Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 46 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Windermere, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 46 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Loved the tour, guide was super, very informative, tour . Vans need air condtioning and decent sound systems, people at the back could not hear or get fresh air.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fantastic! Every aspect of this trip was great - from journey, boat trip to tour around Beatrix Potter's home - brill! Would definitely recommend this. Seemed to fit a myriad of wonders in to the few hours given - but didn't feel at all rushed! Super!

Judith M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

An excellent excursion and a very good guide. I really enjoyed the afternoon visit to the Beatrix Potter House, the cruise on the lake and the visits to the beautiful villages. Our guide was friendly and very knowledgeable about the Lakes District.

Kevin V
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I enjoyed the tour immensely. Mountain Goat provided a wonderful service, with a driverguide whos' knowledge of the Lakes District reflected many years of personal experience and a genuine affection for the area. The trip included many highlights within a remakably convenient perid of time, and all connected by drives through scenic countryside and picturesque villages. A delight from beginning to end. Thank you.

Stephen M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic! The bus was excellent and the ride superb. The detailed knowledge of the area by our driver and guide made the day for us. Thoroughly enjoyed the day and would make a hasty return.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I have used Viator for a few years and have always been pleased with the level of service. I have recommended your website to other people, and they have had equally excellent results from your company. Thanks for all you do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

We loved the beauty of the lake tour, and our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We had a great time. We were happy it did not rain!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A great tour. Went to small villages and along roads that I did not have on my map, so saw lots you would not normally see. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable on geography but did not really seam very interested in Beatrix Potter except for going to Hilltop Farm. Still a great trip, but you may be a little disappointed if wanting more Beatrix Potter and Miss Potter film locations pointed out to you. The company changed the day of our trip with out any hassles and picked us up and dropped us off at our B and B.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The perfect tour for the Lake District. Slow paced and interesting, I give this one VERY high marks!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Knowledgable and pleasant driver Peter made the tour interesting and easy. Nice length of time for that tour. Would like to have had a little more time in the village to see related buildings. You can't go wrong choosing this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Most enjoyable tour--
Was longer than I thought it would be.
Worth the cost.
Don't bother going into Potter's cottage.
Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead is worth the time and nominal cost.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great! Our tour guide was friendly and informative. I would have appreciated a bit more time at Hilltop and Hawkshead, instead of the Coniston Water Cruise, but otherwise - wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Did the tour in winter which meant the itinerary was changed. No mention of this when booking, but cruise on different lake and Beatrix potter house not open. It was still a good tour but wish I knew the real itinerary before hand as I ended up repeating other things I had done. Some amazing country

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was able to add more people at last minute notice, he's friendly n funny at times, we enjoy the trip, nice scenery :)

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

TOny was excellent. He did the best with what he had. Unfortunately Hill top and the Beatrix potter galleries were both closed on the day we toured (They are closed every Friday). We would have changed for the ten lakes, high mountain for Friday and done Beatrix Potter on Sat or Sunday since we did three different trips with Viator

From USD $ 47.49

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3395BEA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message