4.5 star rating: Recommended 95 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 95 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Margaret T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Our tour to Nara was very good, and the the visit to the Kasuga Shrine was a highlight despite the many thousands of school children who were visiting. Our tour guide was very informative and took time to make sure we could all hear his commentary. We especially liked the deer wandering around the park in the Todaiji Park. What a beautiful spot!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Nara was a fun side trip. The deer are very friendly but a few are aggressive when they know you have food. If you are spending a few days in Kyoto, I would definitely recommend an afternoon to Nara.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

This tour included much more than was mentioned in the brochure!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

It was an interesting tour but we had some difficulty understanding the guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Nara is worth seeing and only takes an afternoon. Great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Both driver and tour guide were very polite and considerate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We were at the back of the bus and could not hear the guide. We and then another couple asked him to speak louder but he never did. We took a tour to become informed about Japan and specifically Nara but this didn't happen.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour itself was excellent. Our issue was with the guide whose English accent was so bad that you could only understand about every 10th word. He was very charming and I'm sure knowledgeable, we just couldn't understand much of what he said. We were hoping he would not be our guide the following day for the all-day tour of Kyoto. Unfortunately he was our guide for the afternoon portion and repeated himself as well as being difficult to understand.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Positives:
- The sites you visit are great and I'm glad I got to see them.
- The tour leader was nice and informative

Negatives:
- 1 hour bus ride from Kyoto to Nara and it felt like we spent more time on the bus than we did at the sites.
- the last stop was 15 minutes at a souvenir shop which I felt was unneccessary.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A good way to get to see another part of Japan.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Interesting tour, not too short and not too long. Great tour to do in the afternoon.
(You get to play with deers :-) )

Geetha J
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

A good tour. I would have preferred to go by ourselves if not for a 1.5 year old. The train connectivity is pretty good and you don't have to spend half the time in the bus. I would recommend to do this on your own. Parents with kids - not all locations are Pram Friendly.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Whist the temple is beautiful, it is has become a tourist trap. You travel an hour on the bus, to spend one hour at the temple before boarding the bus to come back again.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

If you are interested in visiting Nara, its an ok tour to try it. You do get a chance to see the mentioned tourist attractions. But it also depends what you want to get out of this tour.

So, fyi, Viator is a reseller of tours. The guides English (Mr.Yoshi) was not good. It was very difficult to understand him, and he spoke to fast to make things challenging. Seems like his interest was in cracking jokes and did not talk much about historical details.

The sites are interesting, and were packed with people. There is not enough time to cover the sites and have a few min for shopping. I wish that they would add probably an hour to the tour. I think they provided a good tour just need to have a better guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

We sow some very nice places. Unfortunately the tour guide was very hard to understand.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

We were in Kamakura and saw the Buddha there, and this trip was not as good as the trip to Kamakura.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

The bus had a compromised air conditioning system on a day where it hit the high 90sF with humidity in the high 90s. We enjoyed Todaiji and Kasuga and personally, the paths around Deer Park had way too many deer droppings for us to pleasantly enjoy the animals on an extremely hot and humid day. The content of the tour was OK, we couldn't hear her half the time. It would have been nice to receive some of the cultural background on each of the sights inside the bus where we could hear better. Overall, it was OK. Very rushed but the sites were beautiful.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

Wasn't memorable.

Monica P
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2007

The Todaiji and Kasuga Shrine were interesting, and the tour guides comments helped us understand the background and meaning of some features. But it's difficult to avoid the fact that a significant proportion of the total tour time was sitting on the bus, despite the interesting information being passed on by the guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2007

It's too short. I recommend to have more places in Nara or have a one day trip to Nara and Toda JI Temple.

From USD $ 62.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142KYO_N310

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message