4.5 star rating: Recommended 106 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 106 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Considering the distance between London and Edinburgh, this tour is probably the better solution you can hope for. You must allow for 9-10 hours in the train, but you still have 5-6 hours to spend in Edinburgh. We visited Edinburgh Castle, took a coach tour of the city, and had additional free time to visit the main streets in the city center, Princess Street and the Royal Mile, and do some shopping. Edinburgh would deserve an overnight stay, but in any case this tour permits a good overview of the capital city of Scotland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a great time in Edinburgh. My traveling companions I met on the same trip made all the difference.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip itself was wonderful. The train is quality all the way even in 2nd class. Time in Edinburgh was just enough to get a good feel of city, explore, and enjoy the castle. Would recommend this to anyone with limited amount of time in London who wants to also experience Scotland.

However, we weren't impressed with the tour operator. We arrived at Kings Cross Station early, as specified. The tour operator's contact was hard to find, was 5 minutes late and then just handed us our packets and left. None of us knew where to get the proper train; we asked for help from police in station. When tour was booked, the least we expected was to be pointed in proper direction. We easily could've bought our own tickets otherwise.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was a really long day but totally worth it, Edinburgh is a beautiful city. Everything was easy from catching the train, to getting to the castle. I chose is because I really wanted to go to Scotland but I didn't have enough time is trip so I thought I'd do this day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent day. Very early start but we had no problems. The tour representative met us at the agreed place and time with all of the required information, tickets etc. She was very helpful. The hop on hop off tour in Edinburgh was great but of course the highlight was Edinburgh Castle. Brilliant. The train trip up was great, especially when you get closer to Scotland and follow the coast. Time seemed to go quickly. Be warned though, the trip home in the dark after a long day was testing. Time seemed to go so slowly. All in all though, a great experience if you can only manage a quick trip to Scotland.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good day trip. Enjoyed tremendously.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fun day. Wish we'd stayed overnight so we could have enjoyed it even more. Saw the highlights, though, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great intro to Edinburgh. The information provided by the tour wet our appetite to return. The train rides take up most of the day so plan to do a lot in a short time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

If you are just looking at spending about 4-5 hours in Edinburgh, that this will be just perfect for.
Train from London to Edinburgh is about 5hrs.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Edinburgh was awesome!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Great tour. Another well organized trip by Viator. Be prepared to ride the train though for 5 hours to and from Edinburgh. L-o-n-g ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We enjoyed it

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The trip is worth the length of the time on the rail, we recomend it. There is a lot of things we were not able to see because it was a short time in the city, but it was a great opportunity to see some things as the castle.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Thr trip was awesome!!! The Castle was awesome!!! however we didnt get a tour? not sure why? We were given paperwork and then sent on the train to Scotland and that was it. Rest of the time we were on our own

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This trip was nice and we enjoyed it! The only thing is we only had 4-41/2 hrs there. Most of the time was on the train. 4 hrs there and 4 hrs back.

From USD $ 280.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message