• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Shane H
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Brilliant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent one day trip. We got to see all the important sites and enjoy lunch all in one day.

Richo's
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Although it was a long day, it was well worth the trip to Edinburgh. You had plenty of time to visit the castle and the hop on and off bus was a great way to see the city

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent for a one-day tour. Everything was prepared and booked for us, no queue, no time waisted. Edinburgh is marvellous, we wished we have stayed a night. Even if the tour lasted 16 hours, we were really no tired and enjoyed the train voyage with its beautiful scottish sceneries.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Higly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

loved it!! how cool it was to visit scotland while vacationing in london..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

What a great way to see Scotland for a day! Viator made the trip effortless and fun; we were able to concentrate on the fun of the adventure instead of worrying over details and time constraints. What a great opportunity to make the most of limited time. Our time in Edinburgh will never be forgotten. Great fun, highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Excellent! Edinburgh is a beautiful city worth the long trip. Off course this is only a taste... Will come back for at least 1 week to this beautiful city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Loved the trip! Edinburgh is so beautiful and the countryside viewed from the train is not to be missed. I had a great time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

My husband and I recently did this trip and loved it! Yes it was a full on day but the train was comfortable and a chance to see the countryside views was good. Edinburgh was a fantastic city even though we only had a shor time there. We would have no hesitation in recommending this day trip. Katherine & Richard Perth Western Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

For a one-day excursion, this tour is a great way to see a bit of Scotland. The train ride provides beautiful views of the landscape between London and Edinburgh. We got off the train and went straight to the castle via the bus passes provided. We had plenty of time to tour the castle and visit some other sights while we were there. Our group split up so we could see the sights that interested each of us. I toured the Palace of Holyroodhouse, which was definitely worthwhile, although I only listened to the first part of the audio tour in each room to save some time. Other places visited include Scottish Parliament and the Library. Plan well and you will be able to get a good taste of the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Our trip to Edinburgh was wonderful we really enjoyed the trip and recommend to others

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The tour was fantastic and the scenery unbelievable would definately recommend. Drawback Making connections with the tour guide at the train station. We found it stressful to wait until the last possible minute to see if they would arrive with our train tickets, etc. They need a sign in a specific place so people who have never been in that station before know where to meet!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was a really well planned trip and so much fun. The train ride is really long 4 12 hrs but the countryside along the way is stunning and it's fairly easy to sleep. Edinburgh Castle was really amazing and I would recommended taking the guided tour, which is free, you get good information about the Castle and about Scotland. The hop-on, hop-off was a nice way to see the town and appreciate the history. We recommend taking the bus tour directly to the castle, spend as much time as you want in the castle you'll also be there for the 1pm gun and then ride the bus tour in it's entirety to see the rest of the town. You'll have plenty of time to shop and eat along the way. We actually finished early, around 430-5pm and since the tickets are open tickets, you can take the early trains back to London. It was a really nice day and we really enjoyed Scotland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Although the train ride is very long, the city of Edinburgh and the castle are well worth the trip. We were told to be at the train station by 630 A.M., but the Evan Evans Representative was 10 to 15 minutes late. Also the letter of instructions from Evan Evans explaning where to get tickets was confusing. A woman where we received the bus tickets was equally confused by the letter and made several calls to see where we should get tickets for the castle. We eventually went to the castle and received our tickets there. Despite the confusion, little time was wasted and the trip was great.

From USD $ 288.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message