5 star rating: Highly Recommended 206 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 206 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lainey
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

What a wonergul trip. I fully recommed this trip if you are short on time. We left just before two o'clock and got back Las Vegas around seven. The plane trip was great and we upgraded to a helicopter tour as well and that was a blast. The staff at the tour operator were really nice and the tour guide (Bruce) after the helicopter ride, he was funny and really entertaining. Overall this was a good day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Brilliant tour start to finish! Great views of the canyon. All staff were helpful and answered any question you had about canyon. Bus driver hilarious!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

great experience with possibly the worst coffee I have ever had
no fault of the tour operators however...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our original trip was cancelled due to snow, but we managed to reschedule for the next day (and Viator were very helpful in getting this organised for us). Seeing the Canyon with snow on it was very special. Well worth the extra to fly to the South Rim and save hours on a coach. Great views and enough time at the stops to get some great shots.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I read all of the recent reviews, and the good reviews and bad reviews. This is NOT trip for someone who would like to go on a hike through the Grand Canyon.. this is a great trip for someone who would like to see the Grand Canyon without spending 8 hours on a bus trip from the strip. My daughter and I felt like we had adequate time to walk around, and we got back to the strip early enough to hang out at the pool, which is what we were looking for. There was a fee that was asked for when we got to the small airstrip, I don't recall how much, and tips were not asked for but appreciated. Lunch was a turkey sandwich on a croissant, potato chips, a water, and cookies. AND... bring a jacket. It is approximately 20 degrees cooler at the South Rim than it is on the strip. We had a great time, and thought the pilots an driver were professional and knowledgable. Definitely recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent Trip,Good Team and Planes from the tour operator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

One of the best things I have ever done. We also did the helicopter ride over the Canyon which was breath taking. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really well organised, all the staff at the tour operator were absolutely great from the pilots to the driver. The driver Marion (after John Wayne) was really good fun mixing useful info with humour. The two stops were about right although I could have stared at the grand canyon for days not just a couple of hours. My packed lunch was really good and easily enough to fill a hungry belly. Overall great trip really well arranged with absolutely no problems from pick up to drop off.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Five Stars. From start to finish, a great day and the staff, from the point of being picked up from my hotel to drop off, back to hotel is a well oiled machine - very organised and professional and friendly. I enjoyed being in a twin engine aircraft, great pilots, Mike and forget other pilot's name for now; got to take some great pic's from back seat (a tip for others, for best photo taking views as you aren't over the wing and get a uninterupted view for taking photos). Loved the helicopter flight with Patrick, Irish pilot and of course, a good Irish laconic sense of humour which goes down well with us Aussies :) The day was postcard picture perfect for weather and the Grand Canyon has to be seen to be believed and make a point for extra $99 to take helicopter flight, as you get an amazing up close viewing of Canyon; don't be tight to save extra cost as you will regret it afterwards for missing these stunning views.
Steve, Brisbane, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Had a great day, was picked up from our hotel and from the pilots to our bus guide you couldn't have asked for a better service to a fantastic place

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Best thing we did in our 3 weeks in the USA - and that's saying something. Just amazing. Definitely worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Excellent trip! We had a great time and had spectacular views of the Grand Canyon. The tour was well organized! The pilots and our land tour guide were great! I would definately recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This was the most exciting experience. The whole day was planned well and the staff made us feel special. Nothing was to much trouble. In our opinion flying to the south rim was the best way to take in the shear size of the Grand Canyon. We recommend this trip completely

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Really enjoyable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

For anyone short on time, this is the way to see the Canyon. As you do not have a huge amount of time to sight see at the rim, the helicopter option is a must to get maximum benefit .A definite highlight! Not a long tour, but I don't feel as though I missed out on anything, given my time limitations

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Excellent. You feel wanted all the way. The whole experience from the beginning to the end makes such an unforgettable day. Saw the west rim from the aircraft so glad opted for the south rim,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very professional outfit. Obliging flight crew and driver/guide.
A spectacular natural wonder, not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We loved the experience of one minute being just a couple of hundred feet of the ground then all of a sudden the ground dissapears as the helicopter takes you into the canyon and you are looking down about 1 mile. Fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is such a great trip, we had an amazing time and I would highly recommend doing this. The South Rim is very beautiful and it was great to have an hour at Bright Angel Lodge just admiring the view. I would highly recommend the helicopter though - just amazing!!! We saw the North and South Rim and all I can say is WOW, it is definitely the way to see the Grand Canyon. Maverick are great too, the tour guide, pilots and the helicopter pilot were brilliant - so friendly and knowledgable. Just do it, you won't regret it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Maverick did an awesome job. Great trip and very enjoyable. Everyone was truely professional. The South RIM trip is worth the extra cash. I would recommend this trip to friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Perfect arrangement, excellent and comfortable tour. Amazing Grand Canyon, worth to go
Visitors from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent day. Maverick were very professional and the tour went very smoothly. We were very happy with what we saw at the Grand Canyon and would recommend this tour to others.

IrmaBerg
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Wonderful tour there you can see all beauty of the Canyon and not got tired of the trip. The tour is operated by Maverick which has its own takeoff strips and airport lodges in Las Vegas and Canyon, what makes all trip comfortable and deluxe. Our guide Stephaney was an amazing person, so joyful and competent, and set cheerful tone since the early morning. You can find some amazing views of the Canyon South Rim from the Angel Lodge. I took the helicopter option as well and made some great photos of the Colorado River inside the Canyon. If you are staying in Vegas for couple of days it’s the best tour to see the Canyon. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an amazing experience! I read many reviews of all Grand Canyon trips and chose this one and am so glad I did. The professionalism of Maverick was outstanding. 5 stars to everyone involved even the bus drivers. The pilots of the plane invite you up to the cockpit to view the scenery. Everything was amazing! Well done Maverick!
Ps. Viator.....a local phone number on the printed ticket would be helpful for international travel sim cards that can't ring toll free numbers.

willem d
Belgium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The tour offers everything you want to see in a minimum amount of time. 45Min flying instead of 6 hours in a bus...meaning that when you leave the grand canyon again the busses still have to arrive...With the plane you get to see the grand canyon without the mass tourism that has yet to arrive! Great deal. And Maverick Air was oké, no complaints here.
Worth the money, for sure.

Special Offer
$353.99 Save $44.00

From USD $ 309.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5235EXPLORER

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message