4.5 star rating: Recommended 116 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  16 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed some aspects of our trip of Edinburgh such as the recorded bus tour around Edinburgh as well as visiting the castle. However, we understood that we wouldn't have a tour guide and the direction as to what to do in Edinburgh was very confusing by the lady. We feel that maybe having tour guides would make going to Edinburgh would be more enjoyable, because we saw guided tour groups throughout Edinburgh. The train ride to and from Edinburgh was very scenic as well as very relaxing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Guide met us at Victoria station but other than that we were on our own once in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

after the long train ride, the few hrs that you get in the area just aren't enough. I would recommend the longer trips for sure

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The train ride was too long for a short visit. It also rained the entire time in Edinburgh, which didn't help.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

It is a very long trip to do in one day. The castle was amazing, but it was exhausting.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Too much for one day. Train ride was good but long. Edinburgh is a very small city. Not a lot to do other then the castle. Better to take a couple of days and see more of Scotland. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Long day, the seat on the train didn't have good sight lines and seeing the view was part of the reason I chose a train trip. Edinburgh was very busy and crowded as it was festival season - It was good to visit, though.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Definitely do not get to spend enough time in Edinburgh. Plus it is impossible to upgrade your train tickets because the service the actually gets them does not get tickets with a price so the rail service has no idea what to charge you if you want to upgrade. Basically what my wife and I learned is we just need to go to Edinburgh and spend 2-3 days.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

The trip was OK, but getting the info to meet our group, etc. was stressful. It was minutes before our train departure, and we finally found our representative. I found another representateive from another tour that helped me contact my rep. Once we got on the train, it was OK - but yet another stressful situation! Not a good way to start the day off.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Great Trip! However, the person that was suppose to meet us had no intification. Another tour director from another company pointed him out for us or we would have missed the train.....No Pun intented! Poor

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

There was a strong, cold wind the whole afternoon we were there & we weren't really prepared for it so we mostly tried to stay out of the wind. The idea of the tour was good -- it's a must see city, so I won't tell you that you shouldn't go but your time there feels a lot shorter than 5-6 hours. If I were to do it all over again, I would have made it an overnight stay because a lot of stuff got left undone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

It's just waste of time if you are travelling in short time. The journey takes 10 hours, so there is no time to look around, only for a sightseeing tour. The bus for sightseeing comes to pick you up from castle and takes 2 hours. Not advisable for those whose having a short stay. No tour guide, they hand over to you your train ticket and sightseeing pass.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2007

More information could have been provided to allow time to be used better in Edinburgh. Tour operator was late at the train station and rushed through instructions.

Veronica D
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2007

This tour was OK.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2007

Although the hop on off bus tour in Edinburgh was great, the train ride and the reception we got from the tour guide at the Kings Cross station wasn't so great. The guide was late, he put us in the wrong car and wrong seat. Coming back, our seats were not together.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2009

Don't buy this tour, you can do this on your own for cheaper.

From USD $ 268.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE036

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message