4.5 star rating: Recommended 73 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Lake Tahoe, Nevada
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 73 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

My husband and I fully enoyed our cruise on the M.S. Dixie II. It provided a breathtaking and memorable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise! Some of us couldn't hear the information over the PA system. My party of four would recommend this cruise to other family and friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Disappointed in conditions on the boat

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The cruise was beautiful and we all had a good time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Very nice and worth doing, but I thought that it could have been more peaceful and relaxing if the "announcer" would have kept quiet for awhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The tour was very nice. Plenty of seating and a great way to see Lake Tahoe and Emerald Bay from the water.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Beautiful weather, a little crowded but definitely worth it. Easy to book online.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

The cruise was very enjoyable and comfortable and the scenery was beautiful. The picture taken prior to boarding the ship was very good and we purchased it at the end of the cruise. I would recommend this cruise to anyone.

Tim S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Beautiful day in October, lovely setting, canned commentary but interesting nonetheless. The best way to see the lower portion of the lake by far.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The views were spectacular and really enjoyed the DJ/tour guide talk. For the price, we felt the tour should have been longer.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The MS Dixie 2 was comfortable and the ride was smooth but not too slow. Ample bathrooms and available food and beverages as well. Inside covered area for those wanting to avoid being outside and lots of top deck area to see the sites. Our guide was knowledgable and even funny. Sadly, he had a guitar and sang. The guitar playing was decent, but his singing was awful. I thought it was a joke at first, but seriously he sang a lot and it was bad. Overall worth doing and Lake Tahoe is a must see place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Decks were congested, on board prices for food and drink were high, narration about trip was very hard to hear while on upper deck. Staff was friendly and courteous.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

it was everything that they said it would be

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

This trip is nothing special. We sat up on deck and could not hear anything except Mark Twain talking!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

The food was ok, not great. The trip is fairly long overall. The commentator was a nice touch, but his corny "schtick" got old after two hours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

I was very disappointed. A video was to be shown on the treasures underwater on lake Tahoe and it never happened. It was simply a cruise across the lake

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The captains stories/information was great. Was disappointed the ride was one direction and back. I thought the boat ride would go along the shore areas of the lake.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Weather was great for cruise but going from Zephyr Cove directly across the southern part of Lake Tahoe to Emerald Bay was long - both ways. You can only see things on the shore line from a distance. Emarald Bay was nice to see but not that spectacular - worth seeing though. Some speakers outside on the bow and stern were not working and the narration could not be heard. Mark Twain (dressed character) was informative - best part of the cruise in myu opinion.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

The trip was a big let down. Only sailing across the lake to the bay. You need a cruise around the lake telling about all the lake history. No recommendations from me to anyone for this cruise.

many recommendations for Viator who horned tickets the second day. many thanks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

The film shown could have been shown on larger TV screens. We watched it on a thirteen inch screen. There were also not enough sitting areas on deck.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Your website AND our tickets said our tour was at 12:00. We arrived at 11:30 only to be told the boat already sailed. Apparently you sent us an email the day before telling us of the time change but since we were in an area where we did not have cellphone coverage we did not get it nor could we call to confirm. The cruise company told us they did not have a 12:00 cruise so it seems you should have had amble time to correct your mistake. From now on I will find a more reliable site to buy my tickets.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

Lake Tahoe was beautiful. The cruise however was very disappointing. NOT WORTH $47.50.
Even if I had paid $20 I would have felt ripped off.
Had to pay additional $8 for parking. Could not hear narration on deck due to old speaker system. Trip consisted of going across lake into Emerald Bay, seeing mansion and going back . A drive around the lake including Emerald Bay would have been more satisfying not to mention much cheaper!!!!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

When I went to check in they said I wasn't registered to take a cruise. I paid in advance and got nothing.

From USD $ 51.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 253501

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message