5 star rating: Highly Recommended 318 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Grand Canyon West Rim Deluxe Sunset Helicopter Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 318 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely fantastic! What a fantastic experience. The whole trip from start to finish was great. We were collected in style in a stretch limo, driven to the airport where we climbed into the helicopter after a photo opportunity and a short briefing. We had a great pilot (Steve) who explained everything very well and was mindful that a couple of us were very nervous to begin with. On landing we had several minutes to take photos before sitting down to a champagne lunch. On return back to the airport, we flew over the strip, another great experience. Once landed, we were picked up again in a stretch limo and whisked back to the hotel. All in all, an exciting adventure. Well worth the money. Thanks to Viator for making it an incredible experience for my Sweetie and I.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The sunset flight was wonderful! Everything (everyone) from the limo driver, desk clerk and pilot was a great experience. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Las Vegas! It was well worth the money.

Colleen H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Unbelievable tour of the Grand Canyon. So good to be able to land in the Canyon. Fantastic Chopper pilot who was full of information and facts on Las VEgas and the surrounding areas. Only downfall was having to be at the little airport about 1.5 hours before we departed which was a time waster but we would have been stuck in a bus had we gone there any other way I guess!!!! Great tour altogether.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Absolutely brilliant, would totally recommend!!
I was a little concerned about the helicopter journey, but the pilot and staff put me completely at ease and the whole trip was amazing :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

After arriving we went through check in and each of us were weighed. We sat down and listened to the safety briefing. The we met our pilot, a very pleasant and reassuring lady. After meeting our fellow crew members we boarded the helicopter. We took off very smoothly and then had a really enjoyable trip in great weather to the Grand Canyon passing notable sites along the way described by our pilot. Hoover Dam was really impressive. We then travelled into the Canyon itself and landed smoothly. We looked around for a while taking a few photos and then had our champagne picnic with our pilot and fellow helicopter passengers. After that we took off again as the sun was setting, breath taking views! The it was back to Las Vagas where we flew over the strip seeing all the wonderful lights. It was a wonderful experience, we felt safe in the hands of a professional pilot. This trip is a must do if you are in LV and the weather is good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is an amazing experience, especially if you have not flown in a helicopter before. The flight in and out of the canyon is spectacular. One thing of note, that wasn't clear is the Limo is not exclusively yours its a shared transport, but still adds to the whole experience.

DeanF
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very professional trip from start to finish the pilot was very friendly. I would recommend this tour we loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

After reading LOTS of other reviews of different helicopter trips from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon we decided to spend the extra money and go for the Grand Canyon West Rim Deluxe Sunset Helicopter Tour. It may have been one of the most expensive trips on offer but it was worth every penny!

While the limousine was about 20 minutes late picking us up (understandable if you have ever driven through Las Vegas) it was also rather full. For the price it would have been nice to have a private car pick up rather than cramming 8 people in the back like a cheap stag-do night out.

The helicopter tour itself was excellent! As other reviews have mentioned the helicopters themselves are rather cramped (6 people in total, 2 in the front and 4 in the back) but this wasn't really a problem as they were fully air conditioned and you got amazing views from all the seating positions.

Our Pilot, Ned, was also excellent and really made the trip. He was polite and friendly and seemed genuinely nice and not just after a tip like so many other people we encountered in the U.S.

The tour left Vegas and headed out over Lake Mead and past the Hoover Damn and then out to the Grand Canyon where we were taken over the ridge and in to the Canyon itself and flown along inside to the landing site near the river at the bottom. The food provided for the picnic was basic (sandwich, cookie, apple etc) but nice and the champagne was a nice refreshing touch (most people had at least 2 glasses so plenty to go around).

The return journey at sunset was very nice and the flight along "The Strip" while it was all lit up was very impressive.

We would highly recommend this trip if you are able to spend that little extra over the other tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you can afford this luxury it is a must do!!! Sam, our pilot was great and very patient. We could have used a little more time taking pictures, but I'm sure it still would not had been enough. Lol
Next time we'll do the South Rim and if time allow we'll book it through Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Captain John McArthur was AMAZING.. informative, fun and made sure we got the best views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Stretch limo pick up from our hotel, friendly check in at helicopter terminal and a fantastic flight experience - landing in the canyon late afternoon is amazing and the sunset flight back also quite spectacular! Low level flight over the strip is also brilliant with all the lights - Book it!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would like to say that our Helicopter Tour was one of the most memorable moments in mine and my husband's lives. It was worth every penny and more. Thank you so much for providing us with this wonderful and awesome experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

After a fraught start (our limo was late due to some fellow travellers getting lost in The Venetian!) we had an amazing trip - couldn't fault it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you've never travelled by helicopter before, relax, it's very smooth. The commentary along the way is interesting too.The West Rim isn't as dramatic as some pictures of the Canyon, but you still drop down inside. The time inside passes quickly before the final twilight run down the Strip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Fantastic pilot, wonderful scenery and commentary. professionally run service that exceeded all expectations. Was a party of 6 and all rated the experience as "one of the best things they have ever done in their life".

From USD $ 489.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 2+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2280SUN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message