4 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

The towns are very interesting and beautiful, however wanted to listen to more stories from the guide

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

It's a nice tour. A qucik way to visit 2 great universities.

JANICE S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was great trip in most regards though it was a lot of "in bus time". The guide was excellent and well informed and guided us through the main colleges of each city. Unfortunately the main college that I wished to see was closed on the day, not Viators fault. I was offered an alternative date!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

cambridge is so lovely oxford is so busy. long day but worth it

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good tour, but very rushed, especially in Cambridge. Could have used one extra hour of free time in each location, but glad we went on the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good and informative trip , time was short to cover both Cambridge and Oxford in a day .
Vivek Gupta
Dubai

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

nice trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great day out and a good way to see both cities when you have limited time available. Guide was excellent!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was nice to visit the two universities but the amount of driving and time it takes to get to each site was too much! It takes nearly 1.5-2 hours to get to Cambridge, 1.5 hours between Cambridge and Oxford and then nearly 1.5 hours to come back to London. The campuses were lovely and the guide was excellent! If it were closer together, it would have been better!

Marco F
Italy

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Very nice trip, but we needed more time in the two destinations. Possibly the tour should start earlier in the morning to allow for additional time. Our guide was very nice and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

We enjoyed the tour. It was a pity that the time in each town could not be a half hour longer, but that is understandable given the time constraints. The tour guide was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. Thanks for the fun time!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

We felt it was quite rushed with not enough time to explore on our own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Can be 1-2 hours longer would be perfect

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was just okay. I didn't like it ended at a place that we weren't familiar with. The tour guide rushed us off the bus somewhere in the city. We took a taxi back to the hotel. I expected that but still didn't like it. Maybe it was because I didn't like the tour guide. :(

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Cambridge a little disappointing, Oxford has much more to see. If interested in feeling the atmosphere of the most important colleges, don't go there in August as I did. You will spend at least 6 hours on the bus and less than 4 hours visiting the two towns. Worth doing only if you just want to have a very quick pick of Oxbridge and tell everyone you've been there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Getting onto the coach at Victoria Coach Station was chaotic but once we got under way, it was a good tour. The tour guide Emily really made the trip as she was very knowledgeable and her presentation was lively. It is a good way to see both towns if you are pushed for time. It is a very brief overview as you are on the road for a long time, but you see the main sights.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and gave us a good introduction to both universities. We really looked forward to seeing Oxford and Cambridge but didn't anticipate the density of the crowds in both towns. Photography was almost impossible. We are glad we took the tour but would like to spend more time in each place and at a less crowded season, if there is such a thing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I enjoyed the tour and was very impressed with both towns and the history, however, I felt with 52 people on the tour, it was a bit much for the tour guide to handle. There were tourists walking on the road in front of bikes and one family was 15 minutes late back when we had been given strict time frames to return to the bus. i think a group of 15 to 20 would have been much more viable for a successful tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was fine but would have preferred a smaller tour and a little more time to stop for a drink. About 3stars

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The guide, Chrissie, is professional in sharing the information of each place. She provides good background and history of the 2 colleges.

However, there was not enough time provided for exploring Cambridge and lunch. We had little time to walk around Cambridge before grabbing lunch to eat on the coach.

We were encouraged to bring non-hot food to lunch on the coach, while the guide brought hot coffee onto the coach. Talk about double standard.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Good tour if you wish to get an overview of the two cities. However, as other reviews stated, very rushed. No time at all basically to explore yourself. In Oxford we were given 20 minutes to look around and meet back at a point, one man was literally 1 minute late and the guide was having a fit! I think the tour bus should have given a better run around the cities to give you a good orientation and concept of size. I think if you are staying in London for a few days you would be better to take public transport to one of the cities and do a hop on hop off tour, it would be beter value for money and you would see more of the cities. The short time we did have in the cities included visiting a Church and a Dining Hall, to be honest these were fee paying attractions and if I had visited the cities on my own i probably would have bothered paying to go into these. Also, the price of the ticket included the entrance fees to these attractions but we were extremely rushed!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

The bus rides to Cambridge and between Cambridge and Oxford were quite long. Both universities are beautiful, but we didn't get much time to explore them both on our own. The parts of the universities we did see were amazing, but we also had to squeeze in lunch on our own during the "free time" we had. I think one day for each university would be better to fully appreciate both places.

Judy
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Well worth doing as a day tour but as we all know a day tour just gives an overview of a place so you don't get too long in either town to see much, other than what the guide shows you. Long drive between Oxford and Cambridge and our guide and the driver were talking loudly the whole way so it was really hard to have a rest. Overall though not a bad day and good value if you don't have time to stay overnight in either town. Departure from Victoria coach could have been more prompt and they changed the gate without informing anyone.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Bus ride too long and rushed visit of both sites.

From USD $ 131.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE027

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message