4.5 star rating: Recommended 33 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:13 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lake District Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 33 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

A rewarding trip covering the key scenic viewpoints.

Mee Mee W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Well organized, enjoyed the scenic drive through the Langdales valley, the scenery along the river cruise is breathtaking & the afternoon tea is so relaxing & fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Well organized,tour leader excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I rate this one a three, not because the Lake District was bad (it was amazing!) but because it was SO badly managed. We arrived at the train station in the Lake District on time, as directed by our first tour guide. We were told that there, we would meet another guide. We waited for half an hour, and still no one showed up. We made many phone calls. The tour company that handles the actual Lake District part of the tour - never apologized for the inconvenience, or even admitted that it was their fault that they had had a mis-communication regarding our booking. They didn't even want to make an effort to let us at least see part of the Lake District. It was only after we absolutely insisted that they reluctantly agreed to allow us to join the latter half of a Japanese group's tour. We missed about half of the things that we had been looking forward to doing, and couldn't understand our Japanese guide. Thankfully, our driver was English and would put in his two bits for us Americans every now and then. My friends and I made the best of it, and ended up having a fantastic day (one we certainly won't soon forget!), but we will never work with this particular tour operator again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

The things I saw on the trip were wonderful, but the mini bus used by mountain goat was horrid. The foot room was less than on an airplane and even at 5 foot 2 inches I had no foot room. Also the driver would not turn on the air conditioning and the windows couldn't be opened. It was way too hot. At the end of the day when he got hot he turned it on. All in all except for the mini bus it was great but that can ruin a trip for anyone and should be improved.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

This was the tour we were most looking forward to, of course it rained all day. We were in the UK for two weeks and this was the only rain day we had. The guide was good but we were rushed as we were in a fire drill. Even though it was raining we still took the boat ride that was a complete waste of time because of the weather. I dont understand why we weren't given the option of the boat ride or more shoping time in town as we had to speed shop to even find anything, it was a one hour waste for everybody.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

I didn't feel there was enough time at any one stop. Most were 20 or 25 minutes. The biggest thing was there was no provision for lunch. We only got 20 minutes to find a sandwich and get back to the van. Making arrangements with a shop to provide sandwiches would certainly help given the time constraints.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

We were a total of 15 people in a small van, tour guide was very informative and friendly. However, the trip felt rushed, we didn't really get to appreciate Beatrix Potter's farm. 20 minutes here, 15 minutes there - too rushed. With no time designated for lunch, we had to choose between grabbing a bite or visiting the village. Overall the trip was OK, I just wish there had been better planning to give more time in the villages.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 284.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE040


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message