very good day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Well organized trip, with pretty friendly tour guide. Pls bring your own drinks, as there is no drinks provided on the coach. And Japan is very very hot now!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Love Kyoto the best. Scenery, people, country. Deer were so cute:) Definitely recommend.]

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

An excellent tour. It was a perfect introduction to Kyoto & Nara.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The tour was very well planned, comprehensive and with very good guides. It is a great way to start the visit to Kyoto and get more familiarized with the city, its history and surroundings.

From USD $ 125.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N110

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message