4.5 star rating: Recommended 108 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Trip was very good, but I would prefer to spend more time in Kasuga Shrine.

Sarah T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Insightful, detailed and well run tour.

Teresa L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

tour was good but guide was a bit annoying - a bit too personal and intrusive

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Enjoyed the tour to Nara. Tour guide was informative with in depth historical facts.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

It was convenient with the bus as that day was raining. However, the tour guide could have been more approachable and interactive with us. She didn't stand up and look at us when she introduced us the places while on the bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very good 3-point stops to get a view of Nara if you have no time.

Bruce M
Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This is a good way to visit the Todaiji Temple from Kyoto. Our visit to the Kasuga Shrine was rushed however, and it would have been nice to have at least half an hour in Nara itself!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

It was great even though it down-poured on us.

Pauline T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This was a great trip to see a different side to Kyoto. The tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The Todaiji is definitely worth of a trip.

Margaret T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Our tour to Nara was very good, and the the visit to the Kasuga Shrine was a highlight despite the many thousands of school children who were visiting. Our tour guide was very informative and took time to make sure we could all hear his commentary. We especially liked the deer wandering around the park in the Todaiji Park. What a beautiful spot!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Nara was a fun side trip. The deer are very friendly but a few are aggressive when they know you have food. If you are spending a few days in Kyoto, I would definitely recommend an afternoon to Nara.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

This tour included much more than was mentioned in the brochure!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

It was an interesting tour but we had some difficulty understanding the guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Nara is worth seeing and only takes an afternoon. Great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Both driver and tour guide were very polite and considerate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Worth doing only for the Buddha statue of Todaiiji temple!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We were at the back of the bus and could not hear the guide. We and then another couple asked him to speak louder but he never did. We took a tour to become informed about Japan and specifically Nara but this didn't happen.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour itself was excellent. Our issue was with the guide whose English accent was so bad that you could only understand about every 10th word. He was very charming and I'm sure knowledgeable, we just couldn't understand much of what he said. We were hoping he would not be our guide the following day for the all-day tour of Kyoto. Unfortunately he was our guide for the afternoon portion and repeated himself as well as being difficult to understand.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Positives:
- The sites you visit are great and I'm glad I got to see them.
- The tour leader was nice and informative

Negatives:
- 1 hour bus ride from Kyoto to Nara and it felt like we spent more time on the bus than we did at the sites.
- the last stop was 15 minutes at a souvenir shop which I felt was unneccessary.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A good way to get to see another part of Japan.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Interesting tour, not too short and not too long. Great tour to do in the afternoon.
(You get to play with deers :-) )

Geetha J
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

A good tour. I would have preferred to go by ourselves if not for a 1.5 year old. The train connectivity is pretty good and you don't have to spend half the time in the bus. I would recommend to do this on your own. Parents with kids - not all locations are Pram Friendly.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Wish the tour guide was as good as the one we had with Hato Bus tour in Tokyo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The tour was easily booked and I appreciate using Viatour. Tour departure time was prompt and the bus and guide were properly attired and pleasant. My only gripe is that the tour, which departed at 2:00PM should have departed at 1:00PM to give us one more hour in Nara. The time at the sites in Nara was too short and I felt rushed. These are truly interesting historic sites and they deserve more than what I felt was rather a dust over.

From USD $ 62.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N310

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message