4 star rating: Recommended 34 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Rail Trip to Paris from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 34 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Booking through Viator was the best thing we could have done. I had to phone them as my hotel in London was not on the list as a pick up point. The agent couldn't have been any nicer. She arranged for a car service to collect us from the hotel and drop us off at the train station. An agent from the tour company was there to greet us, with documents in hand. Our tour guide Sammy, greeted us upon arrival. Everything was as smooth as it could be. The hotel selected for us was located in Montmarte. It was a very nice hotel in a perfect location. Sacre Couer was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. I deducted one star from the review because of seating on the Eurostar. I requested the standard train trip versus first class on the Eurostar. I felt like I was in a cattle car. The seats chosen were the worst of the worst. They need to work out a better system with Eurostar; choose seats for their tour passengers well in advance. Don't wait a week before departure. If you can afford the extra money, I advise upgrading to first class. All in all I had nothing too major to complain about. It was a wonderful 2 days laid out by the tour company. I will most definitely use them again for future tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Viator was great, Paris... not so. Arrangements were handled well, including prompt hotel pick-up in London. We had escorted tour and our tour guide was the best! The guided tour itself was well arranged and we were able to see a lot. Again, our guide was the best. The hotel was actually quite good. Large room (by European standards), good amentities, nice breakfast included. Hotel was conveniently located. Unfortunately, we find Paris a dirty city and the traffic congestion made the bus tour very slow for the most part. We opted to upgrade to first class for the return train trip, which was a bit of splurge, but it was nice to have more comfortable seats and beverages and a mice meal as we relaxed on the trip back to London.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Excellent......

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Overall well organized...The tour guide did not know which hotel we were assigned to stay overnight, but thankfully we knew, and he was then able to direct us to it...We enjoyed Paris immensely

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Overall it was a lovely trip with the escorted tour on day 1, and free time on day 2. The hotel was located in Montmarte and just around the corner from Moulin Rouge. We walked to the artist area and visited the Dali museum - Montmarte is a beautiful place. The only drawback was when the tour guide brought us back to the Le Gare Du Nord at the end of day 1 and explained the departure procedures for those on the day trip only, and was prepared to head off without explaining to those of us staying overnight. And later we realized the tour guide did not hand us the hop onoff ticket valid on the second day too. Left a message in mobile voice mail but didn't get a response. Luckily we spent day 2 in Montmarte and didn't need to ride the tour bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

This trip had a few glitches train seat with no window! tour guide showed up at 800 at train station while everyone was told to be there at 745 causing a bit of panic for some. Hotel was great, within walking distance to a metro. We did the independent trip which was perfect for us. We felt the sightseeing bus Cars Rouges was not as good as the Big Bus tours in London. Overall, trip was a good exposure to Paris sights.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

overall it is a pleasant experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was pretty good. The tour day was rushed as expected. If you have your escorted day on Tuesday, note the Louvre is NOT open on that day and your guide will take you elsewhere. I found I got to see more on my unescorted day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

My friend and I recently did the paris over night trip. It began with the Evans and Evans rep meeting us at the train station. We were given our package and a little info about where to meet rep in paris. Train trip was all good and we meet rep easily at train station. He assisted in storing our small cases at rain station before we were on the bus to start tour. As soon as we were on the bus we were told that we would not be going to the Eiffel Tower as the line was too long so we were taken to the louvre. Although we were ok with this as it was something we wanted todo, we were never given the option. We then went to Notre dame and a few other places. When we asked were the hotel was , we were told it wasn't on the map. Although the day allowed us to experience many sights etc the low point was the uncertainty of getting to the hotel. The bus took us back to the train station and then we had to find our own way to the hotel. The hotel was along way from the train station and not on the bus route for the hop on and hop off. The hotel was very nice. Perhaps providing a hotel drop off service could be considered as this caused us stress wondering how to get there , or one that is closer to train station.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Loved the trip as a whole but disappointed as there is a hotel pick up advertised on the voucher which is NOT available and I was not told this till I rang to confirm the booking a few days beforehand.Also, if you are doing the overnight stay, you have to take your luggage with you all day so be aware of this and maybe take a back pack. Guide is good but is not with you a lot of the time which can be daunting trying to find your way back to a meeting point at the end of the day. Loved Paris but these factors impacted on my trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

the escorted tour was disappointing as it was only having a "tour guide" escort you to the hop on hop off bus and then advised to get off at particular stops.

The tour guide was not very loud when speaking and the tour group of 7 people struggled to understand what he was saying and what we were meant to be doing. It appeared to be not a very professional tour as i could have easily got on a hop on and hop off bus myself and guided myself around as this tour was advised it was an escorted tour around and i did not expect to be escorted to get on a hop on hop off bus and was expecting a bus/coach for the tour group whom had paid to be shown around and not to be placed on a hop on hop off bus where this could have been done without an escorted tour guide.

The hotel was great being a 4 star accommodation, however, the location appeared to be quite seedy and the tour guide did not know where i was staying until i showed him the details and he had to show me how to get to my hotel via public transport - underground/train which i also had to pay for myself.

overall was an average tour due to expectations from previous tours purchased being more professional. If i had known earlier that the tour would be set up in this way, i would have chosen the non escorted tour being cheaper as there was not much difference being non escorted to being escorted as it was all on a hop on hop off bus.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

The trip felt unorganized. However, once we finally found the tour guide, he was more than helpful and welcoming. The hotel was disgusting and located far outside the city. Not only was this was more than inconvenient; it was also completely unsafe. We do not speak French, were unfamiliar with the public transportation system ahead of time AND the hotel was located in a very unsafe neighborhood. This nearly ruined the trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

LOndo end was good but in Paris the guide would you leave to go to the hotel and hotels was messed up as they provide two twin beds for a couple and breakfast was lousey. WE could not find hopon bus and thus the second day we had to depend on Metro including getting the train back. I suggest people get Mtero card for the day than bus as few of our ftriends who depended on Bus to get the train back almost missed it due to traffic jam. Guide pretty much leave you alone at Notardam and othe r[laces accept Eiffel tower.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

Unless you know French, go with the guided tour! Paris was a nightmare on your own. I can master the Tube in London but was completely lost when it came to the Metro. Lots of people were rude, the hotel is pretty north of everything but still decently located, the hotel room was not all that nice either but right around the corner from Moulin Rouge where I had amazing memories from the year before.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

First day and Second day are good, Hotel in Paris is good too! Until at the end of the tour... we 2 wait at the Opera station from 630pm to 800pm for the car to pickup and no one come, no bus come, no calls to Paris North Eurostar Station.. at last, I have to hire an expensive cab to Station to fit with Eurostar schedule... this really bring us trouble especially with luggages and not familiar in the country.

From USD $ 393.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE093_094

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message