4 star rating: Recommended 104 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Medieval Banquet and Merriment by Torchlight in London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 104 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Too noisey for my taste. The wine was of the poorest quality. Food was fair. The entertainment was fair but the gymnastics was outstanding.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Pretty good, but not as good as I thought it would be. Neither the performers nor the food was that great. I was especially disappointed because it didn't seem like the performers really made a big effort to get into character (wearing a watch for a medieval banquet...really??). Also it was tough to see some of the performances. But all in all it was pretty fun.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

The entertainment was worth the visit but the food was not.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

This was a great deal of fun. Slightly cheesy, but fun nonetheless. The performers were very good/ and quite talented. The food was mediocre, but abundant. I would have enjoyed something a bit more authentic (there was nary a torch in sight), but it was a nice evening.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Great fun, but the meat platter was a tad underwhelming. The guy who played Henry VIII was a sourpuss who seemed to shy away from having his photo taken and then nearly ran us over in his haste to get to the tube after the event ended. Not exactly a friendly ambassador...

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Amusing evening, though less than what we had hoped for. The show really only had 4 events lasting a couple of minutes between each course. Food was of low quality, and the included alcohol was very watered down. A bit pricey for what you get, but not the worst event we've taken part in. NOTE: by Torchlight they must mean "flashlight" as there were no actual torches involved in the show or hall. The hall was lit with normal light bulbs, though at a low intensity.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

My first time in London with my 9 year old son. We wanted to see and do everything London had to offer so we decided on this Medieval Banquet. It was a cute program set in an underground, stone walled banquet hall. Guests are seated 10 to a table - long rectangle tables. We were the lucky ones who sat at the head of the table, thereby getting a front row seat to the goings on. If you're unfortunate enough to sit in the back you will see absolutely nothing. The soup was bland and the chicken was so-so. For the price it was an okay deal. Its pretty out of the way so make sure you have a pre-arranged ride back to your hotel.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Great entertainment! The food could have been better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Not the best that I expected. The show was ok. The food wasn't that great, no choices (chicken for main course) and we share the rest with other people on the table. They will take it right away even if you're not done yet. Beer and wine were nasty, cheap ones or watered down. No choice for dessert.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

no help with taxi's, no accommodation for people with mobility issues, though this not mentioned ahead of time. If you could not dance with the group you were left out. Staff hit and missed who they would visit with, there were three tables of people there early, two of the others got a visit from staff, we were ignored. We were expected to share meal with 4 people we did not know, this was awkward, had to take the bread they wanted to share with us, the bread was dry, same with drinks and other food. If you are going to put out portions, then at least put them according to the groups, It is more a group activity than for couples. We were the first to leave, the refreshments not good, the food was good, no help with taxi's would not recommend except to 20 something group, would not return. Visibility to performers limited for those on the outside of tables, Missed much of what acrobats doing, as could not see. Disappointing, the best we could say is it was interesting and an experience. Would be better if all diners around the outside of tables, so no one blocking anyone's views though this would limit space, though the night we went there was only one section used, and a lot of empty spaces so this could have been done.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Great hospitality. Greeted warmly at the door and escorted to seating. Food was not great, entertainment was acceptable, atmosphere was fun and enjoyable. Note: includes bottomless wine and beer, however only apple juice for the non-drinker. Asked if had anything else was told no however later on went up to bar and you could buy other drinks such as coke. The water supplied was hot and didn't have ice when asked. The festivities get louder with the consumption level. Don't go expecting a great culinary experience, as the food is ok. Entertainment is fun also okay.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Ling waitting for food and service

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

It was a bit long and drawn out and the entertainment was repetitive. The food was average. We didn't bother waiting for dessert.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The dinner was good, but the performances were a...bit flat. It would have been better if there was a story to the evening, as it was, there were about 4 musical numbers, and four or five circus acts. Good dinner, and nice show, but don't have high expectations.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

Viatar stuffed up our booking and we were not on the list at the door. We then discovered that Viator had not booked us properly and that we had not paid the correct amount of New Years Eve so they weren't going to let us in until my daughter burst into tears. The lady then kindly went to see what she could do and we were allowed to go in. After seeing the show, I would not have paid the price they asked. The way that it was set out you were not able to see properly. Food was ok and staff were ok but the performers didn't interact with the audience like other shows that I have been too. Boring at times as you couldn't see or hear some of the performers. The place would be better as a restaurant and not a theatre restaurant. We left early.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

not sure I would do this again dont understand why they dont sing in English the food was ok

Carol D
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

I went with my son to the Medieval Banquet. Most other people seemed to be in groups of friends or family, which would probably be more fun. The entertainment was good - if you were seated somewhere near the front where you could see it. Unfortunately we weren't, so we had to make do with glimpses around other people's heads occasionally. The food was ok, but it's certainly not what you're paying for. My son's chicken was so raw he couldn't eat it. The food is all self-serve from platters placed on the long communal table, so it's everyone for themselves and just hope that it's not all gone before you get a chance to grab something for yourself. If you like being sandwiched in between raucous crowds of drunken revellers, then this is for you. Unfortunately, it wasn't for us.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2009

This was fun but extremely touristy. There was a ton of food and it was very good. The servers were great and tried to get the audience involved. I would leave out the juggling and the sword fight.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

The place settings at table were way too tight; needlessly so. There were empty table areas, and they tried to seat us in like sardines in a tin. They used paper napkins, and the forks, glass wine carafes, and glassware were cheap, cheesy, and not even close to the right atmosphere. The entertainers did well, and the overall experience was fairly fun, but we have done many other Medieval Banquets that were more "authentic" in overall presentation and tone. Directions from the tube were not as clear as they should have been, as we got lost following the walking directions!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

The food was excellent, the entertainment was okay but the seating was uncomfortable. I would suggest that transportation be provided, even it means an additional charge. At the least, a map of the venue location would have been very helpful.

Note from Viator: The Medieval Banquet is just to the east of the City of London and Tower Bridge, at Ivory House next to the World Trade Centre in St Katharine's Dock. It is easy to get to by public transport (bus or tube) or taxi. Directions to the venue will also be on your confirmation voucher.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

It would have been helpful to have transportation provided. Getting a taxi was difficult when the banquet was over, and we were nervous about riding the subway at 11pm. Seating in the banquet hall was uncomfortable, but dinner was great and the entertainment was good.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

A group of 5 of us were put at a table with a very large group that absolutely refused to share any of the food, wine, or beer with us. We tried to tell our server numerous times and nothing was done. After paying over a hundred per person for this, we ended having to go out for dinner after. The entertainment was good, but our table and an indifferent server ruined this night for us.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

The Medieval Banquet and Merriment by Torchlight in London was not what I had expected. We have Medieval Banquets in Orlando Florida much better with dueling horses and a real show. This was jugglers and acrobats performing in a small room with poor viewing. The real disappointment was that they changed the venue to a Halloween Party with NO notice to us. (We would definitely not have done a Halloween Party, that's not what I signed up for) It was a lot of money to spend on mediocre food and watered down the beer each beer refill you received. I would definitely not recommend this tour. I read a lot of reviews and chose this tour. I am not a negative person, but this was definitely not as advertised, nor were we advised of the venue change. What a disappointment !!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Wonderful authentic looking venue but show itself not all the medieval and rather boring. Food so-so and we were squished into a table that was too small for amount of people.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2012

Entertainment was okay, no choice of non alcoholic drinks was only given apple juice. Food was very average, would not recommend this to others as I think you can get a better meal with entertainment else where, not the easiest of places to find.

From USD $ 79.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE051

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message