Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

John N USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Really the train trip and excursion were fine except, we were told once we arrived to go to Market and someone would take care of the bus tour. No one knew what Market was or what it meant! After walking all directions we came across a Market St. over a block away on the top of a hill which can't be seen from the station exit where the tour buses were. Then we had to go from bus to bus to find out who would honor the tour. Other than that 20 to 30 minutes wasted, everything else was wonderful!

Kin-hang T United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Everything was very well organized. Would love to do again.

Janice B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Another trip where the seats on the train were to be side by side for my daughter and me and were actually across the aisle with 3 rows between us! We enjoyed our day other than the train ride. I cannot believe, even when we asked specifically if our seats were together and were told yes, that they weren't. We were travelling together, and I was showing her the sites of the UK and Paris, and this did not help us at all.

BRUCE L USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

Very nice overall, but 9 hours on the train was grueling after having flown from NYC to London just the day before. The trip was picturesque. Wish we had more time in and around the castle. Having no guide and being in a foreign land was a little overwhelming and had a bit of an 'Amazing Race' quality until we found the hop on hop off sightseeing bus. Better instructions on what to do after exiting the train would be helpful.

Annette K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was a good tour, long train trip but worth it to see all the country. We almost got off at the wrong stop but another person told us we needed to get off so it was ok.

Robin D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Be prepared for the 5 hour train trip each way. Once there it was nice. Took the hop on hop off to castle and explored the rest on foot.

Ellen S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

The train ride was pleasant. Edinburgh was great. The train home was a little dirty.

Margaret J USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

We felt a little rushed everywhere but the castle. Edinburgh is a fantastic city and well worth visiting. We wished we had planned to stay overnight to see everything.

Wilma C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

The train trip to Edinburgh was absolutely fabulous! Beautiful scenery all the way up. Our main problem was with the tour guide who was to meet us at Kings Cross Station in London. He was at least 20 minutes late, and at 630 a.m. he has ALL the documents, that was a little scary. This was a full day trip with an early morning departure and expensive. We were really looking forward to the trip. The agent certainly put a damper on the start of the trip, but we decided to not let that spoil the rest of the trip. We had a wonderful time on the train, in Edinburgh, and the trip back to London. Hopefully, no one else will have this agent and go through what we did.

China Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A little difficult to find the meeting point. The guide briefed us on the day, gave us our tickets and we were off to Edinburgh.

Gina

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great way too see a neighboring country.

Michael J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We met our tour guide at the train station in London, only to find out that there would be no tour guide and we were handed our train and tour tickets only to be left on our own for the day. Edinburgh Castle and the Hop on Hop Off Bus were very enjoyable once we figured out our bearings. A tour guide would have been helpful. Train trouble on the way home made for a very long day.

Mark M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed some aspects of our trip of Edinburgh such as the recorded bus tour around Edinburgh as well as visiting the castle. However, we understood that we wouldn't have a tour guide and the direction as to what to do in Edinburgh was very confusing by the lady. We feel that maybe having tour guides would make going to Edinburgh would be more enjoyable, because we saw guided tour groups throughout Edinburgh. The train ride to and from Edinburgh was very scenic as well as very relaxing.

Brian T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Guide met us at Victoria station but other than that we were on our own once in Edinburgh

Deidre W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

after the long train ride, the few hrs that you get in the area just aren't enough. I would recommend the longer trips for sure

pennyca

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The train ride was too long for a short visit. It also rained the entire time in Edinburgh, which didn't help.

Catherine H USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

It is a very long trip to do in one day. The castle was amazing, but it was exhausting.

Laura W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

We had an hour and half delay to Endinburgh and that really cut in to the time. It wasn't the tour co's fault there was a broken rail but really, you can't see Edinburgh in just a few hours- way too much there to see.

janice c

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Too much for one day. Train ride was good but long. Edinburgh is a very small city. Not a lot to do other then the castle. Better to take a couple of days and see more of Scotland. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

D Ruth R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Long day, the seat on the train didn't have good sight lines and seeing the view was part of the reason I chose a train trip. Edinburgh was very busy and crowded as it was festival season - It was good to visit, though.

Jeff F USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Definitely do not get to spend enough time in Edinburgh. Plus it is impossible to upgrade your train tickets because the service the actually gets them does not get tickets with a price so the rail service has no idea what to charge you if you want to upgrade. Basically what my wife and I learned is we just need to go to Edinburgh and spend 2-3 days.

BARBARA C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

The trip was OK, but getting the info to meet our group, etc. was stressful. It was minutes before our train departure, and we finally found our representative. I found another representateive from another tour that helped me contact my rep. Once we got on the train, it was OK - but yet another stressful situation! Not a good way to start the day off.

Susan T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Great Trip! However, the person that was suppose to meet us had no intification. Another tour director from another company pointed him out for us or we would have missed the train.....No Pun intented! Poor

Jeff H USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

There was a strong, cold wind the whole afternoon we were there & we weren't really prepared for it so we mostly tried to stay out of the wind. The idea of the tour was good -- it's a must see city, so I won't tell you that you shouldn't go but your time there feels a lot shorter than 5-6 hours. If I were to do it all over again, I would have made it an overnight stay because a lot of stuff got left undone.

YOUSEF A Kuwait

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

It's just waste of time if you are travelling in short time. The journey takes 10 hours, so there is no time to look around, only for a sightseeing tour. The bus for sightseeing comes to pick you up from castle and takes 2 hours. Not advisable for those whose having a short stay. No tour guide, they hand over to you your train ticket and sightseeing pass.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 256.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message