4.5 star rating: Recommended 86 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Budget Independent Rail Tour to Paris by Eurostar. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 86 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

Trip was great. Easy way to do Paris by self. Bit of confusion in check in when another vendor tried to tell me that my vendor would not be there for another 20 minutes when they where there all along. When I confronted that person, she just shrugged. Rough way to start a trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The train ride to Paris was wonderful. I got the Metro pass, and had no problem going to the sites that I wanted to go do. The problem started when I went to go back to England. I had 6 hours before the train left, but could not get on an earlier train. And Eurostar had no waiting area that was heated, before you checked in, and wouldn't let me check in for 4 hours. I wound up with a cold, and was unable to take two more of my tours because of it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

It was very hard to find the person that had our tickets. No one was identify as our traveler guide. We lost a lost of time waiting for the train. We should have more time to Shop and see.The tour should be with the first train out to Paris and returning on the last one.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

You are pretty much buying a Eurostar ticket for a discounted price. I bought my tickets together with my new fiance to celebrate our new engagement in Paris and our seats weren't even next to each other!!! Thankfully a nice single lady traded seats with us. ould have been done better. I wish I would have spent a little more to get the next better package. The seating situation was VERY disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

Had a very frustrating experience! We called the day before to confirm the trip and times and were told we HAD to be there at 630am. So we had very little sleep, took a cab to the station, got there at 620am and there was no rep. there. By 700am there was still no rep there so we called and were told that since it was a Bank Holiday, the train is not leaving until 1 hour later and that we did not have to be there until 730 am. None of this was on our Viator voucher. So we rated for the rep and finally left at 830 am. Also, we were travelling with another group. When they checked in with the rep., the rep. told them they had been upgraded and they travelled first class on the Eurostar and were given meals both ways. My partner and myself, were given poor economy seats and had to travel facing backwards with no window! We were not compensated in any way for given the wrong information on this trip. Once there, Paris was beautiful and a joy to take in.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

We were provided Paris Metro passes for lines 1, 2, and 3. However, only lines 4 and 5 were available at Gare du Nord, the rail station in Paris. We incurred additional costs for taxi fares.

Michelle P
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

There is a review that is not accurate, and sadly I read this review and ended up quite disappointed. The Viste Pass you get is NOT a hop on, hop off bus. It is the equivalent of an Oyster card in London. The Viste Pass basically allows you to use the underground and buses around Paris. As you can imagine, I was disappointed. My tip would be to make sure you've researched where you want to go and how you intend to get there!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

Had a few issues with ticket issuance and train delays. Once I got there, it was an OK trip. Delays also on the way back. Best to do an overnight! And a definite must for ALL info to be provided at the time of booking! If you are from the US and do not have the proper phone, good luck trying to speak with anyone in the Viator office!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

My niece Angela & I recently took this budget tour in conjunction with our England trip. I just want to offer a suggestion. I had been to Paris before and had seen all the important sites by taking the 2-decker sightseeing bus - the actual hop-on-hop-off bus. We tried desperately to use the option you provided - metro and subway and it was more complicated than we expected. We ended up walking everywhere and taking the metro and did not see half of what I had promised her. Do your customers a favor and invest in the 22 Euros it costs to have the real sightseeing bus instead of making the excursion of a lifetime a bust.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2009

The sole purpose for taking a day trip to Paris was to visit the Louvre - it was closed for the day. A complete waste of time, money and effort.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2007

Everything but service from the tour operator was great, the agency provided us only with 1 Paris travel card instead of 2 and did not even say they were sorry. The tickets were issued for the seats not close to each other even though there were empty seats. Viator itself is great! And we still enjoyed Paris!

Note from Viator: We are very sorry about the oversight on our part, in only providing you with one Visite Paris Card. We have refunded you for the difference and apologize for the confusion.

Concerning the seating on the train, this is entirely up to Eurostar, they allocate the seats. We do advise passengers who are not seated together to ask the train manager if they can change seats, this is not usually a problem if there are empty seats.

We hope that you enjoyed your day and have retained happy memories of your time in Paris.

From USD $ 223.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE033

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message