5 star rating: Highly Recommended 84 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Grand Canyon White Water Rafting Trip from Las Vegas. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 84 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We had a great time rafting. Had a wonderful guide (Blackfeather) who also gave us a history lesson about the Colorado River. Not to mention the tasty lunch they had provided for us on the river. I would recommend this trip to everyone. The only thing missing was the beer!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Very friendly staff, great experience. Definitely worth it!

Gina P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

From start to finish a really wonderful day. The office gave specific directions to what was needed in preparation, the driver was spot on time and the rafting organizers where fantastic. Be prepared to queue for the helicopter out of the canyon, it takes time to move people out in small groups.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Of all the trips we have done over the years, this rates as the best. The excitement was immense, especially when hitting the rapids. Our Indian guide was a little sweetheart and very kind. Truly wonderful day. Prepare to get very wet!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Amazing, incredible, so much fun! The water is cold all year even though the temp in the canyon was 100 degrees...our raft guide Louis was amazing and so informative, there is 8 in a raft. You stop off at a cave to view a waterfall, you do have to climb 2 rope ladders,and it is slippery and we had a really hot day, but if the surface temp is cooler as the water is so cold. The stop for dinner is fun, we even stopped at a small beach, helicopter out depends on surface winds, and if too strong you continue for another hour in raft. The driver from Las Vegas, Jennifer was amazing guide, and we stopped on route 66 for photos, and because we were on time we went back via the Hoover dam, (getting there means you travel on new bridge which is designed purposely so you cant see dam, they don't want people stopping taking photos). Take money, for tips for drivers and guides but also you can buy photos of trip back at Indian reservation.....amazing day, so much fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Had a great time. Only wish we could have gone to an overlook once on top of the canyon and/or spent more time in the helicopter. The rafting was a blast, just be prepared to get wet-and the water is cold! The van driver who took us there was great and had a lot of knowledge of the area we were in and traveling to. The gift shop at the final destination was very nice and very reasonable. Overall it was a great experience. So glad we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

The trip was everything we were told it would be. Daniel, our van driver was very prompt and friendly, made our trip to and from the canyon very enjoyable. The raft trip was really great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

It was great and the GUIDES were just awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This was a fantastic day out, driving over the Hoover Dam, Route 66, and then rafting down the Grand Canyon; You cannot get anything better. We did get wet but this just added to all the fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Despite it being the end of the season (late October) and the weather being a little poor, the trip itself was a lot of fun and a highlight of the holiday for our party. Jenny, the driver was excellent. She was helpful, friendly, and when we finally got back through the washed out roads and storm to the van, had snacks and went out of her way for us. She deserved an award. If you are not going in good weather, take wet weather clothes, my wet shorts and teeshirt meant I was getting very chilly towards the end. I would certainly advise anyone to try it as a fun and original way to see the canyon, much better than a helicopter ride!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Trip, wonderful and would recommend it to anyone, however while the rapids were fantastic and the scenery great it did become a little boring through the 20 miles of calm river with no more rapids to look forward to. Helicopter ascent and ride back to Vegas was fine. An experience to treasure forever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

different gravy, a must for anyone amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Amazing day! A well organised trip with friendly and helpfull staff. The pickup from our hotel was on time and it was an interesting trip to the canyon. A very mixed group of people on the boats, all lighthearted. The rapids were great fun, got very wet! But that was welcome as extremley hot. Stops along the river were awesome.Ending with an exciting helecopter trip. In all a fantastic day that is well remembered.

Boaz Z
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

great adventure,

Cyril S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Fantastic experience you will get wet but it must not be missed. The Hualapai Indian guides made the day while being extremely friendly and informative about the excursion. Randy our bus driver did a great job on our journey to and from the activity.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

What an awesome day! Early start, but well worth it. Will be doing this again next season.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

My husband and I loved this tour. Clean van, friendly driver / guide, incredible views - all in all, an awesome experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was great! We went in late October so not only was the water very cold but the air was quite cool as well, so it was very uncomfortable. After lunch we were done with the rapids so it is more of a river float, which was very nice to dry off and warm up.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Lots of fun. Great guide. Really cold water! Would do again and hope for even more rapids!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a great trip. Everyone was nice and only one problem. We cannot find out how to get the pictures they took while we were on the raft. We were told they were available for purchase. Can you help us?

Thanks for your help in booking

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great day on the river with a great guide. Only downside was waiting for the helicopter out at the end.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

3hr transfer very wearing but the rafting was terrific fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Overall wonderful trip. I really enjoyed the white water rafting. Unfortunately, our trip was postponed two days in a row due to rainstorms washing out the road down to the base of canyon. And then our bus got temporarily stuck going down and we almost had to walk the last mile. A few suggestions that might help future travelers is to better alert them 1) that there are no portable toilets from when you get on the bus until you take the helicopter ride out of the canyon (x 7-8 hours?). My group thought there were portable toilettes available before we got on the raft, but there were none visible. That means that if you have to relieve yourself be prepared to do so in the water or wild. So I'd really suggest limiting caffeine intake that AM. Which is hard since you leave your hotel around 4a. 2) I'd also strongly suggest putting a warm cover up/or jacket in the dry bag on the raft. We left our change of clothes in the van. Even though we went on a very warm day in August, the wind made for a extremely chilly ride down the smooth section of the river since you are literally soaking wet from the rapids. Lastly you couldn't hear much of anything the van driver said if you were in the back. Even though I asked him to speak up it was impossible to hear most of what he said. Our indian guide on the raft said very little also. But I noticed that some of the other guides/van drivers were much more talkative and guessed that would have made for an even more interesting trip. But would still definitely recommend the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The trip was good value for money. We were picked up by a friendly driver and taken to our destination. Unfortunately there was only the option of a McDonald's for breakfast as we were short of time. The tour operator had not put me in the same group as my sister which was specificed on the booking, although they were happy to change this. After a bumpy ride on a dilapidated bus we reached the river. From here on in it was brilliant and an amazing way to see the grand canyon. Photos were taken at strategic points which could be purchased at a very reasonable cost. I would so much have preferred a digital CD of all the group pics (done on most other rafting trips) which I would have paid more for. I would recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Overall this was a brilliant experience and a very worthwhile trip. You have to be willing to get up very early (or not go to sleep at all), be driven for a few hours, have a bumpy coach-ride into the canyon, get very wet and, at times, surprisingly cold - especially if, like me, you end up at the front of your boat. However, the up-sides make it very worthwhile. The views of the canyon are stunning, the rides through the rapids exhilarating and the helicopter ride very memorable. Our guide gave us a good experience and tour, although was quite surly and unhelpful - especially when one of our party needed a few minutes to search for sunglasses that fell in by the riverbank when moored-up for lunch. However, others in our bus were very happy with their guides. (Tip: bring something to tie on hats and sunshades - we used shoelaces!). Our driver to and from our Vegas hotel was very helpful and courteous. Don't forget to tip those guys.......

Special Offer

From USD $ 528.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5167WWR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message