4.5 star rating: Recommended 86 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Budget Independent Rail Tour to Paris by Eurostar. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 86 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

The rep got there 30 min later than the other tour company guides. It was nerve racking because getting through security took some time.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Very easy and simple way to travel to Paris without all the hassle of organising eurostar tickets yourself. Were told check in was no later than 6.30am, yet the tour operator didn't arrive until at least 6.50am but was very helpful when asked any questions. Great way to see exactly what you want and enjoy a full day in Paris without a guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great trip. It was easy to find the Viator rep at the St. Pancras station. The metro pass was VERY useful. On the return trip, somehow I ended up with a Business Class seat. Extra bonus. All in all everything went very smoothly but as other mentioned what a LONG day! Worht it!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Paris is fairly easy to maneuver, but finding the eurostar station IN the station is hard. Leave plenty of time getting back to the train. The gate for the train CLOSES 30 minutes before leaving... get to that station an hour ahead. this trip doesn't leave much time for long tours... we booked the eiffel tower timed tickets on the tower web site... that and lunch, was about all we had time for. If you want to experience paris for the day and save a bit of omoney, do this, but watch your time. its very doable. and the train is terrific!

Andrew M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The person from Evan Evans Tours was late with our tickets, which talking to the other people waiting in line that did not seem to be out of the ordinary for them, and when the person did show up, there was no apology for being late. Despite that however, it was an enjoyable trip. I found that Paris was easy to get around and felt that it was a much more beautiful city than London. I wasn't quite prepared for very long lines at a number of Paris' most famous sites, but I was still able to see and do a lot in just one day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Its a good way to get to paris for a day trip. It would be more convenient to conplement this with the Paris hop on hop off tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Paris in a day is totally doable. We saw everything we wanted and even ended up back at the train station an hour early. The included metro tickets are great and a real money saver as long as you're comfortable with the dingy Paris subway system. While Viator's great prices on the train ride makes me recommend this trip, I'm only giving it four stars because of the lack of information given after purchase. We were standing in the train station for 30 minutes in London before we saw another American couple with the same printed voucher who happened to have a cell phone. They called the number and were told someone was on their way to gate 5. This was almost 30 minutes after the check-in time and had we not found this couple we would probably have not found the woman who had our tickets. Other than that, Paris was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The price was right, but we received incorrect information as to when we were to meet at the train station in the morning and as a result, awoke at least an hour and a half earlier than necessary. This resulted in us becoming tired much sooner than necessary. We were allowed to ride the bus with the escorted group into the city and that was greatly appreciated.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

An experience to be remembered by my 14 year old grandson. The security is as strict as international flying and gives a sense of safety. Smooth enough for a good nap returning on a day trip. The tour representative was easy to locate in the London terminal, and she was very helpful. Tickets, tour brochures and Metro tickets were all in order.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

I was not cracked up about Paris after I got there, but if you are looking to go for the day this is a good option. You are a little rushed for time but you could get it done.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The Eurostar is fast, efficient and clean. The trip overall was very nice, but one day in Paris is simply not enough time to see the city and museums. The Eurostar train station is connected to the Metro station and it is relatively easy getting to Notre Dame from there. As a tourist, the red "Hop on, Hop off" bus is more useful than the Metro pass as it gives you a view of the city along with the recorded historical narrative. This budget package may not be suited for the novice traveler as it is up to you to get around and figure it out. Overall it was a great trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

I do not understand why we had to be at the train station so early. As an adult i would think it would be my responsibility to make sure that I was at the station in a timely manner. We arrived only to have to wait around for well over an hour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

Paris was awesome, but we should have taken the the guided tour. Getting around was a little difficult due to the maps that we received not being very readable. Once we were on the bus it would pull over and stop and say "find another one, I am off the clock." This happened to me twice in a 5 hour period.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Train was nice. Paris was good. A lot to see in the city, and one day may have been too little to see everything. We got a taste for the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Paris was great, but I recommend using a tour bus instead of going completely on your own.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Make sure you don't go on a Tuesday--the Louvre is CLOSED! That was a disappointment. The rail trip was fast and comfortable. All in all this is a convenient way to spend a day in Paris.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

All went well except that we were told to be at the Eurostar welcome desk by 6:15 a.m. at the latest to pick up our tickets, etc. but the tour company representative did not arrive until 630 a.m. Not a big problem, but just annoying since another tour company representative was available on time for their clients.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was definitely a good deal for the money with the travel card included and everything. And the tour operator was very professional. The only problem I had was confirming my trip, because when I called them, they gave me the wrong location to meet them at the Eurostar to pick up my tickets. So I called again the day of and got the right location. So remember to double-check that with the tour company.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

This is the best deal we found! You get the Eurostar pass plus subway passes for the day and maps to help you around town. It is much cheaper than to just buy the Eurostar tickets.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This tour consists of roundtrip Eurostar tickets and a one day metro pass. The schedule allows for 10 hours in Paris. If you plan well and the weather cooperates, this is sufficient time for a great day in a great city. The train tickets can be obtained for less money directly from Eurostar, but only if you are able to make your reservations well in advance, though for a last minute trip, this isn't a bad deal. Everything delivered as promised.

Rhonda W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

We picked up our package without a hitch. We enjoyed our Eurostar ride and used the metro pass extensively. We soon realised that we could not see all we wanted to in the time available to us, so decided to see just 4 attractions, Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame Cathedral, Champs Elysees and Palace of Versailles and spend quality time at each. We were not disappointed. We would recommend this trip to anyone with limited time as we had.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The all-day metro pass was a surprise, because they don't tell you about it until after you purchase the package. If you plan your day ahead of time, you can definitely get it all done!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

We got to the terminal at 6:25 am, the ticket said to arrive at 6:15, no later than 6:30. We went to terminal 5 and stood in the long line finally getting to the front to be told our tour guide wasn't there and we would have to call. Not having a phone in Europe, the man was nice enough to let us use his, but it went straight to voice mail. It is now after 6:30am, I am having a panic attack thinking I've spent almost $400 and I have no way of contacting a tour operator that no one seems to be able to find. Suddenly a woman shows up out of nowhere at 6:45am and hands out the tickets and passes and acts like it's no big deal that she is 30 minutes later than the time we were told to show up. It also would have been nice to be told ahead of time instead of that morning it would be a good idea to change money in London instead of Paris - when it is printed on the written instructions we were given 2 minutes prior to boarding (because our guide didn't bother showing up) we didn't know how hard it would be to fnd to a money changer once we got to Paris. That would be good information to publish ahead of time. Banks don't always change money, and money changers are sometimes difficult to find.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The only thing I would say about this is that there should be 2 return times for the train. We finished sight seeing early and it would have cost us 300.00 euro to change our time back to London.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

this was a very organized tour...just be aware it is a long day. A very nice day, but if you want to leave early you will pay BIG money...It was a really nice trip I enjoyed the train ride a lot

From USD $ 225.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE033

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message