4.5 star rating: Recommended 200 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 200 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Excellent tour, well planned.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We had a gorgeous sunny and mild day in Kyoto and Nara. The bus ride was comfortable, the logistics were well planned, and the guide was knowledgeable. Worth every penny and well recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was well organized and the guide was super friendly. Would definitely recommend! It was nice to have someone do the planning for us. In Nara, watch the deer closely or else they eat your pocket's item. Fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was great. We got to see the Imperial Palace and a lot of deer! I never knew deer could be so at one with humans. Lots of history and informative. Definitely one to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

This was the best thing we did during our two week stay! The only thing I would do different would be to take a full day to Nara; this was an amazing place and the deer are so incredible! Everyone should take this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

Our guide was fabulous. He was lively, witty, and kept the bus time between stops entertaining with his jokes and informational with his overview of Japanese style. He certainly helped make the tour memorable. We enjoyed every place we visited, and although we would have liked to spend a bit more time at each stop, we realize that this tour was to give us a flavor for Kyoto and Nara. I would, without hesitation, recommend this tour to anybody visiting Japan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

This was a wonderful all-day tour visiting lots of key places. The highlight of the day was the time spent with the adorable deers. I only wish we could've spent more time at Kinkakuji Pavilion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Golden Pavilion is beautiful and Todaiji in Nara is an amazing structure. Lunch was wonderful with terrific variety. Tons of deer in Nara. Our Nara tour guide, however, did not adequately keep the group together or make sure everyone knew what to do when. He disappeared before we exited Todaiji. I've taken many tours, through Viator and others and never had this happen before. We made it back to the bus just fine, however, and I would still recommend the tour in general.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Golden Pavilion is a must-see.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing. We love Kyoto, what a beautiful place.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. We saw the main shrines and temples in the area, plus a lovely Japanese lunch. It was great for those with limited time in Kyoto and Nara as you saw the main attractions. Loved the deer in Nara, they just roamed amongst you and the temples. You could feed them and they would follow anyone with food. Try not to go on a weekend if you can cause that is the busiest time.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Not enough time in the deer park!
Other than this it was pretty good tour. Lots of good locations, but this meant it was sometimes rushed.
Recommend if you have never been to kyoto before.
The tour does not drop back to all hotels, so make sure you ask the guide to help you find a way back!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Kyoto tour was truly entertaining in large part due to our guide. We changed guides for the Nara tour which was good but the guide repeated herself quite a bit.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. It was a great way to see the major sites with my limited time frame. Both the Kyoto and Nara tour guides were friendly, knowledgeable, and entertaining. The only drawback was the deer park in Nara, where I was nipped by the deer. A warning would have been appreciated!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour for 1st time visitors to Kyoto! Everything is all planned out for you and can just enjoy all the places they take you to! Our guide Yuki was very sweet, patient, and knowledgeable. We had a large group in the morning Kyoto trip and a smaller quaint group of 12 in the Nara afternoon group. It was difficult to hear her in the morning group unless you were standing right next to her, but the afternoon tour was nice and personable. Highly recommend this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide named Casey. The Zen Garden and Deer Park were really cool!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was very nice, tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave a lot of details about the sits we visited in that tour, the locations are very interesting and worth to visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guides were both excellent. Knowledgeable and friendly.
The lunch was a disaster. The food very cold. The service very poor.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I loved both the morning and the afternoon tour. You can skip the lunch. Would be better to have a box lunch or have people bring their own. The restaurant was crowded and noisy and a bit of a fire hazard since everyone had a burner at their seat heating the soup, that was 16 separate burners on each table with a live flame and it was on the second floor of an old building. Made me nervous and could not wait for lunch to be over and get on with the tour. It is also a very long day. We were picked up at our hotel at 7:30 and dropped off at 19:30, for a total of 12 hours. If you go, bring your own lunch and sit outside and wait.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour was in two halves - morning was good, guide had excellent English. Lunch was confusing, in a restaurant where none of the staff had any English - a guide should have been there to assist with ordering drinks and sorting out problems.

Afternoon tour was with a different guide (why? our first guide did the same tour but on a different bus).

Overall a good day, could have been better

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Its a good trip, didnt like the lunch place. But everything else was good

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Japanese castles are always worth a visit and this was no exception.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Morning Kyoto tour was average, a bit rushed. But the afternoon Nara trip was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

For anyone vacationing in Japan, doing a tour of Kyoto and Nara is a must. Viator surely had programmed a nice itinerary as we went thru the beautiful historic sights and expertly described by competent tourist guides.
Both morning and afternoon tours were fantastic. Good value while adding memorable experiences.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Tour was great! Sites were beautiful and the deer park was lot different then expected. We fed them and they just kept wanting more and more. When the food ran out they started eating my clothes!! Crazy!! We weren't fans of lunch and we were travelling with our baby, they had no chairs for him and the restaurant was jam packed with people with no space to walk. Lunch was minor though we had a great day!

From USD $ 121.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N110

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message