4.5 star rating: Recommended 115 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 115 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Edinburgh castle was great. We enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

This was a good tour. Everything went smoothly. Edinburgh is a nice town to see. However, one day is not enough. The train ride is long and does not leave enough time to even see Edinburgh and certainly not anything else. I recommend staying the night. This tour only allows a few hours to squeeze everything in and it's not possible.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

While the train ride there and (especially) back makes for a long day, it was well worth it! I will definitely recommend a trip to Edinburgh to any of my friends who travel to the U.K.
Only issue we encountered was with the buses. Our package included travel on the "red" bus, but once we found it we were immediately approached to upgrade our tickets so we could ride all the buses. In hindsight we were glad we did because the "red" line did not seem to circulate as often as the other buses, but at the time we were confused and unsure about how to get around the town. So traveling around the town was our only issue, but it was a small one and the trip as a whole was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fine trip for the semi-independent traveler, puts the right tickets in your hand, but that's about it. If you knew your way, you could do more for less. If you really need help, you'd want a guide. For me, it was just about right: rail tickets and hop on hop off. The train back was crowded, but it worked out fine for me. Loved Edinburgh and the scenic ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Long train ride and not enough time in Edinburgh, but everything was well put toghther. It would help to have a specific meeting location at Victoria Station.

Susan H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This tour was ideal for those who wish to organise their time within a tour framework. The train trip up took us past some fabulous countryside although the trip back was slightly marred by the railways double booking our tickets.The tour bus was an excellent way to get around the 'old' city with step on/step off options to plan the day's activities.The sights of the city of Edinburgh were crowded with excitement with so many attractions and distractions that the time disappeared effortlessly. The Castle atop the massive volcanic outcrop dominated the city. Guides advise allowing about 3 hours to visit the Castle, however, I spent over 3 and a half hours and saw only those parts related to earlier than 1600AD and it was barely enough time. The place is stunning and could easily take all your time from dawn to dusk to see properly. The shops along the steep road leading to the Castle were fascinating, and to add to the excitement and colour, the Fringe Festival was in full swing. I also visited St Giles Cathedral as the High Church of Scotland and a distant part of my ancestry. I would recommend this church to all visitors as an excellent example of church architecture with particular emphasis on the glorious Thistle Chaple. I thoroughly enjoyed the day and appreciate the chance to visit Edinburgh in my short time in the UK.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Loved Edinburgh...!! only really had time for the castle and lunch, and some shopping. but it was very fun. sit on the right side going to scotland on the train, you can see the north See coast! :) lovely city. if you have time, do it!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

nice... time for the castle, or the city tour and lunch, but watch your time for the train station! lol. beautiful city, well, worth seeing... just lovely.

ALFONSO C
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

the trip was good. the train left on time. it's just that we didnt get to have enough time in edinburg.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

10 hours on a train is a bit much! However, Edinburgh was delightful. Be prepared for rain, which I wasn't!

Stuart H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The trip itself was fantastic. The sights of Edinburgh are worth seeing. We did have issues though Our booking sheet referenced "Reserved seats". We did not have reserved seats and on the return trip nearly ended up without a seat as the train was full. I even called the booking agent prior to boarding and he told us to "just get onto the first car after first class and grab a seat". In my mind this does not equate to "reserved seating". i would also recommend doing this trip as the 2 day version as 5 hours each way on the train in one day makes for a long day but the train does have power outlets for charging ipods, laptops etc UK socket.

Carolina G
Argentina

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Worth doing if you have little time, but Edinburgh definitely deserves to be visited for a few days. Amazing city!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The train ride was very long and cold, but other than that the trip was great, the hop on hop off tour was great, and had a live guide. Beautiful country.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Really the train trip and excursion were fine except, we were told once we arrived to go to Market and someone would take care of the bus tour. No one knew what Market was or what it meant! After walking all directions we came across a Market St. over a block away on the top of a hill which can't be seen from the station exit where the tour buses were. Then we had to go from bus to bus to find out who would honor the tour. Other than that 20 to 30 minutes wasted, everything else was wonderful!

Kin-hang T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Everything was very well organized. Would love to do again.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Another trip where the seats on the train were to be side by side for my daughter and me and were actually across the aisle with 3 rows between us! We enjoyed our day other than the train ride. I cannot believe, even when we asked specifically if our seats were together and were told yes, that they weren't. We were travelling together, and I was showing her the sites of the UK and Paris, and this did not help us at all.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

Very nice overall, but 9 hours on the train was grueling after having flown from NYC to London just the day before. The trip was picturesque. Wish we had more time in and around the castle. Having no guide and being in a foreign land was a little overwhelming and had a bit of an 'Amazing Race' quality until we found the hop on hop off sightseeing bus. Better instructions on what to do after exiting the train would be helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was a good tour, long train trip but worth it to see all the country. We almost got off at the wrong stop but another person told us we needed to get off so it was ok.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Be prepared for the 5 hour train trip each way. Once there it was nice. Took the hop on hop off to castle and explored the rest on foot.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

The train ride was pleasant. Edinburgh was great. The train home was a little dirty.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

We felt a little rushed everywhere but the castle. Edinburgh is a fantastic city and well worth visiting. We wished we had planned to stay overnight to see everything.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

The train trip to Edinburgh was absolutely fabulous! Beautiful scenery all the way up. Our main problem was with the tour guide who was to meet us at Kings Cross Station in London. He was at least 20 minutes late, and at 630 a.m. he has ALL the documents, that was a little scary. This was a full day trip with an early morning departure and expensive. We were really looking forward to the trip. The agent certainly put a damper on the start of the trip, but we decided to not let that spoil the rest of the trip. We had a wonderful time on the train, in Edinburgh, and the trip back to London. Hopefully, no one else will have this agent and go through what we did.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great way too see a neighboring country.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We met our tour guide at the train station in London, only to find out that there would be no tour guide and we were handed our train and tour tickets only to be left on our own for the day. Edinburgh Castle and the Hop on Hop Off Bus were very enjoyable once we figured out our bearings. A tour guide would have been helpful. Train trouble on the way home made for a very long day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed some aspects of our trip of Edinburgh such as the recorded bus tour around Edinburgh as well as visiting the castle. However, we understood that we wouldn't have a tour guide and the direction as to what to do in Edinburgh was very confusing by the lady. We feel that maybe having tour guides would make going to Edinburgh would be more enjoyable, because we saw guided tour groups throughout Edinburgh. The train ride to and from Edinburgh was very scenic as well as very relaxing.

From USD $ 265.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message