4.5 star rating: Recommended 287 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 287 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

We had a great time. Leeds Castle is amazing, so is Canterbury Cathedral. Dover was a short stop, but still enjoyable. Lunch was not the best. The cruise on the Thames was relaxing and a great way to end the day trip. The guide was extremely knowledgeable.

Dan T
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This tour was the highlight of our trip to London. Leeds Castle was great! This was a smaller tour so there was only about 10 of us which was preferable to a big busload of people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Really impressed with your excellent service. Cannot but recommend your impeccable service. Real value for money. Everything as promised to the final detail and even more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a very good tour guide that told us a lot of history all through the day. The tour was very well run and enough time to see all that we wanted to do on this tour. I would recommend it to anyone. The trip back up the river was a great way to finish a good day out. Hotel pick up was on time but we did not have a hotel drop off after the tour and we were aware of this before leaving on the tour. For anyone not knowing how to get back to their hotel the tour guide was happy to help them with directions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Enjoyed the whole day! I recommend this tour to all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We were worried about the length of this tour, approx. 10 hours, but the day flew by and our guide was fabulous! Leads Castle was nothing like any of the other castles, very much like a home I would live in. The Cliffs of Dover were magnificent although we weren't thrilled with the food at the pub and it was expensive 20 per meal for what was given. Canterbury Cathedral was well worth the trip, would have liked to have seen something in Greenwich other than the bus tour and the cruise on the River Thames was delightful indoors with coffee/tea and scones! All in all, a wonderful day. We even exchanged e-mail addresses with the tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

This tour was excellent. The guide thoroughly knew the history, geography and background of all the tour stops and he communicated this very well. We even made two unscheduled stops, the Battle of Britain Memorial and the beach at Dover. This tour could be improved by making it a few hours longer so more time could be spent at Leeds Castle, Canterbury and Greenwich.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

My husband and I had a great time on this trip. The tour guide was genial, funny, and knowledgeable. The bus ride was comfortable and smooth. And I felt we spend a good amount of time at each location.

This tour concentrates on Leeds Castle and Canterbury Cathedral. You drive past Dover Castle and have lunch at a quaint lighthouse pub that over looks the White Cliffs. You get about a photo opportunity at the cliffs and then you're taken on to the next stop.

I will say I was a bit disappointed about our time in Greenwich. The Cutty Sark was being renovated, so we had no access to it. And our tour guide didn't take us to the actual Prime Meridian. But at the same time, it was the end of the day, and we were a bit tired from all the traveling.

The boat ride made up for the Greenwich mishap, though. We saw the Globe Theatre and the Mayflower Pub - the place of the Pilgrims' mooring of the Mayflower.

One tip, though. If you want to be picked up from your hotel, make sure you call the vendor at least 24 hours in advance - or be prepared to get to Victoria Coach Station on time. At the end of the day, you get dropped off at Tower Hill.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

The tour guide was wonderful! The private tour was excellent -- done very well -- and it's nice to walk through without the crowds. Canterbury was a wonderful place to visit -- had plenty of time to eat, shop and see the Abbey.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

The private viewing of Leeds Castle was wonderful and we got to see everything without a big crowd. Our guide was very informative, she took us through the streets of Cantebury pointed out things of interest and made restaurant suggestions for lunch. The river cruise was beautiful. We didn't have the sparkling wine and scones because the regular boat was out of order but we had a great time anyway. Dark came while we were on the cruise and views were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This tour was totally worth the money. Our tour guide was very informative and also had a great sense of humor. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

We loved it! The tour was well organized. We saw a lot in one day, and there was a nice variety of places to see. We really felt we got a taste of England in a day - a very full day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

It was great and a lot of fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

We had a fantastic time on this tour! Our guide was funny, entertaining, and very knowledgeable. He was interesting to listen to and most helpful. Leeds Castle lives up to its reputation, and although I wish we had more time there, we had a great experience. The cruise was fun, and it was nice to drink tea while riding in the boat. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We had a great time! The tour guide was awesome and gave lots of info about London and all along the route to the various locations. Leeds is a beautiful place, and it was really nice to enjoy the castle before the crowd. The food at the lighthouse was great. Dover and Canterbury were incredible. It was all topped off with the cruise - what a way to experience London!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

My father and I had a great time on this tour, and the weather was fantastic as well. Our tour guide was especially great - he was very welcoming, funny, and overflowing with information, and he handled a difficult situation quite smoothly. I thought the price was a bit high at first, but it was definitely worth it by the end.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

We had a wonderful trip. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and delightful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Our guide was excellent. I wish we had a little more time in Canterbury. The lunch at the Light House Inn, under new management was GREAT! Our guide called in advance and everything was ready when we arrived, very little time was wasted. The food was delicious. The boat tour on the Thames River was a perfect way to end an enjoyable day. This was an absolutely fantastic trip and I would recommend it to anyone going to England.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

We took this tour and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! The Leeds Castle, Dover, Canterbury, Greenwich and Thames River Cruise was wonderful. Leeds castle was beautiful. It was great arriving before the public. Our guide did an excellent job of keeping the group on task and called ahead to make sure lunch was ready when we arrived. The Lighthouse Inn provided a delicious lunch. The fish and chips were excellent. The Thames River cruise was a wonderful way to end the day. The Cutty Sark was not available to see because of repairs (no great loss). I do wish we had a little more time to spend in Cantebury.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

We had an excellent guide and friendly driver. The tour was very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a great trip. The best part for us was having lunch high atop the white cliffs of Dover!

Fabio S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

Simply lovely.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing, the guide was very knowledgeable and helpful would recommend the tour to my friends

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing, the guide was very knowledgeable and helpful would recommend the tour to my friends

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The day was beautiful and we enjoyed visiting a castle where real people might live.

From USD $ 142.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2452T7

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message