5 star rating: Highly Recommended 863 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 863 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great. Comprehensive. Everything promised was included.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour guide Jason was terrific. He was very knowledgeable about the Dam and Las Vegas. We started out with an oppotrunity to walk on the Mike O'Callaghan Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge for spectacular views of the Dam and Lake Meade. The Hoover Dam tour begins with a short video followed by a ride in the elevators down into the shaft. I was not able to go down do to a medical condition. I did the display tour upstairs, while my husband went down for the tour. After the tour we met on the bridge. Jason took us for a walk across the bridge stopping at various points and sharing information with us. The views were breath taking and the information was quite good. We then had some time on our own to explore or check out the gift shop. From there we went to Hemenway Park were we saw mountain sheep. It was very cool, and we had the added bonus of the Parks Department rangers being on site. They were taking blood samples and tagging a male. From there we went to lunch. Your have a choice of four dishes and a beverage. The burgers were quite good and they make their own potato chips. They were delicious. Finally we stopped at stop at Ethel M's Chocolate Factory. It was a waste of time. The factory tour was non existent (they were having a staff meeting, and there was no one on the floor). They do offer you a small sample and then it is in to the sales room. You could not buy a piece of chocolate the smallest they will sell you is a sixteen piece set, and the chocolates are $1.50 to $2.00 a piece for these little tiny pieces. There is also an M and M's store were you could pay an exorbitant price for M and M's. Our guide Jason was very comical he had great stories to share and clean jokes to tell. He was also extremely accommodating. Jason worked hard at making sure that everyone had a good time. The atmosphere on the bus and on the tours was very light and friendly. I attributed a lot of that to Jason.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very interesting and fun trip. We learned a lot and had a fun time. The bus trip was great and the guide did an excellent job explaining things and having fun with us. The driver was great also, we felt safe during the entire trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Hoover Dam Tour was excellent and well worth the money. I will highly recommend it to all my friends. The itinerary was excellent - drive trough Boulder City with explanation. The guide explained the construction details and pointed out interesting facts. - amazing. The underground tour was great as well. The lunch stop was okay. The spaghetti I ordered was cold from sitting around by time I ate it. The guests on the bus all had a good opinion of the tour. Could have passed on the chocolate factory.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Except for lunch - filling but felt more like a truck stop than the ambiance of everything else about your excellent tour!

The guide was outstanding - helpful, very informative, entertaining and humorous!

I very much appreciated his sharing his personal knowledge about Las Vegas and the areas we passed through in general, and Hover Dam in particular. Stopping at Hemingway Park, for ex, to see the Big Horn Sheep and Lake Mead in the distance was a highlight!!!

The many different vantage points - from bus, walking - to view the Dam was fantastic!

Also, careful and very pleasant driver!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Jason and Tom were great. Very informative, very interactive, very funny. Most enjoyable tour. Been to Hoover Dam before on my own but Jason filled in more details than I had known before. Was good to get to know him and his family a little bit. Really enjoyed not having to worry about driving, parking, finding lunch......etc, etc, etc. Lunch was enjoyable and the chocolate was delicious at the last stop. Glad we went. My wife and I thought this was a major highlight of our 3 night stay in Las Vegas.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Guides gave lots of interesting information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved it! Jason was great entertaining and highly informative!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Jason and Allen were awesome, very entertaining and informative!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

No problems at all! Our guide was charismatic and knowledgeable, and the driver was swift and safe. The bridge-top overlook is a great spot for photos not included in most other tours, and the local lunch and visit to Ethel M's chocolate shop offer a great chance to connect with other visitors.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were picked up on time and transferred to our coach where we met our tour guide Jason. Jason was very knowledgeable and also very funny. The trip was very good and we had more than enough time at the Hoover Dam. We also had lunch which was good then onto visit a chocolate factory which personally I could have done without! We weren't there long just approx 30 minutes so it wasn't that bad.
On the whole I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I highy recommend this tour for anyone visiting the Las Vegas area. This is truly one of the 20th century's engineering marvels. Early May is a great time to visit. I am glad that I had a digital camera. I would not have had enough film with my older film cameras.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Hoover Dam was AWESOME!! We had a great time.Our tour guide Jason was funny and informative, the day went by so fast!! Lunch was pretty good too!! Wish it was not a Saturday..we didn't get to see much at the candy factory :( but the samples were delicious!! It was worth every penny!! Highly recommend seeing the Hoover Dam!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a very informative and entertaining tour. Jason and Phil our tour guides were full of information about Hoover Dam and the surrounding areas. Our lunch stop was scrumptious and the chocolate factory was a treat. I highly recommend this tour for anyone................................................

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Booked this trip through Viator as the reviews were very good and we were not disappointed. The tour is run by a company there and the tour guide Jason was great fun. As well as being informative there was a comical angle on everything leaving you wondering whether what you had been told was fact or fiction. The humour was never intrusive or offensive and if you want a coach tour to the hoover dam go for it you will love it.

As well as visiting the Dam and going down into the Dam itself on the official governement tour, Jason and Alan (the coach driver) let you visit the new bypass bridge for a great view of the Dam and also walks you across the top of the Dam sharing its history.

On the way back you stop for lunch in a great diner called the Omelet House and then you visit Ethel M's chocolate factory. Jason and Alan even bought my wife Nicola a gift from there for her birthday, nice touch!

Afterwards they drop you off at a Hotel of your choice on the strip.

Special Offer
$89.99 Save $10.00

From USD $ 79.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3431UHDT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message