4.5 star rating: Recommended 107 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 107 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

For a one-day excursion, this tour is a great way to see a bit of Scotland. The train ride provides beautiful views of the landscape between London and Edinburgh. We got off the train and went straight to the castle via the bus passes provided. We had plenty of time to tour the castle and visit some other sights while we were there. Our group split up so we could see the sights that interested each of us. I toured the Palace of Holyroodhouse, which was definitely worthwhile, although I only listened to the first part of the audio tour in each room to save some time. Other places visited include Scottish Parliament and the Library. Plan well and you will be able to get a good taste of the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Our trip to Edinburgh was wonderful we really enjoyed the trip and recommend to others

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The tour was fantastic and the scenery unbelievable would definately recommend. Drawback Making connections with the tour guide at the train station. We found it stressful to wait until the last possible minute to see if they would arrive with our train tickets, etc. They need a sign in a specific place so people who have never been in that station before know where to meet!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was a really well planned trip and so much fun. The train ride is really long 4 12 hrs but the countryside along the way is stunning and it's fairly easy to sleep. Edinburgh Castle was really amazing and I would recommended taking the guided tour, which is free, you get good information about the Castle and about Scotland. The hop-on, hop-off was a nice way to see the town and appreciate the history. We recommend taking the bus tour directly to the castle, spend as much time as you want in the castle you'll also be there for the 1pm gun and then ride the bus tour in it's entirety to see the rest of the town. You'll have plenty of time to shop and eat along the way. We actually finished early, around 430-5pm and since the tickets are open tickets, you can take the early trains back to London. It was a really nice day and we really enjoyed Scotland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Although the train ride is very long, the city of Edinburgh and the castle are well worth the trip. We were told to be at the train station by 630 A.M., but the Evan Evans Representative was 10 to 15 minutes late. Also the letter of instructions from Evan Evans explaning where to get tickets was confusing. A woman where we received the bus tickets was equally confused by the letter and made several calls to see where we should get tickets for the castle. We eventually went to the castle and received our tickets there. Despite the confusion, little time was wasted and the trip was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Although the train trip is quite long, the city is absolutely beautiful. We didn't have enough time to use the bus since our main attraction was the castle. However, you can get around by walking. I highly recommend the restaurant next to the station. Great food. Great trip!

Janet C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Meeting the co-ordinator. would have been better if they were highlighted, espicailly at that time in the morning, and the tickets for edinburgh castle should be explained that they are VIP tickets and you dont have to queue. but collected from the vip shop. Apart from those two things. fantastic. Edinburgh is perfect for a one day trip like this, and gives a glimpse into all the things that would be great to go back and see again, for longer. Everything else was brillantly explained, and easy. A long day, and a good day. well worth money and time.

Manfred C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great value for money. Travelled from London to Edinburgh saw that many palaces and castles to last a life time at an extremely reasonable cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Edinburgh is magnificent. It is completely unescorted - so do your research into what you want to see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Beautiful city. Loved the architecture. Very friendly people. Long train ride but definitely worth the ride!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent package. Be warned that most of the time is spent in the train going and getting back. If you are prepared for that you will definitely enjoy your day trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent package. Be warned that most of the time is spent in the train going and getting back. If you are prepared for that you will definitely enjoy your day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

It's a long train ride from London to Edinburgh and back but the city is definitely worth visiting. Edinburgh Castle was great. We saw a near full moon over the ocean on the way home. Very nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

One of the highlights of our trip. Forget Rome and even Paris, though Paris is beautiful, Edinburgh has to be the most beautiful city we saw in our trip. Edinburgh Castle was amazing, the sights were great, and we even got to see the palace of Mary Queen of Scots. Of all the day tours we took, this was the best organized. While other day tours take you by bus and waste your time, this sets you on a fast train to Edinburgh, gives you a double decker bus to see the sights, and gives free entry to the most important sites. This tour was worth every dollar we paid and then some.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Absolutely loved it, but there was not nearly enough time to do everything. It's breathtakingly beautiful, and there are hundreds of amazing shops. We only had enough time to take the bus tour, do a quick run through the castle, and do a small amount of shopping. There isn't enough time to do it all. I highly recommend doing this trip as a two-day excursion, rather than a one day. If you can manage an overnight stay, and have the entire next day to explore, you will be able to enjoy so much more.

From USD $ 280.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message