4 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  7 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Buckingham Palace and Windsor Castle Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

The tour guide and bus driver were excellent and the reason for even two stars. The tour guide had some excellent stories and again, did a great job. The problem with the tour was it isn't a guided tour. It's a guided bus trip. We paid a lot of money for just a guided bus trip. The tours of both the Castle and Palace are self guided tours paid for with a general admission ticket. If you are one who doesn't mind arranging your own bus trip or go via the train (and that's very easy to do), you can do this for a whole lot less money. Again, if the bus trip tour guide wasn't as good as he was, I would have been really really upset. He saved what little there was to save. We could easily have done this ourselves for 25% of the price or probably even much less. I didn't actually price the train or bus trip to the Castle and we stayed within a couple blocks of the Palace and could have walked there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The guide was rushed for the two palaces tour. He constantly reminded everyone that we were trying to do too much. We spent a lot of time in transit to the location. He was sarcastic, and also kept getting mad at people taking pictures and was walking fast ahead of everything. Also on the second place, there was no guide except the one who got us in the palace and left, and there was the audioguide. Everyone in our family split up and some had to wait at the exit for the others and we didn't get our tea. I guess the beauty of the places didn't get that much spoiled by the tour so we had some fun.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

Winsor Castle tour was good. Our guide put up a pace a bit to quick for us. Missed the coach again and were left in Windsor but had a great experience catching a train back to London. We met people and saw some of the country we would else have overlooked. Again be sure to meet the times for the coaches.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Tour "guide" was horrible!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

Save your money, the tour was beyond horrible! We left 25 minutes late, we waited 1/2 hour to get into the castle, tour guide told us we would not have time to do the audio tour so we had to just ask a question or two tot he wardents in each room. Not enough time to see the castle, no time to see the shops. Had to be on the bus by noon so people who were going to a prearranged lunch could be on time. Arrived at Buckinghiam Palace at 1:10 pm and our entrance was not until 2:30 -- so just wandered around the streets. Tour guide knew LESS than anything- it was truly a horrible horrible waste of money and time!!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

This was an awful tour. The first guide talked non-stop so we didn't have time to see everything. the second guide disappeared and we didn't even get tickets.
It definitely wasn't worth the price. They dropped us off for lunch and we didn't even know where to go for lunch.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

Tour was vastly over priced. We could have done this on our own. The lines were still huge.our gudes for our two tours were a waste they just gave us a ride to the sites. Tours were audio tours anyway. Mass chaos and confusion at viator buses. One couple was left behind because they were late..we would recommend the tours but with someone else.overpriced!!!!!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

Very Poor.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

We were very disappointed with the tour which turned out to be just a bus ride with some commentary. The commentary was interesting but for the price it was not worth it. The line skipping did not exist. The general public line was nonexistent and the tour line was huge so we were delayed by at least half and hour. Then when returning to Buckingham the lady with the tickets was late again cutting our time at the palace. Why didn't the 1st guide just go in and buy the tickets and hand them out before leaving. Very bad planning.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

We were not impressed. We did wait in line for a very long time at Windsor Castle while others just walked up and went in. The same at Buckingham. The worst was trying to find where to get on the bus. Had we not had a cell phone we would never got to the meeting place. We were told Victoria Station where the buses pick up. There are numerous sites with buses collecting people. I had to get a person on the phone and talk us to the proper place. Very nerve racking considering we had paid alot of money and were in jeopardy of missing a bus that was nowhere to be found. We felt we were not given proper instructions especially beening from another country. Other than having the guide talk to us on the ride we were on our own. Could have easily done the whole thing ourselves.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

Tour guide was worthless....did not even mention that one should see the FRONT of Buckingham Palace or how to get there. Was NOT worth the money

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

You have the worse service. tour guides were great! getting to the tour, finding the tour, knowing that the tour has been subbed out, not knowing the tour's name, no phone# for the local tour company, ect. For example, I didn't know where to meet the tour. I called viator 5 times at international rates. Finally, after a 10 minute + hold time, I get a guy who tells me your not the tour and its the tour operator who knows where it is; yet, the tour operator is closed since viator's london hours are until 2am. Then he puts me on hold for 15 minutes only to tell me that there is a large office at the bus depot and it will be easy to find the tour operator. Guess what? they have no office. The Tour Operator randomly walks around. I finally spotted a small name tag on a woman and that's how i found the tour operator at victoria station after walking in circles for 30 minutes. PS Our tour was not listed on the departures board. I would never use your service ever again.

From USD $ 149.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2452L04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message