4.5 star rating: Recommended 306 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 306 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

This was a great tour. We saw some of the nicest highlights of the English countryside and took wonderful pictures. The time at each stop was just enough to get a good feel for the location before moving on. Lunch was typical English pub fare and, although the menu choices were different than my daughter was expecting, a simple note on the pre-order sheet that the tour guide passed through the motor coach en route ensured an acceptable lunch item for her. My only regret is that we only got to visit William Shakespeare's birthplace and a few shops in Stratford. I would have liked an additional stop or two in Stratford to see the church where he's buried as well as a visit to Anne Hathaway's cottage. Our final location of the day was Oxford, and the guide was very knowledgeable about the town and the colleges. Unfortunately, at our stop in Oxford, my husband became ill and could not take the walking tour part of the visit as there was a lot of walking. The motor coach driver was very attentive and took good care of my husband, even offering him a cup of tea to help soothe his upset stomach. It was a very nice day with a caring and concerned guide and driver. Highly recommended for a nice day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. We had a great tour guide. Very knowledgeable and kind person. I learned a lot from him about these historic places as well as the history of England. Due to the rain we did have much time for walking in Stratford, but rest of tour was excellent. Food was good, nice choice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

It was a long day, but jam packed. We enjoyed the castle particularly with the wax figures from Madam Tussauds. We could have used a bit more time there but then we would have had less time at the other spots. We also enjoyed the drive through the Cotswolds, our stop at the pub, and the birthplace of Shakespeare. I think the highlight was Oxford. It was wonderful and our guide Clarissa did an excellent job of pointing out Harry Potter and Alice in Wonderland sites. Highly recommended even with a normally grumpy teenager.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

The guide was excellent. Covered a lot of ground in one day. Great for packing a lot in if you don't have a lot of time to explore at leisure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

We had a great tour guide and informative commentary and had a wonderful day. This helped me fit a lot into my short time in London.

Bev
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

It was a wonderful trip, but I think it was because of the amazing guide. I have spent a number of yours wordwide, but I don't think I have ever had a guide who was so informative and had such a wonderful knowledge of history, literature, art and even plants. I learned so much and remembered so much from my history. It is a tour well worth doing. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

A long day out, but completely worth it. There's plenty here for Shakespeare and Harry Potter fans alike, as well as surprises along the way.

Arie A
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

One of the best tours ever, owing mainly to the guide. I would like to thank him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

A day trip is definitely the way to go if you want to maximize your time in London. Our tour guide and coach driver were fun and informative. We loved them both! We met interesting people and learned a lot of history and trivia along the way. We recommend it highly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The tour operator did such a great job on this trip that we took up a collection for the tour guide as we drove home. We hit Stratford on Avon on market day, so we were able to do some wonderful shopping after touring Shakespeare's birthplace. The tents were practically outside his house on the street. Warwick Castle went well and there was even time to walk in the topiary garden. The Oxford portion of the trip was probably the best. We not only toured the main hall at Christ Church College but spent a good bit of time in the chapel and had the opportunity to pick up some reasonably priced items from the college shop. That was followed by a night walking tour around the town visiting various other colleges and noting the cross in the middle of the road where Bishop Cranmer and his two friends were burned at the stake. We also saw the gargoyles of the lion, the fawn, and further along the lamp post which were possible inspirations for The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. If only the guide had her commentary recorded in a booklet we could have taken with us when the tour was over. She was brilliant and presented us with far more history than we would ever be able to remember. The day before I had been on a trip to Paris on my own in which I encountered numerous transportation problems, so this expertly guided tour to Oxford was just what I needed. Next time I come to London I'd like to do it again with my wife, who was unable to make the trip this time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

The tour was great the guide was even better. He was very informative and funny! I would suggest less time at Warwick Castle and more time at the other places, but over all it was a great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Unfortunately, we were unable to visit these sites as the tour was canceled. As an alternative, we were given the option of visiting Stonehenge, Bath, and Stratford on Avon. Although the tour was quite interesting, we were really looking forward to the original tour. As we probably will not be returning to London in the near future, and we felt a little "empty" in not being able to take the original tour. The accommodations were quite satisfactory, and our driver and guide kept us well entertained and informed on various points of interest along the route. The guide was quite friendly and knowledgeable, and I would have to give him a very high "grade".

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Great!!! The guide was wonderful, and the trip was an amazing experience!!

Kym M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Well-organised tour. All these sites were most enjoyable.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had an amazing tour guide. He was so intelligent and well spoken and knew his British history! We were in England for only four days, with three days in London, and this was the one day we wanted to see the English countryside. It was a perfect trip! We spent plenty of time at all of the locations so we had time to take pictures and see all the sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a great time. Our guide was fantastic. Oxford is gorgeous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

What a wonderful way to spend a day. The tour guide was very interesting and informative, the time spent at Warwick Castle and in Stratford and Oxford was wonderful, and we even had a fantastic meal not included in the price but very reasonable. It was a three course meal at a very atmospheric pub, which was very fitting.

Jennifer S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Had a great time. The tour guide and the driver made the trip a hilarious experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The tour was well worth the money. The guide was full of information and there was plenty of time at all the sites. Lunch was also very good. I would definitely recommend the trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Everything was well timed, so we had just enough time to see things without feeling rushed. The pub lunch was well organized, and the food was good. The drive back from the Cotswolds was very scenic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

Great service overall. Coordination of pick ups from various hotels in the morning made it easy for us. And, our bus dropped us off as close to our hotel on the way back which was convenient for all of us. Our tour enabled us to see parts of England we wouldn't have normally seen and this helped us enjoy our visit to England as our London experience was balanced with the countryside.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

The tour guide was very, very nice and friendly, and we did enjoy the trip overall. The atmosphere is very good, however things felt a little bit rushed as we needed to pass through many places with limited time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Second time I took this tour and each time not enough time is given in Stratford on Avon to view the historic sites, eat a nice lunch and shop. In the colder months less time could be spent at Warwick Castle. Disappointed this time that Harry Potter info at Oxford not included this time as I purposely took my sister on this trip as she is a Harry Potter fan.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Really lovely but much too long. Thoroughly enjoyed the bus drive thru the country and villages. Stratford-upon Avon was just very nice. Loved it. Oxford was lovely but I was expecting a different place I think.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Oxford and Stratford were wonderful to see Warwick had a fun birds of prey flying demonstration but the rest of it was really more designed for families with kids.

From USD $ 141.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2452T5

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message