4 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Medieval Banquet and Merriment by Torchlight in London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

The place settings at table were way too tight; needlessly so. There were empty table areas, and they tried to seat us in like sardines in a tin. They used paper napkins, and the forks, glass wine carafes, and glassware were cheap, cheesy, and not even close to the right atmosphere. The entertainers did well, and the overall experience was fairly fun, but we have done many other Medieval Banquets that were more "authentic" in overall presentation and tone. Directions from the tube were not as clear as they should have been, as we got lost following the walking directions!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

The food was excellent, the entertainment was okay but the seating was uncomfortable. I would suggest that transportation be provided, even it means an additional charge. At the least, a map of the venue location would have been very helpful.

Note from Viator: The Medieval Banquet is just to the east of the City of London and Tower Bridge, at Ivory House next to the World Trade Centre in St Katharine's Dock. It is easy to get to by public transport (bus or tube) or taxi. Directions to the venue will also be on your confirmation voucher.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

It would have been helpful to have transportation provided. Getting a taxi was difficult when the banquet was over, and we were nervous about riding the subway at 11pm. Seating in the banquet hall was uncomfortable, but dinner was great and the entertainment was good.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Cheesy with horrible food and drink.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

A group of 5 of us were put at a table with a very large group that absolutely refused to share any of the food, wine, or beer with us. We tried to tell our server numerous times and nothing was done. After paying over a hundred per person for this, we ended having to go out for dinner after. The entertainment was good, but our table and an indifferent server ruined this night for us.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

The Medieval Banquet and Merriment by Torchlight in London was not what I had expected. We have Medieval Banquets in Orlando Florida much better with dueling horses and a real show. This was jugglers and acrobats performing in a small room with poor viewing. The real disappointment was that they changed the venue to a Halloween Party with NO notice to us. (We would definitely not have done a Halloween Party, that's not what I signed up for) It was a lot of money to spend on mediocre food and watered down the beer each beer refill you received. I would definitely not recommend this tour. I read a lot of reviews and chose this tour. I am not a negative person, but this was definitely not as advertised, nor were we advised of the venue change. What a disappointment !!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Wonderful authentic looking venue but show itself not all the medieval and rather boring. Food so-so and we were squished into a table that was too small for amount of people.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2012

Entertainment was okay, no choice of non alcoholic drinks was only given apple juice. Food was very average, would not recommend this to others as I think you can get a better meal with entertainment else where, not the easiest of places to find.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

First off, we got there and it says drinks are all included, what they don't tell you is that you have to PAY for your drinks for the first 60-75 minutes of the night. RIP OFF! Then there was no Henry VIII, which it even has featured on brochure. So what was there? Horrible food and bad singing!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

We were somewhat disappointed, first our name was not on the list so we did not have a reserved table, and the remainder the evening we found the service to be less than adequate and the food just ok. The entertainment was also disappointing and not enough to fil the otherwise dead air.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2008

Our family was disappointed in the banquet. The sound system was so loud that it blasted our ears. Also, the court announcer's voice was often muffled, so we could not understand what he was saying. The entertainers were not very talented.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2007

London was my 4th Medieval banquet. I expected much more in London and was very dissatisfied. Lines formed outside at 7:45, then we were herded like cattle into very crowded seats, offered pitchers of unpalatable cider. The soup and main dinner were delicious! That was only saving grace. However, there were no singers and the entertainment was so-so.

From USD $ 79.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE051

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message