4.5 star rating: Recommended 37 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Lille, France
  • Duration:  3 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 37 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Craig G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable guide. He was very accommodating with specific site visits depending on what participants wanted to see, especially with regard to relative's battle experiences. The time flies on this tour.

Beverley H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

Our driver/guide was very knowledgable, considerate and helpful in every way. The content of tour made it excellent and worth the expense. It was a brilliant experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was excellent, as was our guide. He was knowledgeable, caring and very willing to answer our questions. The scenes, in some cases, spoke for themselves. The rebuilt town of Ypres, the now-tranquil land filled with well-tended cemeteries, the crater in the middle of quiet woods, created by explosions, and the Allied and German 'pillboxes' still dotting the landscape. I suppose it would have been interesting to see a trench but apparently there aren't many around, a good thing in many ways.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent idea to have air conditioned coach. Excellent idea to have tour guide with loudspeakers on coach. Your tour guide knew his history, spoke with authority, and was obviously enthusiastic about the subject matter! Your tour guide asked if any person had a particular site they may want to see, he showed us the Irish Memorial which we had forgotten existed it moved us to tears when we saw it, also moved Australian tourists as well! Liked the way we had time to reflect when we visited the WW1 memorials and graves the enormity of the death toll requires a little time to absorb. Good lunch served without much time lost. Really good educational day, hard work to remember all, but that's what we came for!

Peter L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the best tour I have ever been on and would recommend it without reservation to anyone interested in WWI history or who, like me, wanted to see the land where relatives lay who did not make it home from this terrible war.

Andrew L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Our tour was truly made by the guide who spoke at length and with real insight. We joined an existing multi day tour for this day and she made a big effort to get us up to speed on what had gone on and make sure we got the best we could from the experience. It had really only been after the tour when telling others that I have appreciated just how much information we picked up. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had an excellent tour guide for our small group of four people. We saw many places that we would have missed on our own.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The guide was very knowledgeable and he clearly took account of the nationalities in his group. Seeing the locations and the level of human sacrifice was very moving. We thought the price was very "full" since it cost nearly as much as the entire weekend including travel and accomodation costs. AB Northampton

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Found the trip met my expectations and gave me a good idea of what our troops went through. The guide was knowledgable and able to paint a very good picture of what happened. All in all I enjoyed the experience greatly and would recommend it to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very much enjoyed this holiday, if enjoyed is the right word when dealing with something as heavy as WWI. Really helped fill me in on the background and physically being there and seeing it made it real for me. Our guide Tony Wade was a fount of knowledge and didn't trust any source without carefully evaluating it first, with characteristic humour. Seeing I was the only Irish person on the tour, he took time to show me some of the Irish monuments, such as that tower at Messines that Kevin Myers keeps going on about! I would say that if you need to buy provisions, stock up in Lille or the airport, because there isn't much opportunity later on. I would definitely recommend this trip. Susan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

I found the tour very interesting and worthwhile. Our guide, Mark was extremely knowledgeable. I liked the flexibility of the tour - Mark was happy to take us to a particular spot if it was of interest to a guest, even if it wasn't on the itinerary. My one disappointment was not seeing trenches, but I understand that the Somme tour shows that aspect. I didn't go on it because I thought the connection with Eurostar from London would be too fine. It turns out that the guide would have waited and that any luggage could be taken along. I think this should be made clear. We were a small group and the flexibilty allowed for us to all have dinner together, with Mark happily taking two of us back to Lille later in the evening. That was a nice touch.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The tour was good. Jeff was an interesting and knowledgeable guide. Our only wish was that we had stopped at more sites rather than just driving by them.

James S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

The sites visited were well chosen and the transport was good and safely driven. For this one, take your own lunch as it's a fairly full day. Verify departure time and meeting place by phone as there can be ambiguity.

James S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

If you have anywhere you particularly want to look at, make it known to the driver, otherwise he might not stop. A good tour with good transport and well driven. Take your own lunch or buy a sandwich at the Hooge Crater Museum. Verify departure time and meeting place by phone as there can be ambiguity.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Very good.

From USD $ 900.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2714LILBATTLE3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message