5 star rating: Highly Recommended 41 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:  1 day (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Grand Canyon West Rim Self-Drive SUV Day Trip from Las Vegas. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 41 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This is was one of the best parts of the trip!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Brilliant tour bit scary driving for the first time but soon got used to it, there is some amazing scenery to see on the way! The car wasn't as good as I thought, but was ok! I would highly recommend this trip but take the coach if your not confident in the drive. Top marks.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The drive to the Canyon was closer to Vegas than I thought -- only 2 1/2 hours. It was breathtaking. The helicopter ride was a blast, and the Escalade was very comfortable. Being able to schedule our own time at the stops was priceless to us! We all enjoyed the Skywalk and got some excellent photos.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We loved it. The only small hitch was that on Viator we booked a Hummer. On arrival they were going to give us a Jeep! We said we booked the hummer and within minutes they gave us one. This is the only way to see the Grand Canyon! Driving through the Joshua forrest was great. There really is nothing around for miles and miles. The 20-mile dirt track at the end was also an experience on its own. It is really easy to get to the Grand Canyon. You only use four roads. The helicopter ride was the best of all. You have to do this trip! We were picked up in an Escalade on time and the driver was very chatty. The host who explained the trip to us on arrival was also great. I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Note from Viator: Please note: Hummers are no longer offered on this tour package.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We are 4 girlfriends who decided to take a self-drive tour...what fun...we all shared the wheel separately I might add to drive there and back. People were friendly, canyon was easy to find. We even had the hummer over night in Vegas - how cool is that, so we decided to drive to the old Vegas Fremont experience. Would definitely recommend. I would definitely do this again, and maybe go off route and explore more. We did not see too much wild life, and would have loved more, but maybe it was the time of year Weather was coolish, so we all ended up buying the same sweatshirts....check out our pics.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Everyone should book this trip! It's well worth it! My fiance and I had such a great time, with no worries since every detail was already planned. Also, having the Hummer for 24 hours allows for much more traveling and exploring.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Perfect day out! This trip has lots of brilliant aspects. Firstly you have the great Hummer H2 to drive around in (at your leisure, one of my favourite points). Secondly, you get to see the amazing route of Nevada / Arizona pictured just like in the films and you get to see the Hoover Dam en-route! Thirdly, the Grand Canyon is amazing once you get there. You get three fun trips in one! The food at the Canyon ranch was like homemade and plentiful. The route is very easy too. At the Grand Canyon Ranch we got to ride horses. The morning pickup was prompt and a very nice car. The representative was also very helpful. Finally, not only do you get to do all of this, you keep the car for the entire 24 hours, so good fun driving the Strip at night. Having booked via Viator, this allows you to skip some waiting lines at the Canyon. This trip is as good as it sounds!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The whole trip was wonderful! We actually skipped the buffet and did the helicopter pontoon boat ride. The staff was so warm and friendly! I'm going to recommend this to everyone!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Brilliant way to see the Grand Canyon, the Hummer drive was great fun and it was good to have our own timetable. We did the Skywalk which was brilliant, awesome views, and we also did the optional helicopter/boat which was fantastic. My first time in a helicopter so a little scary but well worth it and very exciting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Awesome Adventure! Loved driving the hummer (not nearly as scary as I thought it would be) - the only way to comfortably drive the 14 mile dirt road near the rim. Driving ourselves was a great way to go as it gave us the time to enjoy the beauty of the canyon - and the magnificent Skywalk - without rushing to meet a bus to get back to Las Vegas. We were picked up, taken to the rental place, given drinks for the ride, a map and our vouchers for the west rim. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone going to the Grand Canyon!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Driving a hummer is an experience of its own. It was the perfect vehicle for our journey to the Grand Canyon - easy and fun to drive, the experience would not have been the same without it...It has to be part of the package!

The Grand Canyon was just wonderful. It feels like leaving civilisation to enter a whole new world. Being there was just amazing and helicopter flight, off road hummer tour and Skywalk just add what it needs to be mind-blowing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

So glad we took the self drive option however disappointed in the car we got (jeep)this car was for the off road part listed on the website however there is no off roading now as they have upgraded the road. The car was gas thirsty so cost a lot for the 2.5hr drive however canyon made up for it!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Self guide is the only way to go! Got to see the Hoover dam. Would like to go back and take the inside dam tour when I have more time. The Grand Canyon was very nice. The gravel road was not bad at all. An SUV is not needed. A lot of work had been done and the road would only get rough after a rain. A standard car would be fine. The Indian village a shows are kind of cheesey but I understand they are there to make money not put on shows. A great time and a great trip. You should do it!!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The family liked this trip so very much. Driving ourselves allowed us to take our time walking around at the grand canyon. The lunch was hot and very good. Driving ourselves allowed us to stop where we wanted to. The only downside was trying to get out of town and then later returning the car.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyed my day, pick up from hotel good and prompt, directions easy. Didnt enjoy not being able to take own camera onto skywalk just so that photographers wanted you to make stupid poses so that they could sell their own pictures. There was no consideration for those frightened of heights, the photos went on.
The downside was not knowing that we would have to make our own way back to the hotel, another expense.

From USD $ 169.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3017UDH

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message