4.5 star rating: Recommended 220 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 220 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Very informative! The tour guide was very friendly and professional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This is a great tour of Kyoto and Nara. It was an amazing experience that I recommend to anyone that visits Japan.

Janette S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

This was an exceptionally good trip. The guide was fabulous, the included buffet lunch was terrific, and I enjoyed all the sites we visited. It was great value for money and I would choose Viator for my next tour.

Patricia J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very interesting and well-organised tour. Saw and learned a lot. Fabulous monuments and an insight into the culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

A great, event-filled day that hits a variety of sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The tour guide spoke very good English and answered questions. Well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Fantastic! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and she managed to explain all the necessary details very well. The lunch at the Handicraft Centre was equally great. The only problem was that we were not given sufficient time to explore Kinkakuji better but that's understandable as we had a very tight schedule to follow. Other than this minor problem, the tour is top-notch! Well done Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Excellent tour, well planned.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We had a gorgeous sunny and mild day in Kyoto and Nara. The bus ride was comfortable, the logistics were well planned, and the guide was knowledgeable. Worth every penny and well recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was well organized and the guide was super friendly. Would definitely recommend! It was nice to have someone do the planning for us. In Nara, watch the deer closely or else they eat your pocket's item. Fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was great. We got to see the Imperial Palace and a lot of deer! I never knew deer could be so at one with humans. Lots of history and informative. Definitely one to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

This was the best thing we did during our two week stay! The only thing I would do different would be to take a full day to Nara; this was an amazing place and the deer are so incredible! Everyone should take this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

Our guide was fabulous. He was lively, witty, and kept the bus time between stops entertaining with his jokes and informational with his overview of Japanese style. He certainly helped make the tour memorable. We enjoyed every place we visited, and although we would have liked to spend a bit more time at each stop, we realize that this tour was to give us a flavor for Kyoto and Nara. I would, without hesitation, recommend this tour to anybody visiting Japan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

This was a wonderful all-day tour visiting lots of key places. The highlight of the day was the time spent with the adorable deers. I only wish we could've spent more time at Kinkakuji Pavilion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Golden Pavilion is beautiful and Todaiji in Nara is an amazing structure. Lunch was wonderful with terrific variety. Tons of deer in Nara. Our Nara tour guide, however, did not adequately keep the group together or make sure everyone knew what to do when. He disappeared before we exited Todaiji. I've taken many tours, through Viator and others and never had this happen before. We made it back to the bus just fine, however, and I would still recommend the tour in general.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Golden Pavilion is a must-see.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

You guys initially gave me a shock because you did not give the specific name of the tour operator in Kyoto and in Hawaii but when we got that sorted out the tour was fantastic. The tour guides were excellent. Timing was perfect. Food was good. We cannot find ant negative except for the name of the operator. Will seek your service again when we travel. Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyable day out - the trip to Nara was fabulous - loved the shrine out there.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was funny, the lunch was good, and my kids enjoyed feeding the deer in Nara. It was a good highlight tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Guides informative. Lunch so so. In a small restaurant (1floor Ok with some decor, and looked like a small bistro) but we were shuffled upstairs to long cafeteria tables with a few other bus tours. Nara trip better than morning tour within Kyoto (could be DIY). Nara better if cut the shopping part

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tours take in the major sights of Kyoto in the morning and Nara in the afternoon. There isn't much time at each stop but that is understandable given the number of places on the itinerary. I was expecting a whistle-stop tour but I didn't feel particularly rushed anywhere. The tour guide was excellent I had the same guide for the morning and afternoon tours and had lots of anecdotes about Japanese history, which may or may not have been true, but which made things interesting. The only real downside and it was a huge disappointment was lunch. It was in some sort of British Pub-esque restaurant, clearly used by lots of tours as everyone was crammed in with little room. The vegetarian option was completely tasteless the soup was basically tofu and vegetables in water, with no stock / seasoning and not at all like the Japanese food I'd experienced elsewhere. I wasn't expecting a gourmet lunch but I was expecting some authenticity. That said, I would recommend the tour as a convenient way to cover the major sights - which are quite some distance apart even within Kyoto - and, given that they are always going to be full of tourists, it is probably easier to navigate them as part of a group.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall the trip was worth the money. The tour guide was a little hard to understand and the group was rather large. 30 people. In May School children go on tours so it is pretty crowded. The sites were well chosen.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

What a great day! There are 3 options with this company: morning, afternoon or full day tour. If you are pressed for time, I would definitely recommend the afternoon tour to Nara. The highlight was definitely the Todai-ji temple complex - the Great Buddha Hall is astonishing!
Take the opportunity to feed the wild deer whilst at Nara too!
The tour only received 4 stars due to the large group involved 43 - for the morning's first few sites, it was extremely hard to hear and the addition of headsets would resolve this.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing. We love Kyoto, what a beautiful place.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great.

From USD $ 121.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N110

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message