5 star rating: Highly Recommended 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:  1 day (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Grand Canyon West Rim Self-Drive SUV Day Trip from Las Vegas. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Brilliant way to see the Grand Canyon, the Hummer drive was great fun and it was good to have our own timetable. We did the Skywalk which was brilliant, awesome views, and we also did the optional helicopter/boat which was fantastic. My first time in a helicopter so a little scary but well worth it and very exciting.

JennyC
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Awesome Adventure! Loved driving the hummer (not nearly as scary as I thought it would be) - the only way to comfortably drive the 14 mile dirt road near the rim. Driving ourselves was a great way to go as it gave us the time to enjoy the beauty of the canyon - and the magnificent Skywalk - without rushing to meet a bus to get back to Las Vegas. We were picked up, taken to the rental place, given drinks for the ride, a map and our vouchers for the west rim. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone going to the Grand Canyon!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Driving a hummer is an experience of its own. It was the perfect vehicle for our journey to the Grand Canyon - easy and fun to drive, the experience would not have been the same without it...It has to be part of the package!

The Grand Canyon was just wonderful. It feels like leaving civilisation to enter a whole new world. Being there was just amazing and helicopter flight, off road hummer tour and Skywalk just add what it needs to be mind-blowing.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was brilliant. The car hire was great, easy to get to from Vegas. The west rim site is well run and the 3 different view points are great. Sky walk was fantastic. Well worth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Such a great day out! You can take it at your own pace and stop off wherever and whenever you like - great way to see the canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

So glad we took the self drive option however disappointed in the car we got (jeep)this car was for the off road part listed on the website however there is no off roading now as they have upgraded the road. The car was gas thirsty so cost a lot for the 2.5hr drive however canyon made up for it!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Self guide is the only way to go! Got to see the Hoover dam. Would like to go back and take the inside dam tour when I have more time. The Grand Canyon was very nice. The gravel road was not bad at all. An SUV is not needed. A lot of work had been done and the road would only get rough after a rain. A standard car would be fine. The Indian village a shows are kind of cheesey but I understand they are there to make money not put on shows. A great time and a great trip. You should do it!!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The family liked this trip so very much. Driving ourselves allowed us to take our time walking around at the grand canyon. The lunch was hot and very good. Driving ourselves allowed us to stop where we wanted to. The only downside was trying to get out of town and then later returning the car.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyed my day, pick up from hotel good and prompt, directions easy. Didnt enjoy not being able to take own camera onto skywalk just so that photographers wanted you to make stupid poses so that they could sell their own pictures. There was no consideration for those frightened of heights, the photos went on.
The downside was not knowing that we would have to make our own way back to the hotel, another expense.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is the best option for doing a tour of the Grand Canyon West Rim. Taking the tour bus puts you on a defined schedule and you miss some of the great stops along the way. Booking - this was very simple and you receive all your information immediately. There were no hiccups or delays with the booking process. Rental - the driver who picked us up for the car rental was fantastic. He had great information on how to get out of Vegas and making sure to stick to the speed limit signs through Boulder City. He also recommended great places to see in Vegas with our remaining days. The driver was not only pleasant but also brought our coffee back to us as we left it in the vehicle when we went into pick up our rental. When we got to Hertz, the check in was relatively quick but we questioned what we were given as an "off-road SUV". We were assigned a Toyota RAV4??? I question whether this is really an off-road vehicle as it is a compact SUV set on a car frame. I called the tour operator and was told Hertz's response is that it is categorized as an SUV and would be fine. This is where I feel we were ripped off on this tour. We paid for an "off-raod SUV" only to be given a vehicle that has the same frame as a car. We could have rented a car in that case and saved some money. I really did expect a better SUV for the cost. Tour - Directions given were very easy to follow and it is really difficult to get lost. I know some commented on the dirt road you must take to get to the West Rim however; we did not think it was that bad. We did not do the Skywalk and did not see bad wait lines as indicated. The only wait line (45+ minutes) was for the bus from Eagle Point. I would say the only improvement that needs to be made is directions for getting back. We had a hard time finding which exit for the rental car return.
The four star rating really is related to the rental. You pay a lot for this package and feel it is deceptive to give a RAV4 as an off-road SUV.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The trip was great. Had a nice car. Made sure when you go to eat at the ranch! VERY GOOD and Friendly . I would NOT recommend the other two places on the list. When you get there you will see why.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

AMAZING The booking process was easy, the vehicle was a crossover,the tour was excellent! The only disappointment was we couldn't take the camera on the skywalk.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We booked this trip so that we did not have the hassel of time watching as with the coaches tours. The vehicle was lovey a big 4 x 4 but if you are doing a self-drive it might be an idea to ask the following questions - Can you please run through the controls on the car it will save you time trying out all the knobs to find out what they operate (they also all seem to be automatic) also the map included with the trip did not guide you out of Las Vegas (this was also a problem getting back due to one way streets) but was fine once you found the 93 road, also double check your lift back to your hotel (if you get back out of work hours then there is no-one there at the desk, keys can be dropped off in a safe box) Our trip inclubed the Skywalk tour - you leave your vehicle at the small airport near the Skywalk then coaches take you between the 3 points in the area, they work really well here and do pick ups every 10 mins so you can stay for as long as you want at each stop (the views were breath taking and must be seen) I would use them again but would ask the extra questions and be taken to the car

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Everything was as announced, definitely will use viator again.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

A good alternative to flying if you have a set budget. You can stay as long as you like and get to see a bit more of the area. The Skywalk is great so don't miss it.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

The trip was excellent. It would have been nice to know that the road went from pavement to rough road with buffalo scattered about. The directions provided by the neverlost system were incorrect and the written directions were not much better. All-in-all, we would do it again and recommend the trip to everyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Pros: Incredibly nice staff at the rental car agency. No lines at any of the Grand Canyon attractions. Skywalk was a great experience. Guano Point was good. Cons: Additional charges for gas and insurance. Buffet food at the Grand Canyon sites was not good. No pictures on the Skywalk. No GPS in vehicle. The Hummer that everyone writes about on here was not even an option.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Just wanted to say it was all great, excellent service etc and we would thoroughly recommend. Only downside as far as we were concerned was that we were not provided with any map/details for the return journey. Got lost in Vegas as we couldn't turn right on to Paradise where we needed to return the hummer too. Took us 2 hours to find it. Not good after a very long day.

Note from Viator: Thanks for your feedback. It can be tricky, but all the cars have GPS which is set for you and you can switch it to reverse direction for the trip back to Las Vegas. We will follow up with our operator and make sure that all customers are notified so that they can find their way back to Las Vegas more quickly.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Having been looking forward to this trip we arrived having been picked up and we were on our way to the Grand Canyon. On arrival we went to the nearest help desk to get things moving but after going back and forth between companies nobody seemed to know anything about our booking. Two and a half hours later we were no further forward with getting in a chopper... There seemed to be no organisation from the people who organise the paperwork for the helicopter tour companies. The whole experience would have been a complete shocker if it weren't for the stunning views when we eventually flew.

From USD $ 169.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3017UDH

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message