• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Although the train trip is quite long, the city is absolutely beautiful. We didn't have enough time to use the bus since our main attraction was the castle. However, you can get around by walking. I highly recommend the restaurant next to the station. Great food. Great trip!

Janet C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Meeting the co-ordinator. would have been better if they were highlighted, espicailly at that time in the morning, and the tickets for edinburgh castle should be explained that they are VIP tickets and you dont have to queue. but collected from the vip shop. Apart from those two things. fantastic. Edinburgh is perfect for a one day trip like this, and gives a glimpse into all the things that would be great to go back and see again, for longer. Everything else was brillantly explained, and easy. A long day, and a good day. well worth money and time.

Manfred C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great value for money. Travelled from London to Edinburgh saw that many palaces and castles to last a life time at an extremely reasonable cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Edinburgh is magnificent. It is completely unescorted - so do your research into what you want to see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Beautiful city. Loved the architecture. Very friendly people. Long train ride but definitely worth the ride!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent package. Be warned that most of the time is spent in the train going and getting back. If you are prepared for that you will definitely enjoy your day trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent package. Be warned that most of the time is spent in the train going and getting back. If you are prepared for that you will definitely enjoy your day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

It's a long train ride from London to Edinburgh and back but the city is definitely worth visiting. Edinburgh Castle was great. We saw a near full moon over the ocean on the way home. Very nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

One of the highlights of our trip. Forget Rome and even Paris, though Paris is beautiful, Edinburgh has to be the most beautiful city we saw in our trip. Edinburgh Castle was amazing, the sights were great, and we even got to see the palace of Mary Queen of Scots. Of all the day tours we took, this was the best organized. While other day tours take you by bus and waste your time, this sets you on a fast train to Edinburgh, gives you a double decker bus to see the sights, and gives free entry to the most important sites. This tour was worth every dollar we paid and then some.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Absolutely loved it, but there was not nearly enough time to do everything. It's breathtakingly beautiful, and there are hundreds of amazing shops. We only had enough time to take the bus tour, do a quick run through the castle, and do a small amount of shopping. There isn't enough time to do it all. I highly recommend doing this trip as a two-day excursion, rather than a one day. If you can manage an overnight stay, and have the entire next day to explore, you will be able to enjoy so much more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Considering the distance between London and Edinburgh, this tour is probably the better solution you can hope for. You must allow for 9-10 hours in the train, but you still have 5-6 hours to spend in Edinburgh. We visited Edinburgh Castle, took a coach tour of the city, and had additional free time to visit the main streets in the city center, Princess Street and the Royal Mile, and do some shopping. Edinburgh would deserve an overnight stay, but in any case this tour permits a good overview of the capital city of Scotland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a great time in Edinburgh. My traveling companions I met on the same trip made all the difference.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip itself was wonderful. The train is quality all the way even in 2nd class. Time in Edinburgh was just enough to get a good feel of city, explore, and enjoy the castle. Would recommend this to anyone with limited amount of time in London who wants to also experience Scotland.

However, we weren't impressed with the tour operator. We arrived at Kings Cross Station early, as specified. The tour operator's contact was hard to find, was 5 minutes late and then just handed us our packets and left. None of us knew where to get the proper train; we asked for help from police in station. When tour was booked, the least we expected was to be pointed in proper direction. We easily could've bought our own tickets otherwise.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent day. Very early start but we had no problems. The tour representative met us at the agreed place and time with all of the required information, tickets etc. She was very helpful. The hop on hop off tour in Edinburgh was great but of course the highlight was Edinburgh Castle. Brilliant. The train trip up was great, especially when you get closer to Scotland and follow the coast. Time seemed to go quickly. Be warned though, the trip home in the dark after a long day was testing. Time seemed to go so slowly. All in all though, a great experience if you can only manage a quick trip to Scotland.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good day trip. Enjoyed tremendously.

From USD $ 288.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message