Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hilda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This day trip was awesome -- from the beginning of the day when we were handed our travel packet -- to the end of the day's ride home on the train -- would definitely recommend this trip -- but it does take an ENTIRE day!

Owenita E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Edinburgh is a beautiful city. We wish we had more time. The person who delivered our travel packet was late arriving at King's Cross Station, otherwise the whole trip was very smooth. Going back to London, we took the early train by mistake, but it worked for us because we arrived in London 30 minutes earlier.

Merrilyn Auton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a fabulous day, well worth the trip and very comfortable, I found I had plenty of time to do loads of sightseeing within the day.

Gamesmaker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

They gave us tickets and tour plan and a good advise on using the time. They can add Holyroodh palace entry an optional item as well.

vycd1991

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great tour, excellent

beeswax21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We loved our time in Edinburgh and wished we could have stayed longer. However, after arriving in Edinburgh, it was very difficult to find where to receive our tickets for the hop on/hop off bus. The directions should be made more clear. Great trip, though.

MARIA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great trip, despite the almost 10 hours on train, Edinburgh really worth it!

jolon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Amazing. The train ride was very pleasant and we went passed the sea at one point. Beautiful Scottish countryside. We didn't have much time in Edinburgh and the weather was atrocious apparently unusual for this time of year. Very cold wet and windy. Nonetheless I thoroughly enjoyed it. First stop was Edinburgh Castle where I warmed myself up in the cafe with a haggis pie! John Knox's house was also a priority. I also climbed the monument for 3 pounds which gives you good views of Edinburgh. 287 dizzy spiral steps. I'm a thin guy and only just squeezed through the staircase at the top. Wet and slippery, but I think it cured my fear of heights! Would love to return to Scotland.

Shane H South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Brilliant!

Robert Caminas USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent one day trip. We got to see all the important sites and enjoy lunch all in one day.

Richo's Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Although it was a long day, it was well worth the trip to Edinburgh. You had plenty of time to visit the castle and the hop on and off bus was a great way to see the city

Herbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent for a one-day tour. Everything was prepared and booked for us, no queue, no time waisted. Edinburgh is marvellous, we wished we have stayed a night. Even if the tour lasted 16 hours, we were really no tired and enjoyed the train voyage with its beautiful scottish sceneries.

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Higly recommended

mercedes i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

loved it!! how cool it was to visit scotland while vacationing in london..

Mark J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

What a great way to see Scotland for a day! Viator made the trip effortless and fun; we were able to concentrate on the fun of the adventure instead of worrying over details and time constraints. What a great opportunity to make the most of limited time. Our time in Edinburgh will never be forgotten. Great fun, highly recommended!

Federico O USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Excellent! Edinburgh is a beautiful city worth the long trip. Off course this is only a taste... Will come back for at least 1 week to this beautiful city.

karla b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Loved the trip! Edinburgh is so beautiful and the countryside viewed from the train is not to be missed. I had a great time

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

My husband and I recently did this trip and loved it! Yes it was a full on day but the train was comfortable and a chance to see the countryside views was good. Edinburgh was a fantastic city even though we only had a shor time there. We would have no hesitation in recommending this day trip. Katherine & Richard Perth Western Australia

Marianne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

For a one-day excursion, this tour is a great way to see a bit of Scotland. The train ride provides beautiful views of the landscape between London and Edinburgh. We got off the train and went straight to the castle via the bus passes provided. We had plenty of time to tour the castle and visit some other sights while we were there. Our group split up so we could see the sights that interested each of us. I toured the Palace of Holyroodhouse, which was definitely worthwhile, although I only listened to the first part of the audio tour in each room to save some time. Other places visited include Scottish Parliament and the Library. Plan well and you will be able to get a good taste of the city.

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Our trip to Edinburgh was wonderful we really enjoyed the trip and recommend to others

Morgan P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The tour was fantastic and the scenery unbelievable would definately recommend. Drawback Making connections with the tour guide at the train station. We found it stressful to wait until the last possible minute to see if they would arrive with our train tickets, etc. They need a sign in a specific place so people who have never been in that station before know where to meet!

TIFFANY G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was a really well planned trip and so much fun. The train ride is really long 4 12 hrs but the countryside along the way is stunning and it's fairly easy to sleep. Edinburgh Castle was really amazing and I would recommended taking the guided tour, which is free, you get good information about the Castle and about Scotland. The hop-on, hop-off was a nice way to see the town and appreciate the history. We recommend taking the bus tour directly to the castle, spend as much time as you want in the castle you'll also be there for the 1pm gun and then ride the bus tour in it's entirety to see the rest of the town. You'll have plenty of time to shop and eat along the way. We actually finished early, around 430-5pm and since the tickets are open tickets, you can take the early trains back to London. It was a really nice day and we really enjoyed Scotland.

PEGGY K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Although the train ride is very long, the city of Edinburgh and the castle are well worth the trip. We were told to be at the train station by 630 A.M., but the Evan Evans Representative was 10 to 15 minutes late. Also the letter of instructions from Evan Evans explaning where to get tickets was confusing. A woman where we received the bus tickets was equally confused by the letter and made several calls to see where we should get tickets for the castle. We eventually went to the castle and received our tickets there. Despite the confusion, little time was wasted and the trip was great.

Richard M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Although the train trip is quite long, the city is absolutely beautiful. We didn't have enough time to use the bus since our main attraction was the castle. However, you can get around by walking. I highly recommend the restaurant next to the station. Great food. Great trip!

Janet C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Meeting the co-ordinator. would have been better if they were highlighted, espicailly at that time in the morning, and the tickets for edinburgh castle should be explained that they are VIP tickets and you dont have to queue. but collected from the vip shop. Apart from those two things. fantastic. Edinburgh is perfect for a one day trip like this, and gives a glimpse into all the things that would be great to go back and see again, for longer. Everything else was brillantly explained, and easy. A long day, and a good day. well worth money and time.

Viewing 2 of 6

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 257.93

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message