4 star rating: Recommended 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:7 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Buckingham Palace and Windsor Castle Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ee Him O
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Recommended for the ease and convenience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I paid Viator for this tour. When I got home, I see an additional charge of 156.15 that was charged to my card on 8/12/15 by Victoria Coach Stn. 21. Can anyone tell me what this is all about

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The bus was late getting to Windsor due to a traffic accident so a detour was necessary. The line to get into Windsor took about an hour, no quick access. The time at Windsor was OK. When we arrived at Buckingham Palace we had 25 minutes to have lunch on our own. The neighborhood at the rear and side of the palace has quite limited quick meal opportunities. The tour is about the only way to do both palaces in 1 day but some people on our tour were to do the Tower of London also. Good Luck

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The morning pickup was ok, but the bus terminal was chaotic.
The time at Balmoral eaten away lining up to enter, pretty rushed.
All the BUCKINGHAM palace tour lovely but except for getting us in , it is a self tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Very interesting! Pay attention when booking tours tho'. Got two trips to Windsor Castle (my own fault) and probably would have booked differently if I had been paying more attention!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The trip to Windsor Castle was great. We arrived early and avoided the queues. However, we were dropped off two hours early at Buckingham Palace and were told to wait for our guide. He was late and simply walked us to the entrance. It would have been quicker to have gone on our own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Fairly Good tour. Guide cannot enter and talk about palaces. À bit of à déception.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

THE TOUR WAS GREAT THE ONLY PROMLEM WAS THE PICKUP TIME .WE WERE TOLD THE NIGHT
BFORE THAT WE WOULD BE PICKED UP AT 7:45 WE WWRE THERE BEFORE THAT AND WE
WAITED AND WERE FINALLY TOLD THAT YOU HAD BEEN THERE AT 7:30 AND HAD LEFT SO
IF WE WANTED TOMAKE THE TOUR WE WOULD HAVE TO GET A CAB TO VICTORIA STATION
WE MADE IT JUST IN TIME

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

This is basically an expensive bus ride to the attraction. As usual, the group operator didn't have the tickets in advance. The groups all had to walk up a hill instead of getting dropped off near the castle and there were roads that would have allowed them to get us closer. We had to stand in a long line running outside the castle, then once inside, we had to stand in another 15 minutes of lines. Groups who had arrived after us got in before us. The attractions speak for themselves and are definitely worth doing. But you're better off getting your own transportation.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We hd to stand in a long line outdoors at windsr castle. Also viator needs to correct its info online to state that the tour ends around 4:30pm not 3pm. Also it would make more sense to have the lunch break at windsor castle where there are several cafes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The tours were great so far but the trip to Buckingham Palace was not well organized. The tour guider forgot to bring the voucher; hence, it made us wait quite long to get in.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

There was too much waiting time,especially for Buckingham Palace.It was in the afternoon and by the time we got in we had an hour until closing.We were disappointed that we did not see the front of the palace.By the time we walked all the way to the street we were too tired to go all the way to the front.it was a long day with most of the time spent standing and waiting.Since we are seniors we found this to be an expensive venture with poor return.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Very disappointed with the Buckingham Palace tour in that we initially started the incorrect tour as the guide just left us once the tickets had been dispersed to the tour members. It was left to the Palace staff to identify and then rectify the issue.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The Windsor Castle's tour guide was excellent! Very knowledgeable and courteous. However, once we were dropped outside the Buckingham Palace it was another story. We had to wait an hour before we got inside the gates. Once we got inside, our tour guide told us to sit down and wait and she disappeared. We noticed how people from other groups were handed out tickets but we not even got one. Eventually, the line started moving and we went along with the flow but uncertain whether we'll need tickets to get in. It would have been nice if the tour guide had explain procedures and at least said good bye.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Good but in hindsight if there was not several tours linked together - Lunch at Harrods which we had to return to London for - it would have been good to spend more time at Windsor as we didn't need to enter Buckingham Palace until 2:30pm.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Castle and palace were great but the tour guide was miserable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Windsor Castle and Buckingham Palace..fantastic .10/10. Tour guide on coach..wonderful, friendly and funny and kept it together under stress day 9/10. Organisation abit haphazard and fell apart transferring our party from Windsor to Buckingham Palace...the bus waiting to take us to the latter left without us. Also the morning pick up didn't arrive for us and so we had to dash over to Victoria at extra taxi cost!! Not great. Finally it should not really be called beat the queues...as at both venues...yes you queue and queue!!! Still enjoyed the day and final word was thanks to our good humoured professional v knowledgable guide!! :-)

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Windsor castle was great. Left stranded at Buckingham palace with no ticket, we all got in but nobody new what was happening. Also need to be taken back to our hotels, when you buy the ticket there is no mention of not being taken back to your hotel you need to make that very clear when somebody buys a ticket. The guide for Windsor castle was great, but was unaware of what happens at Buckingham palace or the transport arrangements following the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Loved the tour, but really no benefit to skip the line. We waited in line like everyone else.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Good day. On the particular day though because we were in a group we had some waiting, where the normal entry line was empty. The Buckingham section we were just dropped of and had to make our own arrangements to get back to our hotel. We were unaware that this would be the case.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

I enjoyed the tours and the driver and host were both great. Our tour began at Windsor then continued at Buckingham. I think it would have been much better to have had lunch in Windsor rather than in London. We were rather rushed in Windsor to jump on bus and go to London to get off and find a restaurant near Buckingham Palace that wasn't packed at lunch time! I would recommend that extra time was given in Windsor that could either be spent at the Castle, in the town or eating then go straight to Buckingham.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

A little disappointing our first guide was good the second not so good, but thought it was expensive for what we got.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Windsor tour was excellent. On the way back sadly there was a mix up and we were left sitting by ourselfs at the entrance of buckingham palace and the tour guide left without clarrifying what was to be done next. The group was waiting for her and she never came back. The bus back was terrible, far too small for the number of people.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Tour Guides somewhat disorganized - almost as if this were the first time multiple 1/2 days trips were combined. The Windsor Castle tour is self-guided and to do the entire visit justice - you don't have enough time if you've combined with say a Stonehedge tour for the remainder of the day. Buckingham Palace - only open 10 weeks out of the year ... perfect time to visit.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

THIS TOUR SHOULD BE CALLED TRANSPORTATION TO WINDSOR AND BUCKINGHAM PALACE. THE GUIDE DID NOTHING BUT TAKE US TO THESE SITES AND GET US THE AUDIO GUIDE. THE SITES THEMSELVES WERE GREAT AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

From USD $ 147.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2452L04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message