Insider's Guide to Lake District

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 150 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Windermere, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ten Lakes Spectacular to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 150 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our guide was Jim and he was very knowledgeable about the area. We had a wonderful day even though the weather wasn't brilliant.
We were in the lake district without our car and needed to see the area. I am glad we left our car behind as we wouldn't have seen so much. Thanks Jim and viator

Kevin
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Enjoyed our tour of the lakes and mountains

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

What a wonderful way to see the highlights of the Lake District! Our guide was interesting, informative and an excellent driver. Considering some of the narrow 'sheep paths' and hedge rows the driving is best left to this company! We only had two days in this area, but this tour made the best use of one, then we had the second to supplement the tour. A great dollar value!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This wonderful tour is perfect on a nice day. We were lucky with no rain and I would not drive and be able to see the wonderful views on winding, narrow and sometimes very steep roads. Take extra camera batteries, there are lots of picture opportunities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Gorgeous, gorgeous scenery! I loved the passes, the meres, the slate mine, the boat ride on Ullswater! Our guide was so gregarious and knowledgeable. Because I am a language and literature major, I appreciated his explanation of the Viking origin of so many of the place names, the detour he asked our coach to take so I could see Wordsworth's house, even his explanation of the sorts of sheep we were seeing. The day flew by. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Wonderful experience. Driver/tour guide was very informative and familiar with the area and made the journey enjoyable. Good value for money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent visitor experience. As an amateur photographer, I would want to have a few more photo stops, particularly at the points where the panoramic scenery was so beautiful from the tour bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Well worthwhile and well planned. Boat trip was an excellent break from travelling by road. Good weather helped!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Really enjoyed this trip. A very comprehensive tour of many of the lakes in the Lake District. The driver was excellent, a mine of information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

An excellent day. The driver helped make it more special (TONY) he cheered us up on a very very wet day.I don't think we have ever seen so much rain. However we loved the trip thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

An excellent day. The driver (Tony) helped make it more special. He cheered us up on a very, very wet day. I don't think we have ever seen so much rain. However we loved the trip thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The ideal way to see the area, good informed information from the driver, photographers considered e.g. stopping at beauty spots.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

An excellent trip with a very informative guide. An excellent driver. Fantastic scenery - just a shame about the weather! Thank you.

Robert R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We have taken many Viator tours in the past, all of which we have enjoyed, but this one would be one of the very best. The tour guide, Peter Walker, was exceptional because of his extensive knowledge of the area and his personal approach to ensure we enjoyed every minute. The day was long but it was worth getting up very early for the three hour plus train trip to Windermere where Peter was waiting right outside the station. We highly recommend this tour. Audrey and Bob Rogers Perth West Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

My husband and I took this tour on our 9th wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the breathtaking mountain views and lake cruise. Our tour guide was knowlegleable, personable, and went out of his way to make our tour enjoyable. I would recommend this tour to anyone in a heartbeat!

From USD $ 67.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3395TEN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message