4.5 star rating: Recommended 82 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Lake Tahoe, Nevada
  • Duration:2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 82 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

It was a pleasant tour. Enjoyed cruize ride with drinks. Scenary is very nice and must watch when you are in Lake Tahoe. Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Peacefull. Fun. Enjoyable

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Relaxing. Entertaining with "mark twain". Not overcrowded Very pleasant trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great trip . Would do it again in a heart beat

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Beautiful boat ride. Scenery was fantastic .Thought we booked the ride and a free lunch. We mentioned it to the boss, I can't remember his name, a great guy, and he gave us lunch free. A very enjoyable day. Oh....We thought we left with plenty of time to get there, but it took us about 45 min. just to turn into the parking lot which cost $8 per car. Emerald Bay is a busy place. Take the shuttle or leave extra early.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Quite enjoyable but . . . I thought it was Mark Twain interactive on Saturdays???? Waiters were overwhelmed, but kept their smiles in place. An annoyance was one person who thought he was exempt from the NO smoking policy!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was a beautiful day. We couldn't hear the speakers so missed out on a lot of the history. Otherwise, it was a nice cruise.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

My husband and I fully enoyed our cruise on the M.S. Dixie II. It provided a breathtaking and memorable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise! Some of us couldn't hear the information over the PA system. My party of four would recommend this cruise to other family and friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Disappointed in conditions on the boat

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The cruise was beautiful and we all had a good time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Very nice and worth doing, but I thought that it could have been more peaceful and relaxing if the "announcer" would have kept quiet for awhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The tour was very nice. Plenty of seating and a great way to see Lake Tahoe and Emerald Bay from the water.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Beautiful weather, a little crowded but definitely worth it. Easy to book online.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

The cruise was very enjoyable and comfortable and the scenery was beautiful. The picture taken prior to boarding the ship was very good and we purchased it at the end of the cruise. I would recommend this cruise to anyone.

Tim S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Beautiful day in October, lovely setting, canned commentary but interesting nonetheless. The best way to see the lower portion of the lake by far.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Too long. Speakers on the boat worked intermittently. Best part of the excursion was Emerald Bay.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was lovely, I wish that the speakers on the lower deck were better because so many people war talking you couldn't hear much unless you moved to another level.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The weather was awful... not their fault!! I enjoyed the food and drinks and the staff was very friendly. I think it would have been nice for staff to walk around and ask how we were doing.. we had plates that needed to be removed. I couldn't really hear the tour even though the boat was not full weather I am sure. I can't imagine hearing it when it's a packed tour. I wish they offered head phones for those that would have liked them.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The views were spectacular and really enjoyed the DJ/tour guide talk. For the price, we felt the tour should have been longer.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The MS Dixie 2 was comfortable and the ride was smooth but not too slow. Ample bathrooms and available food and beverages as well. Inside covered area for those wanting to avoid being outside and lots of top deck area to see the sites. Our guide was knowledgable and even funny. Sadly, he had a guitar and sang. The guitar playing was decent, but his singing was awful. I thought it was a joke at first, but seriously he sang a lot and it was bad. Overall worth doing and Lake Tahoe is a must see place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Decks were congested, on board prices for food and drink were high, narration about trip was very hard to hear while on upper deck. Staff was friendly and courteous.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

it was everything that they said it would be

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

This trip is nothing special. We sat up on deck and could not hear anything except Mark Twain talking!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

The food was ok, not great. The trip is fairly long overall. The commentator was a nice touch, but his corny "schtick" got old after two hours.

From USD $ 51.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 253501

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message