4.5 star rating: Recommended 105 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 105 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The city is very nice, worth knowing. It is a bit long journey for a tour of only one day, but is also good to see the countryside and other cities around. Too bad the train did not have a service such as aircraft and that the seats are too close together. It feels a long journey.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip went well. The only problem we encountered was finding the bus upon arrival in Edenburgh. With all the construction going on in and around the train station, we went the wrong way on leaving the station and it took us awhile walking around to locate the bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The day rail trip to Edinburgh is a must for a traveller who has a bit of time on their hands and want to see a bit more of the United Kingdom. The train ride itself was very relaxing but would recommend that you bring your own snacks and drinks as the train prices are a bit pricy. Remember to take a book or a game to pass the time. Edinburgh is beautiful. The whole city reminds you of medieval times with knights and dragons. Very interesting for younger travelers too.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Edinburgh itself was spectacular! It's a very long day and a long trip. What was very bad for us was that the tour company (not Viator) made a mistake in our train bookings back to London - it was made for a month after the actual date!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

A full on day, but worth doing. The hop on hop off bus wasn't really necessary. We sat for 30 precious minutes waiting for it to leave. We got off at the castle and then walked the Royal Mile ourselves. We certainly had time to see what we wanted to see and enjoy a memorable lunch at Deacon Brodies Tavern

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Great way to get a taste of Edinburgh. We arrived at the train station 15 minutes before time as not to be late. A representative from another tour company (Premiere)asked us who we were waiting for and we told them. He said the rep from Evan Evans tours should be there shortly. When they did not arrive I had to contact them at their office and they said they should be there soon. The Premiere rep came back to us and told us the Evan Evans rep was standing just a few feet from us. He did not even look for us, by that time we had 15 minutes before the train left and he told us to get on the last car. We did not know that we had reserved seats until more than half way to Edinburgh. Luckily the car we were in was not full and our group found seats together.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

I loved going to edinburgh. I didnt realize we didnt have a tour guide and i was traveling solo so I was really lonely. I did get to tag alone with a nice couple and they didnt mind. I love the city and the bus tour was nice as well, very relaxing but walking around on foot was prob more in the culture. I love the city but next time I'll prob stay in scotland and take in city tours instead of going from london.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Edinburgh castle was great. We enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

This was a good tour. Everything went smoothly. Edinburgh is a nice town to see. However, one day is not enough. The train ride is long and does not leave enough time to even see Edinburgh and certainly not anything else. I recommend staying the night. This tour only allows a few hours to squeeze everything in and it's not possible.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

While the train ride there and (especially) back makes for a long day, it was well worth it! I will definitely recommend a trip to Edinburgh to any of my friends who travel to the U.K.
Only issue we encountered was with the buses. Our package included travel on the "red" bus, but once we found it we were immediately approached to upgrade our tickets so we could ride all the buses. In hindsight we were glad we did because the "red" line did not seem to circulate as often as the other buses, but at the time we were confused and unsure about how to get around the town. So traveling around the town was our only issue, but it was a small one and the trip as a whole was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fine trip for the semi-independent traveler, puts the right tickets in your hand, but that's about it. If you knew your way, you could do more for less. If you really need help, you'd want a guide. For me, it was just about right: rail tickets and hop on hop off. The train back was crowded, but it worked out fine for me. Loved Edinburgh and the scenic ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Long train ride and not enough time in Edinburgh, but everything was well put toghther. It would help to have a specific meeting location at Victoria Station.

Susan H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This tour was ideal for those who wish to organise their time within a tour framework. The train trip up took us past some fabulous countryside although the trip back was slightly marred by the railways double booking our tickets.The tour bus was an excellent way to get around the 'old' city with step on/step off options to plan the day's activities.The sights of the city of Edinburgh were crowded with excitement with so many attractions and distractions that the time disappeared effortlessly. The Castle atop the massive volcanic outcrop dominated the city. Guides advise allowing about 3 hours to visit the Castle, however, I spent over 3 and a half hours and saw only those parts related to earlier than 1600AD and it was barely enough time. The place is stunning and could easily take all your time from dawn to dusk to see properly. The shops along the steep road leading to the Castle were fascinating, and to add to the excitement and colour, the Fringe Festival was in full swing. I also visited St Giles Cathedral as the High Church of Scotland and a distant part of my ancestry. I would recommend this church to all visitors as an excellent example of church architecture with particular emphasis on the glorious Thistle Chaple. I thoroughly enjoyed the day and appreciate the chance to visit Edinburgh in my short time in the UK.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Loved Edinburgh...!! only really had time for the castle and lunch, and some shopping. but it was very fun. sit on the right side going to scotland on the train, you can see the north See coast! :) lovely city. if you have time, do it!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

nice... time for the castle, or the city tour and lunch, but watch your time for the train station! lol. beautiful city, well, worth seeing... just lovely.

From USD $ 287.17

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message