4 star rating: Recommended 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Langkawi, Malaysia
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Langkawi Cable Car Ride and Oriental Village Morning Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hassan M
Pakistan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

It was once again a good experience with Viator.

FRITZIE D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Absolutely breathtaking once you are on the cable car. That is definitely the highlight of this tour. It was great!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The ride itself was amazing, and we were lucky to have timed it so that we rose through the early morning mist into brilliant sunshine at the top.
However, our hotel the Berjaya, was only 10 minutes walk away from the cable car, so hotel pick up was not worth paying for.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Was ok but sky bridge was closed for repairs so was not worth the price paid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Excellent view of the area! However, the bridge was closed. That should have been mention to us before and we should not have paid full price for something that wasn't included.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We were collected from the hotel by taxi and continued to the cable car,the cable car should not be missed

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

A bit cloudy on our cable car ride, but still worth it. Nice to get a good overall view of the island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Good Tour but it was extremely busy and the wait was very long to even get onto the cable car. There is an express Lane and with the limited time we had, it would have been nice to have the option of upgrading to "Express".

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Bad weather, low cloud cover, no visibility-but a very spooky atmosphere which made it enjoyable

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Just like a taxi ! Hotel- cable car stn.
Member is only me.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Viator side of things were absolutely great! However, we had 3 different people from the actual tour company confirming that our pickup time. All saying different times. Once picked up at 10am, our "guide" literally said nothing the whole entire drive. Only when prompted would he respond, generally with 1 or 2 words. When we finally got to the Cable Car Oriental Village, he just pointed to where we should be going. I asked him for more information and he just gave us the two coupons basically. I would suggest that such a professional outfit such as Viator change local tour provider. Just some feedback that I know you would appreciated. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need anything else.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

There was miscommunication as we arrived on a Saturday night and the company wasn't open on the Sunday to discuss that we didn't need a shuttle as we were just staying down the road from the cable car. On the day of the tour we walked to the cable car and rang the company when they were open and explained that we were waiting there for the rest of the tour. She said the tour company has left a message with our hotel but we never got it. Regardless, when the tour man arrived he shook our hands, brought two tickets for the cable car and left. This was given to us as a honeymoon gift and was definitely not worth the money paid for it- over $100- Even if we did end up catching the shuttle.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Our guide was no more than a taxi ride to the cable car. We weren't given express tickets so had to queue for ages with all the locals. Would have been better off doing this ourselves

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

May as well get a taxi.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This was not a tour! He simply drove us there,bought our tickets and left.. We also had to pay extra for coming to the Andaman resort. We could of easily got a driver if we needed one.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Tour guide left us at entrance with the tickets, did not explain anything, and the waiting time to enter the cable car was 1 hour.

Ian H
Singapore

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I feel I am misleading readers by giving this trip one-star. It is an absolutely scam and a total rip off.

Where it went wrong:

1)The “tour guides” turned up 30minutes late and then stated that as it was a holiday the queues would be very long when we reached the cable car.
2)The van we had booked for our party had broken down so we had two beat-up small saloon cars with bad air-con.
3)The “tour guides” spoke very little English and did not provide any useful information in the 20 minute drive across Langkawi. Even when I requested some commentary or asked questions they were met with monosyllabic replies. When I complained that they were effectively local drivers rather than the “advertised tour guides” it was too hard to surmount the language barrier.
4)You then get dumped at the (long) queue for the cable car by the drivers who then advise that for another USD20 each you can get a VIP pass and avoid the queue, They then disappear with the money and miraculously soon you have some badges which allow you past the locals.
5)You then are told what time your driver will take you (again silently) back to the hotel.

Everyone should avoid this tour like the plague and I’m very disappointed with Viator as my previous experiences have all been very positive.

Anwar Kamal S
Saudi Arabia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

We were expecting something better. The tour guide was actuall a local driver with a very little abiltiy to talk English. In fact there was no tour guide because the drive left us alone from the parking. He was not even wearing safety belt during driving and when asked, he said not needed?? (strange traffic rules in Langkawi).Due to bad weather nothing was visible at the top. Infact we spent more time in the transitiional stop because nobody told us that there was one more upward drive ffor cable car. The driver asked us to come within 1 hour and we finished whole tour in just two hours. In our way back to hotel, he stopped us at wrong KFC which was too far from our hotel (Wstin).We asked him to stop the one at jetty point. It was a total disappointing tour by all means in Langkawi which have lots of fun and attractions otherwise

Nicole F
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

Disappointing- weather not suitable for cable car, so driver took us to other sites we had already visited or were not interested in. No refund offered.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2007

The oriental village is a manufactured "village" with a main purpose to trap tourists with expensive and repetitive knick-knacks and souvenirs. The cable car is not guaranteed to go up the mountain - sometimes the wind is too strong. So be prepared to sit around and wait to see if it will go or not.

From USD $ 67.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705LGK15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message