5 star rating: Highly Recommended 175 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The bus picked us up at our hotel shortly after 6am and following a few other stops at hotels on the Strip, we headed to Henderson airfield. There is a small coffee shop at the airfield, however the selection was limited. The plane journey from Henderson to the Canyon was OK - you get a far off view of the Hoover dam, and see the Colorado river, however the front seat helicopter ride we got when at the Canyon was truly breathtaking and definitely the highlight. We were given approximately an hour to spend at Angel Lodge drop off so got to eat our packed lunch in front of breathtaking scenery. The bus then picked the whole group up and dropped those who weren't doing the helicopter at another lookout, but for those doing the helicopter, we couldn't get out. Would have been nice to have spent a little time at this location, but we had to head back to Canyon airfield to catch the helicopter ride. You are not allowed any bags on the helicopter and these can be left behind the reception desk (they aren't secured or locked away so we decided to take anything important out). Our pilot B.J was very informative and fun for the journey. We bought the souvenir picture when we got back as its a cool memento of our trip. You are able to take as many pictures and video recordings as you like on the trip and our pilot was happy to answer any questions we had. It was our first experience of a helicopter and it will definitely be hard to beat. Would highly recommend the helicopter add on to this trip as although the walk around was lovely, it doesn't give you anywhere like the experience the helicopter offers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From the pick-up to the drop-off everything about this tour was professional and well organised. The pilots were very friendly, the guide was first rate and the flight was an excellent experience. The views from the aircraft on the flight out and the return, were incredible. The two viewing points were breath-taking. I would confidently recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The organization of this tour was very well done! The staff was very nice and did everthing to satisfy their guests. The travel is worth the money! Clear recommendation. Thumbs up

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great experience, all the trip was awesome and perfect timing, everybody was so nice, punctual and kind. i highly recommend this company (maverick)!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a excellent trip with Maverick! First, we arrived at the South Rim and boarded a trolley for a narrated ride to the park. Our guide was Bruce. He is knowledgeable and funny. It was a beautiful day to sit outside and have lunch. We then rode the trolley back to the airport for our helicopter ride across the canyon. It was an amazing view of the canyon. Thank you so much for an awesome day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My new husband and I took this tour while on honeymoon and it fulfilled a lifelong dream! The whole experience was well worth it and gave us a well rounded experience of the canyon. What a spectacular place - it is just a shame we did not have longer to spend there! I would highly recommend this tour if you want to experience the beauty of being right in the canyon. amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This trip was definitely worth it! The flight to the Grand Canyon was great, our pilots were fun and even allowed us to come to the front to take photos. Once we landed, we were taken to the park and provided a very filling boxed-lunch. We ate along the rim and took in the gorgeous landscape. We visited both lookout points and had enough time to see the canyon from different vantage points.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was amazing and well worth doing. The staff, pilots, tour guide were all friendly and informative. The only caution I would give is to those individuals who do not like flying as the plane is small. If the weather is not good it could mean that you feel the plane shudder and shake more than you would on a large flight. I personally enjoyed the whole experience. Finally, don't forget to take layers of clothes as it is cooler in the Grand Canyon than Las Vegas.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous!
We did the heli trip as well and highly recommend.
Would have liked a little more time to wander around the rim and we were a little disappointed that although we had booked months in advance a guy who decided 10 mins before we left, got a front seat on the helicopter and my husband, who would have been the same weight etc, was put in the back. it should be first in basis.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our whole trip to California and we had a fantastic holiday everywhere!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was fantastic, unfortunately the add on Helicopter flight was cancelled due to high winds, however viator arranged a refund for this portion quickly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Everything worked like clockwork and the views and people were fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was really outstanding. Perfect delivery to Henderson Airport in am by luxury coach right on time without delays. Beautiful airport lounge comfortable and clean with gorgeous native merchandise on display you would love to photograph or buy. Did not wait long before we were boarding the comfy plane. The crew was great and the views from above fantastic. We were greeted by another professional driver who drove us to the Bright Angel Lodge and gave us boxed lunch and bottled water. The Grand Canyon is magnificent and beyond description. Must be seen. After about 1.5 hour we were taken to Mather Point where we had another 1 hour. This is still not enough though. You would want to linger for much longer. If there is anything negative we would have to say about this trip the time at the canyon is too short. Would rather pay more money for this trip if only time was longer to enjoy this unbelievable natural wonder. Delivery back was also flawless on time no delays. What an experience!! If you don't have much time in Vegas and still want to see Grand Canyon this a tour is for you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Extremely well organised and a lot of fun! Definitely a highlight of our trip to Vegas. Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great service from the pickup to the drop off. Everything went smoothly and on schedule. A great way to see the Grand Canyon in half a day. The helicopter tour was amazing and well worth the money!

Special Offer

From USD $ 309.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 2+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5235EXPLORER

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message