• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 33 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Windermere, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 33 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The perfect tour for the Lake District. Slow paced and interesting, I give this one VERY high marks!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Did the tour in winter which meant the itinerary was changed. No mention of this when booking, but cruise on different lake and Beatrix potter house not open. It was still a good tour but wish I knew the real itinerary before hand as I ended up repeating other things I had done. Some amazing country

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was able to add more people at last minute notice, he's friendly n funny at times, we enjoy the trip, nice scenery :)

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

TOny was excellent. He did the best with what he had. Unfortunately Hill top and the Beatrix potter galleries were both closed on the day we toured (They are closed every Friday). We would have changed for the ten lakes, high mountain for Friday and done Beatrix Potter on Sat or Sunday since we did three different trips with Viator

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Excellent itinerary spoiled by poor a-c in bus on very hot day. Very knowledgeable guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

I went on the trip with my mother and she really enjoyed it. Our guide was really nice and informative. We didn't go into Hilltop but the garden was good enough for me, and mum went into the Beatrix Potter Gallery in the village we stopped in. It is a good way to see a bit more of the Lake District if you don't have a car.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This was a very enjoyable tour, despite the early rain. The information given by our driver was really interesting, and helpful for those of us who had only that one day in the Lake District. The visit to Hill Top Cottage was diminished somewhat by the large crowd. I would recommend the tour to potential visitors to the UK.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Good trip in spite of the weather. Guide was helpful in several ways but a bit thin at times on information.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

A lovely short tour with some very pretty stops. We greatly appreciated the hotel pick-up in Ambleside. We were slightly disappointed to miss out on our pre-paid cream tea due to the time constraints imposed by a lengthy wait for serveral "no-shows" who were meant to be waiting at the Windemere train station. This is such a beautiful area, I would recommend an all day tour if time permits, but if not, this "capsule" tour is a good choice.

Ruth H
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Everything went as planned and met allmy expectations.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Very nice tour taking you to most of Beatrix's sites, but unfortunately you have to pay extra for a lot of things--her house, the gallery--and do them in your own time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Our tour was impacted by the terrible rain we had so a lot of the tour was somewhat washed out, even though they did cover everything they promised, it was quite disappointing for a few reasons. The tour director we had did not have a working microphone so if you were not sitting up front with him you could not hear the limited commentary he did supply. We took a boat cruise on lake Coniston, it was so foggy and raining, you could not see anything. In good weather this would have been a very good tour and while the weather was terrible the tour guide did not contribute much to this day. I do think they are a good company because they did cover all of the lakes thoroughly but certainly the guides need a louder microphone and when the weather is not conducive they should offer a different day or a money back offer.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The weather unfortunately was miserable and spoilt what should have been a splendid tour . The guide was very good and certainly did his best in the circumstances but Hilltop was dark inside due to the rain which also limited viewing the gardens and village nearby. On any sunny day,Windermere and surrounding areas would be lovely. The rain did it no favours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Not much to see. The boat trip is not a cruise but it's like a shuttle boat droping people off along the way.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Our tour guide Bob was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We appreciated his willingness to answer questions and share information.

Going to Hawkshead and seeing Hill Top Farm was a good experience. However, We felt the boat trip on Coniston Lake was a waste of time since people were crowded onto the boat and the acoustics were so poor. We could not hear a word the boat guide was saying. That was a disappointment. The audio equipment needs to be improved and fewer people should be on the boat.

On the whole I think the only thing really provided was transportation to the sites.

From USD $ 49.22

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3395BEA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message