• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fun day. Wish we'd stayed overnight so we could have enjoyed it even more. Saw the highlights, though, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great intro to Edinburgh. The information provided by the tour wet our appetite to return. The train rides take up most of the day so plan to do a lot in a short time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

If you are just looking at spending about 4-5 hours in Edinburgh, that this will be just perfect for.
Train from London to Edinburgh is about 5hrs.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Edinburgh was awesome!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Great tour. Another well organized trip by Viator. Be prepared to ride the train though for 5 hours to and from Edinburgh. L-o-n-g ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We enjoyed it

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The trip is worth the length of the time on the rail, we recomend it. There is a lot of things we were not able to see because it was a short time in the city, but it was a great opportunity to see some things as the castle.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Thr trip was awesome!!! The Castle was awesome!!! however we didnt get a tour? not sure why? We were given paperwork and then sent on the train to Scotland and that was it. Rest of the time we were on our own

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This trip was nice and we enjoyed it! The only thing is we only had 4-41/2 hrs there. Most of the time was on the train. 4 hrs there and 4 hrs back.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A long day but but worth it. Edinburgh castle was excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The city is very nice, worth knowing. It is a bit long journey for a tour of only one day, but is also good to see the countryside and other cities around. Too bad the train did not have a service such as aircraft and that the seats are too close together. It feels a long journey.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip went well. The only problem we encountered was finding the bus upon arrival in Edenburgh. With all the construction going on in and around the train station, we went the wrong way on leaving the station and it took us awhile walking around to locate the bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The day rail trip to Edinburgh is a must for a traveller who has a bit of time on their hands and want to see a bit more of the United Kingdom. The train ride itself was very relaxing but would recommend that you bring your own snacks and drinks as the train prices are a bit pricy. Remember to take a book or a game to pass the time. Edinburgh is beautiful. The whole city reminds you of medieval times with knights and dragons. Very interesting for younger travelers too.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Edinburgh itself was spectacular! It's a very long day and a long trip. What was very bad for us was that the tour company (not Viator) made a mistake in our train bookings back to London - it was made for a month after the actual date!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

A full on day, but worth doing. The hop on hop off bus wasn't really necessary. We sat for 30 precious minutes waiting for it to leave. We got off at the castle and then walked the Royal Mile ourselves. We certainly had time to see what we wanted to see and enjoy a memorable lunch at Deacon Brodies Tavern

From USD $ 286.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message