Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Susan M W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Windsor castle was great. Left stranded at Buckingham palace with no ticket, we all got in but nobody new what was happening. Also need to be taken back to our hotels, when you buy the ticket there is no mention of not being taken back to your hotel you need to make that very clear when somebody buys a ticket. The guide for Windsor castle was great, but was unaware of what happens at Buckingham palace or the transport arrangements following the tour.

Martin B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Loved the tour, but really no benefit to skip the line. We waited in line like everyone else.

William N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Good day. On the particular day though because we were in a group we had some waiting, where the normal entry line was empty. The Buckingham section we were just dropped of and had to make our own arrangements to get back to our hotel. We were unaware that this would be the case.

Michelle S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

I enjoyed the tours and the driver and host were both great. Our tour began at Windsor then continued at Buckingham. I think it would have been much better to have had lunch in Windsor rather than in London. We were rather rushed in Windsor to jump on bus and go to London to get off and find a restaurant near Buckingham Palace that wasn't packed at lunch time! I would recommend that extra time was given in Windsor that could either be spent at the Castle, in the town or eating then go straight to Buckingham.

Spencer G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

A little disappointing our first guide was good the second not so good, but thought it was expensive for what we got.

Ann-Maree O

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Windsor tour was excellent. On the way back sadly there was a mix up and we were left sitting by ourselfs at the entrance of buckingham palace and the tour guide left without clarrifying what was to be done next. The group was waiting for her and she never came back. The bus back was terrible, far too small for the number of people.

Kimberly C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Tour Guides somewhat disorganized - almost as if this were the first time multiple 1/2 days trips were combined. The Windsor Castle tour is self-guided and to do the entire visit justice - you don't have enough time if you've combined with say a Stonehedge tour for the remainder of the day. Buckingham Palace - only open 10 weeks out of the year ... perfect time to visit.

Lynda C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The morning part of the trip to Windsor Castle was excellent, along with our guide, however the afternoon part of the trip to Buckingham Palace was a disaster. The new guide just stood there, ticked our names off, then asked us all to sit on some seats and left us. We had absolutely no idea as to what was going on. So not totally a great day.

Mary Grace D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

THIS TOUR SHOULD BE CALLED TRANSPORTATION TO WINDSOR AND BUCKINGHAM PALACE. THE GUIDE DID NOTHING BUT TAKE US TO THESE SITES AND GET US THE AUDIO GUIDE. THE SITES THEMSELVES WERE GREAT AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Maureen D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Wonderful, but could have used more time at Windsor. Waited on line too long. Didn't have time to get into the church.

Maree M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Disappointed with the delay in bus leaving london for Windsor and then the lengthy delay in queue to get into castle. I would have thought you would have booked a time so we could have gone in fairly quiclkly. This delay meant we were unable to all that we wanted too. Most people on the trip felt the same.

Gary B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tours and palaces we visited were great and beautiful. However, I expected more from the tour company who were apparently subcontractors of VIATOR. Tickets were not pre-arranged and we stood in long lines for Windsor castle. We were handed off to another person at Buckingham Palace, who appeared to be new as she did not know how to get tickets, so again we stood in lines, even though the time slot was scheduled for our group (apx 40 to 50). The big surprise is at the last stop everyone was informed they would have to find their own way back to their hotels. No transportation to where they picked us up. WHAT A SUPRISE TO EVERYONE. I Wouldn't considered booking again with VIATOR.

James O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour was fine once we received our tickets, but our guide, Becky, was 45 minutes late meeting us (a large number of us waited at first patiently and then not so patiently) and offered no apology or explanation for her delay. In fact, her behavior was surly at best. Although the group managed to contact someone at the office by phone, we were told nothing but that someone would be along in ten minutes which ultimately turned into forty-five. We received no explanations from this contact nor any apology either. Had I not had good experiences on my other tours booked through Viator, I don't know if I would use them again. As it stands, I still am waiting for an apology and explanation.

Glenys F Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Windsor Castle it self was dissapointing but Buckingham Palace was eye opening.

Jasdeep S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Great historical tour. Lots of time at Windsor... Disappointed with Buckingham Palace part. We were dropped off an hour before tour... Then had to wait for close to 40 minutes to get in. No guides no nothing. Tour could have done on owe. There was no guide at either spots which was a let down. Nothing personal nothing special.

Richard V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Took one hour to pick up everyone from the hotels. Didn't need a tour guide since they can't go inside Windsor Castle or Buckingham Palace. Free audio headsets were given for both tours. Take your own public transit to sites and save time and money.

William J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

The tour guide and bus driver were excellent and the reason for even two stars. The tour guide had some excellent stories and again, did a great job. The problem with the tour was it isn't a guided tour. It's a guided bus trip. We paid a lot of money for just a guided bus trip. The tours of both the Castle and Palace are self guided tours paid for with a general admission ticket. If you are one who doesn't mind arranging your own bus trip or go via the train (and that's very easy to do), you can do this for a whole lot less money. Again, if the bus trip tour guide wasn't as good as he was, I would have been really really upset. He saved what little there was to save. We could easily have done this ourselves for 25% of the price or probably even much less. I didn't actually price the train or bus trip to the Castle and we stayed within a couple blocks of the Palace and could have walked there.

Nik G USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The guide was rushed for the two palaces tour. He constantly reminded everyone that we were trying to do too much. We spent a lot of time in transit to the location. He was sarcastic, and also kept getting mad at people taking pictures and was walking fast ahead of everything. Also on the second place, there was no guide except the one who got us in the palace and left, and there was the audioguide. Everyone in our family split up and some had to wait at the exit for the others and we didn't get our tea. I guess the beauty of the places didn't get that much spoiled by the tour so we had some fun.

Linda Z USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

Winsor Castle tour was good. Our guide put up a pace a bit to quick for us. Missed the coach again and were left in Windsor but had a great experience catching a train back to London. We met people and saw some of the country we would else have overlooked. Again be sure to meet the times for the coaches.

Mary C. M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Could have just as easily done this one on our own with less hassle.

Jean E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Tour "guide" was horrible!!

Stephanie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

Save your money, the tour was beyond horrible! We left 25 minutes late, we waited 1/2 hour to get into the castle, tour guide told us we would not have time to do the audio tour so we had to just ask a question or two tot he wardents in each room. Not enough time to see the castle, no time to see the shops. Had to be on the bus by noon so people who were going to a prearranged lunch could be on time. Arrived at Buckinghiam Palace at 1:10 pm and our entrance was not until 2:30 -- so just wandered around the streets. Tour guide knew LESS than anything- it was truly a horrible horrible waste of money and time!!!!

Lorna S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

This was an awful tour. The first guide talked non-stop so we didn't have time to see everything. the second guide disappeared and we didn't even get tickets.
It definitely wasn't worth the price. They dropped us off for lunch and we didn't even know where to go for lunch.

Elaine B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

Tour was vastly over priced. We could have done this on our own. The lines were still huge.our gudes for our two tours were a waste they just gave us a ride to the sites. Tours were audio tours anyway. Mass chaos and confusion at viator buses. One couple was left behind because they were late..we would recommend the tours but with someone else.overpriced!!!!!!!

Midas

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

Very Poor.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

Special Offer
$141.54 Save $14.15

From USD $ 127.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2452L04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message