• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 31 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Lille, France
  • Duration:  3 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 31 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had an excellent tour guide for our small group of four people. We saw many places that we would have missed on our own.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The guide was very knowledgeable and he clearly took account of the nationalities in his group. Seeing the locations and the level of human sacrifice was very moving. We thought the price was very "full" since it cost nearly as much as the entire weekend including travel and accomodation costs. AB Northampton

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Found the trip met my expectations and gave me a good idea of what our troops went through. The guide was knowledgable and able to paint a very good picture of what happened. All in all I enjoyed the experience greatly and would recommend it to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very much enjoyed this holiday, if enjoyed is the right word when dealing with something as heavy as WWI. Really helped fill me in on the background and physically being there and seeing it made it real for me. Our guide Tony Wade was a fount of knowledge and didn't trust any source without carefully evaluating it first, with characteristic humour. Seeing I was the only Irish person on the tour, he took time to show me some of the Irish monuments, such as that tower at Messines that Kevin Myers keeps going on about! I would say that if you need to buy provisions, stock up in Lille or the airport, because there isn't much opportunity later on. I would definitely recommend this trip. Susan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

I found the tour very interesting and worthwhile. Our guide, Mark was extremely knowledgeable. I liked the flexibility of the tour - Mark was happy to take us to a particular spot if it was of interest to a guest, even if it wasn't on the itinerary. My one disappointment was not seeing trenches, but I understand that the Somme tour shows that aspect. I didn't go on it because I thought the connection with Eurostar from London would be too fine. It turns out that the guide would have waited and that any luggage could be taken along. I think this should be made clear. We were a small group and the flexibilty allowed for us to all have dinner together, with Mark happily taking two of us back to Lille later in the evening. That was a nice touch.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The tour was good. Jeff was an interesting and knowledgeable guide. Our only wish was that we had stopped at more sites rather than just driving by them.

James S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

The sites visited were well chosen and the transport was good and safely driven. For this one, take your own lunch as it's a fairly full day. Verify departure time and meeting place by phone as there can be ambiguity.

James S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

If you have anywhere you particularly want to look at, make it known to the driver, otherwise he might not stop. A good tour with good transport and well driven. Take your own lunch or buy a sandwich at the Hooge Crater Museum. Verify departure time and meeting place by phone as there can be ambiguity.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Very good.

Caitlin W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

It started off badly with the tour waiting an hour and 15 minutes for people from the Eurostar. This meant a late arrival back at Lille - a problem if on trains - but also we lost a significant amount of time that we could have been on the battlefields and wandering about. This aspect was most disappointing, and not many options for food for lunch - a few hastily thrown together sandwiches without much topping - so bring your own. But a good experience to see the battle sites

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

The tour was great, however the non-air conditioned van was uncomfortable. It was difficult to hear most of the driver's commentary, since there were no headphones or speaker system.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

An overall enjoyable day! The guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and we got to see things we may not have bothered to search out if we were doing it ourselves, as the whole battlefields area is so large. The only down side was the omission on my part to specifically request a stop that I presumed would be on the tour. The tour was also only one day of a possible three or four day tour. We were basically the interlopers in other peoples' tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Very interesting and moving experience to visit a place that is considered sacred.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The meeting place instructions were extremely confusing. There is no Lille International station, but there is a Lille Europe, which is where we were supposed to meet. Also, the Viator instructions did not say where in the train station the group was to meet. As it turned out, we were supposed to meet in front of a coffee shop. That would have been nice to know.

David J
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2009

We joined an already existing group of two days who had, by the time we joined, some knowledge of the battle fields of WW1 but the guide helped us catch up. Being a small group was helpful. What would have helped more would have been to have a map of the battlefields and the journey we were making through them so as to get our bearings.

From USD $ 826.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2714LILBATTLE3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message