5 star rating: Highly Recommended 164 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Deluxe Grand Canyon South Rim Airplane Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 164 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I can't find right words to describe it. It was just fantastic, fabulous, amazing, spectacular!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
And our pilots in plane and helicopter did my trip safe and even more interesting and funny! And our bus driver, of course! :)
I met a lot of interesting and nice people during this tour, and the Grand Canyon itself is soooooo beautiful and huge that it makes you breathless. I wish everyone could see this beauty with his own eyes!
Thank you so much for one of the most exciting and unforgettable trips of my life!!!
P.S. If you have enough time, book a tiny house right there at the Canyon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour company in Vegas answered our initial questions on the phone easily and were really friendly. We were picked up on time from our hotel (Planet Hollywood) in a small minibus and the airstrip wasn't far at all. Our flight in the fixed wing plane was comfortable and only 45 mins - our pilots encouraged us to come up to the cockpit during the flight to get better views and to ask them questions. Upon approaching and circling at the Grand Canyon air strip our two pilots dealt with the landing gear not coming out properly calmly and professionally and we were well informed as passengers about what was happening or going to happen. After returning to the Vegas air strip again we were put on another fixed wing plane within an hour and were offered a free sandwich or pastry and a free coffee or soda from the little shop there. Our new flight went without a hitch and upon landing safely at the Canyon air strip we were picked up in a bright red trolley by a fantastically friendly and funny guide called Brian. He explained everything for us so we knew exactly what would happen next and we were taken to wait for our helicopter ride. There were toilet facilities readily available there and when our turn came we were offered photo opportunities at the aircraft win our own camera. We had our incredible Heli ride and breathtaking views of the Canyon with our experienced pilot who gave us lots of information as we flew and made us feel very safe too. We then got back on the red trolley and were taken on a short journey into the national park, bypassing queues of cars. We were given a fab lunch of a turkey roll, crisps, cookies and a bottled water which we ate right there on the rim of the canyon - amazing! We had just under an hour to walk around before getting back on the trolley and taken to the strip for a short plane ride back to Vegas. All in all, a fantastic day, run really smoothly - well worth the money. We would both do it agin in a heart beat!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We would highly recommend this tour!! The flight to the Grand Canyon was great! The pilots where really great and our Driver of the trolley was Bruce, and he was awesome! Great tour guide! Would definitely do this tour again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The bus picked us up at our hotel shortly after 6am and following a few other stops at hotels on the Strip, we headed to Henderson airfield. There is a small coffee shop at the airfield, however the selection was limited. The plane journey from Henderson to the Canyon was OK - you get a far off view of the Hoover dam, and see the Colorado river, however the front seat helicopter ride we got when at the Canyon was truly breathtaking and definitely the highlight. We were given approximately an hour to spend at Angel Lodge drop off so got to eat our packed lunch in front of breathtaking scenery. The bus then picked the whole group up and dropped those who weren't doing the helicopter at another lookout, but for those doing the helicopter, we couldn't get out. Would have been nice to have spent a little time at this location, but we had to head back to Canyon airfield to catch the helicopter ride. You are not allowed any bags on the helicopter and these can be left behind the reception desk (they aren't secured or locked away so we decided to take anything important out). Our pilot B.J was very informative and fun for the journey. We bought the souvenir picture when we got back as its a cool memento of our trip. You are able to take as many pictures and video recordings as you like on the trip and our pilot was happy to answer any questions we had. It was our first experience of a helicopter and it will definitely be hard to beat. Would highly recommend the helicopter add on to this trip as although the walk around was lovely, it doesn't give you anywhere like the experience the helicopter offers.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see the canyon if you don't have more than a day to spend and want to get to the South rim and not just the West rim.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From the pick-up to the drop-off everything about this tour was professional and well organised. The pilots were very friendly, the guide was first rate and the flight was an excellent experience. The views from the aircraft on the flight out and the return, were incredible. The two viewing points were breath-taking. I would confidently recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great experience, all the trip was awesome and perfect timing, everybody was so nice, punctual and kind. i highly recommend this company (maverick)!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The organization of this tour was very well done! The staff was very nice and did everthing to satisfy their guests. The travel is worth the money! Clear recommendation. Thumbs up

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a excellent trip with Maverick! First, we arrived at the South Rim and boarded a trolley for a narrated ride to the park. Our guide was Bruce. He is knowledgeable and funny. It was a beautiful day to sit outside and have lunch. We then rode the trolley back to the airport for our helicopter ride across the canyon. It was an amazing view of the canyon. Thank you so much for an awesome day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My new husband and I took this tour while on honeymoon and it fulfilled a lifelong dream! The whole experience was well worth it and gave us a well rounded experience of the canyon. What a spectacular place - it is just a shame we did not have longer to spend there! I would highly recommend this tour if you want to experience the beauty of being right in the canyon. amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This trip was definitely worth it! The flight to the Grand Canyon was great, our pilots were fun and even allowed us to come to the front to take photos. Once we landed, we were taken to the park and provided a very filling boxed-lunch. We ate along the rim and took in the gorgeous landscape. We visited both lookout points and had enough time to see the canyon from different vantage points.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was amazing and well worth doing. The staff, pilots, tour guide were all friendly and informative. The only caution I would give is to those individuals who do not like flying as the plane is small. If the weather is not good it could mean that you feel the plane shudder and shake more than you would on a large flight. I personally enjoyed the whole experience. Finally, don't forget to take layers of clothes as it is cooler in the Grand Canyon than Las Vegas.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience. We got to the Grand Canyon fast. The flight was nice with great views and then when we landed and took the trolley through the park to the two different viewpoints. It was also nice--a great guide and pleasant ride. I really liked walking around the park and enjoyed a bit of hiking and I took some great photos. It is a quick visit, but if you don't have too much time; this is the way to do it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was good as it cut a lot of time out if we were to get the coach tour. However, we didn't have too long at the Canyon itself. We made two stops and only had around 40mins at each one. Not enough time to explore or really take it in. Nonetheless, the pilots on the plane were great and the views from the sky were good. Some people did the optional helicopter upgrade and said it was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous!
We did the heli trip as well and highly recommend.
Would have liked a little more time to wander around the rim and we were a little disappointed that although we had booked months in advance a guy who decided 10 mins before we left, got a front seat on the helicopter and my husband, who would have been the same weight etc, was put in the back. it should be first in basis.

Special Offer
$343.99 Save $34.00

From USD $ 309.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 2+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5235EXPLORER

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message